senSAVE®

The objective of our project “senSAVE®“ is to support patients facing increased risk for severe cardiac and circulation diseases in their daily life, to increase their autonomy and to prevent emergencies. This is made possible through real-time vital monitoring based on a new intelligent sensor network.

more info

Sensor Assistence for Vital Events

Mobile – Connected – Healthy

Gertrud S. felt like normal on this cloudy winter morning. Only that strange feeling in the pit of her stomach that would not go away after clearing the snow bothered her a little bit.

Although Gertrud S. diligently took care of herself since her heart attack last year, she did not pay much attention to the feeling and blamed her indisposition on the fact that she had not eaten anything for breakfast. While she was sorting laundry into the washing machine, the tele-medical support center already started receiving her emergency information.

Via her body central unit (BCU), the wireless communication sensors attached to the body of Gertrud S. had signaled a significant deterioration of her health status. After the BCU had provided detailed emergency information, the doctor at service was able to initiate further measures based on ECG, pulse and oxygen saturation as well as on consultation by phone. Gertrud S.´ second heart attack had been prevented.

Technical Focus

The objective: 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – carefree all around.

To achieve this goal, we are developing an innovative, modular, configurable multi-parameter monitoring system (MPM) consisting of sensors, intelligent signal processing, and a radio link for mobile long term use.

  • mobile collection of relevant medical parameters (ECG, blood pressure, oxygen saturation) through miniaturized intelligent sensors
  • assessment of vital state and identification of state degradations
  • wireless networking of sensor modules using a radio network at the human body (Body Area network – BAN)
  • online connection to alert responsible services

Human Focus

Easy attachment, wearing, and changing of sensors, as well as easy system operation control, up to the visualization of measured values and medical or technical status information, are of great importance to our work.

The individual is in the center of our design and development. The multi-modal man-machine interface with voice control and adaptive, context-related dialogue management provides easy and flexible application:

  • ambulant treatment of chronic diseases
  • support of diagnostics and therapy across medical professional sectors
  • supervision of elderly people
  • sports, leisure, wellness

Organisation

We understand that mere technological innovation itself does not help much. That is why we provide a new orientation for the service supply chain with processes that are optimized accordingly. Adjustment to the needs of all those involved – medical staff, nursing staff and patients – is a prerequisite for increased quality of life and medical treatment.

A multidisciplinary team from five Fraunhofer institutes (cf. link list at right side) is shaping a comprehensive solution for tele-medical support. Scientists from the areas of medical engineering, micro systems, and information and communication technology are all collaborating with medical and nursing experts.

“SenSAVE®“ was funded by the internal Fraunhofer program “InMuSens“ until 2006. The following technologies emerged from it: “OxiSENS“, “RespiSHIRT®“ and “FitnessShirt“ (licensed by the company ambiotex GmbH) .

Further Information

Brochure

Medical Communication and Biosignal Processing

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, product sheet, flyer or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

senSAVE®

Das Ziel unseres Projektes senSAVE® ist es, Patienten und Patientinnen mit erhöhtem Risiko für schwere Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen in ihrem täglichen Leben zu unterstützen, ihre Selbstständigkeit zu erhöhen und sie vor Notfällen zu bewahren. Möglich wird dies durch Echtzeit-Vital-Monitoring auf der Basis eines neuartigen, intelligenten Sensornetzwerks.

mehr Info

senSAVE® – Sensorbasiertes Echtzeit-Vital-Monitoring

Mobil – vernetzt – gesund

Gertrud S. fühlte sich an diesem trüben Wintermorgen eigentlich wie sonst auch: Nur das komische Gefühl in der Magengrube, das seit dem Schneeräumen nicht verschwunden war, störte sie ein wenig. Obgleich Gertrud S. seit ihrem Herzinfarkt vor einem Jahr sehr sorgfältig auf sich achtete, dachte sie sich nichts Besonderes und führte das Unwohlsein auf das fehlende Frühstück zurück. Während sie nun die Waschmaschine einräumte, liefen in der telemedizinischen Betreuungszentrale bereits ihre Alarminformationen ein.

Die am Körper von Gertrud S. befindlichen und mit einer körpernahen Basisstation (KBS) drahtlos vernetzten Sensoren hatten eine auffällige Verschlechterung ihres Gesundheitszustands signalisiert. Nachdem die KBS differenzierte Alarminformationen übertragen hatte, konnte der diensthabende Arzt anhand von EKG, Puls und Sauerstoffsättigung sowie telefonischer Rücksprache mit der Patientin weitere Maßnahmen in die Wege leiten. Der zweite Herzinfarkt von Gertrud S. konnte verhindert werden.

Die Technik

Das Ziel: 24 Stunden, 7 Tage die Woche - rundum sorglos.

Um dies zu erreichen, entwickeln wir ein neuartiges, modular konfigurierbares Multi-Parameter-Monitoring (MPM)-System – bestehend aus Sensoren, intelligenter Signalauswertung und Funkanbindung für den mobilen Langzeiteinsatz.

  • Mobile Erfassung aussagekräftiger medizinischer Parameter (EKG, Blutdruck, Sauerstoffsättigung) mit Hilfe miniaturisierter, intelligenter Sensoren
  • Bewertung des Vitalzustands und Identifikation einer Zustandsverschlechterung
  • Drahtlose Vernetzung der Sensormodule mittels eines körpernahen Funknetzwerks (»Body Area Network« - BAN)
  • Online-Anbindung zur Alarmierung betreuender Instanzen im Notfall

Der Mensch

Wir legen Wert auf das einfache Anlegen, Tragen und Wechseln der Sensoren sowie Kontrollieren der Systemfunktion bis hin zur Visualisierung der Messwert- bzw. Zustands-informationen. Der Mensch steht im Fokus unserer Entwicklung. Die multimodale Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle mit Sprachsteuerung und adaptivem, kontextabhängigem Dialog-Management ermöglicht einen einfachen und flexiblen Einsatz.

  • Ambulante Behandlung chronischer Krankheiten
  • Sektorübergreifende Unterstützung bei Diagnostik und Therapie
  • Versorgung älterer Menschen
  • Sport, Freizeit, Wellness

Die Organisation

Wir wissen, dass technologische Innovationen allein wenig helfen. Deshalb ermöglichen wir eine neue Ausrichtung der Versorgungskette mit entsprechend optimierten Prozessen. Die Abstimmung auf die Belange aller Akteure – Ärztinnen und Ärzte, Pflegekräfte und Betroffene – ist Voraussetzung für eine höhere Behandlungs- und Lebensqualität.

Ein multiprofessionelles Team aus fünf Fraunhofer-Instituten (vgl. Linkliste auf rechter Seite) gestaltet gemeinsam eine umfassende Lösung für die telemedizinische Betreuung von Patienten. Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen Medizintechnik, Mikrosystemtechnik, Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik arbeiten mit Fachleuten aus Medizin und Pflege zusammen.

SenSAVE® wurde im Rahmen des internen Programmes »InMuSens« der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft bis 2006 gefördert. Daraus sind u.a. die Technologien OxiSENS, RespiSHIRT und FitnessSHIRT (lizensiert durch die Firma ambiotex GmbH) hervorgegangen.

Weitere Informationen

 

Zertifikat

Zertifiziert nach ISO 13485

Broschüre

Medizinische Kommunikation und Biosignalverarbeitung