More reliable and accurate localization

/ 25.2.2013

A new algorithm from Fraunhofer IIS detects motion reliably and accurately. It can significantly improve existing localization solutions, is easy to implement, and is independent of external infrastructure. Suppliers of localization technology can test the algorithm in a live demonstration at embedded world in Nuremberg from February 26 to 28, 2013. The demonstration will take place in Hall 4 at Booth 4-128.

Visitors to embedded world will receive a belt at the Fraunhofer booth. The belt contains sensor equipment from the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. When the visitors move while wearing the belt, they can view their motions live on a tablet via an Android-based visualization app developed especially for trade fairs. The demo device can reliably tell whether visitors are standing, walking, or running. The system can also detect other motions, such as lying or falling.

The example of motion classification for a pedestrian presented at embedded world is only one possible application for this very flexible algorithm. Marcus Bocksch, developer at Fraunhofer IIS, explains: "Independence from external infrastructure allows the algorithm to be used on almost all existing platforms. The algorithm is suitable for such applications as protecting people's safety in road traffic and supporting existing localization solutions – for indoor localization and seamless localization, e.g. for tracking people."

Providers of localization technology can license the easy-to-implement fusion algorithm and use it for various applications.

Ideal for improving existing localization technologies

Low-cost sensors (for acceleration, rotational speed, magnetic field), such as those integrated in almost every smartphone, are used for motion classification. Other benefits include the ease of implementing the software and the fact that the motion classification works independently of any infrastructure.

The algorithm works as an assistant for localization solutions. It helps, for example, if Wi-Fi or GPS signals fail or are too weak by providing additional motion information to make positioning more reliable and accurate. For example, within buildings: Wi-Fi positioning can provide more reliable data simply by distinguishing between the states of motion and motionlessness (INDOOR project). Depending on the application, a higher level of detail regarding the state of motion may be relevant. Furthermore, the system can also determine the wearer's line of vision; in a museum, for example, visitors could be provided with targeted information about the exhibits.

Ko-TAG joint project improves traffic safety

The algorithm was devised as part of the Ko-TAG joint project. This project does research into cooperative radio-based sensor technology. This technology is being investigated with a focus on applications such as protection of vulnerable road users and vehicle-to-vehicle safety.

You can find information about the joint project at: http://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/en/bf/ln/referenzprojekte/kotag.html.

The aim of the overarching Ko-FAS research initiative is to make significant contributions to improving road safety, i.e. to reduce the frequency of accidents and mitigate their consequences as far as possible. It is in this context that the Ko-TAG subproject investigates cooperative sensing based on transponder systems. Ko-TAG and Ko-FAS are being funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (BMWI) via "Mobility and Transport Technologies" at TÜV Rheinland Consulting GmbH (funding code 19S9011E).

Presseinformation

Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS

Zuverlässiger und genauer lokalisieren

Ein neuer Algorithmus des Fraunhofer IIS erkennt Bewegungszustände zuverlässig und genau. Er kann bestehende Lokalisierungslösungen signifikant verbessern, ist einfach zu implementieren und unabhängig von externer Infrastruktur. Anbieter von Lokalisierungstechnologien können den Algorithmus anhand einer Live-Demonstration auf der embedded world vom 26.–28. Februar 2013 in Nürnberg in Halle 4, Stand 4-128, testen.

Der Besucher auf der embedded world erhält am Fraunhofer-Stand einen Gürtel, in dem sich Sensorik des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS befindet. Wenn er sich damit bewegt, kann er auf einem Tablet live über eine eigens für Messen entwickelte Android-basierte Visualisierungsapplikation seinen aktuellen Bewegungszustand verfolgen. Das Demo-Gerät unterscheidet zuverlässig, ob der Besucher steht, geht oder rennt. Grundsätzlich sind weitere Bewegungszustände erkennbar, z. B. Liegen oder Sturz.

Das auf der embedded world vorgestellte Beispiel für die Bewegungsklassifikation eines Fußgängers ist nur eine Anwendungsmöglichkeit für den vielseitig einsetzbaren Algorithmus. Marcus Bocksch, Entwickler am Fraunhofer IIS, führt aus: »Die Unabhängigkeit von externer Infrastruktur ermöglicht den Einsatz der Algorithmik auf nahezu allen bestehenden Plattformen. Der Algorithmus eignet sich z. B. für Anwendungen zum Personenschutz im Straßenverkehr, zur Stützung bestehender Lokalisierungslösungen, für die Indoor-Lokalisierung und für die nahtlose Lokalisierung, z. B. beim Tracking von Personen.«

Anbieter von Lokalisierungstechnologien können den einfach zu implementierenden Fusionsalgorithmus lizensieren und für verschiedenste Anwendungszwecke einsetzen.

Ideal zur Verbesserung bestehender Lokalisierungstechnologien

Für die Bewegungsklassifikation werden Low-Cost-Sensoren (Beschleunigung, Drehrate, Magnetfeld) genutzt, wie sie mittlerweile in fast jedem Smartphone integriert sind. Weitere Vorteile sind der geringe Aufwand für die Implementierung der Software und dass die Bewegungsklassifikation unabhängig von jeglicher Infrastruktur arbeitet.

Der Algorithmus arbeitet als Assistent von Lokalisierungslösungen. Er hilft, wenn z. B. Signale von WLAN oder GPS ausfallen bzw. zu schwach sind und macht die Positionierung durch zusätzliche Bewegungsinformationen zuverlässiger und genauer. So z. B. innerhalb von Gebäuden: Die WLAN-Positionierung liefert allein durch die Unterscheidung der beiden Zustände Bewegung und Nicht-Bewegung verlässlichere Daten (Projekt INDOOR). Abhängig von der Anwendung kann auch ein höherer Detailgrad des Bewegungszustands relevant sein. Daneben kann optional auch die Blickrichtung des Trägers bestimmt werden, um z. B. im Museum dem Besucher exponatsbezogene Informationen zu liefern.

Verbundprojekt Ko-TAG verbessert Verkehrssicherheit

Der Algorithmus entstand im Rahmen des Verbundprojekts Ko-TAG. In diesem Projekt wird kooperative Sensortechnologie auf Basis von Funk erforscht. Diese Technologie wird vor allem im Hinblick auf die Anwendungsbereiche »Schutz von verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmern« und »Fahrzeug-Fahrzeug-Sicherheit« untersucht.
Informationen zu dem Verbundprojekt unter:
http://www.iis.fraunhofer.de/de/bf/ln/referenzprojekte/kotag.html.

Ziel der übergeordneten Forschungsinitiative »Ko-FAS« ist es, wesentliche Beiträge zur Steigerung der Verkehrssicherheit zu leisten, also die Zahl von Verkehrsunfällen zu reduzieren sowie deren Folgen zu mindern. Innerhalb des Teilprojekts »Ko-TAG« wird hierzu kooperative Sensortechnologie auf Basis von Transpondersystemen erforscht. Ko-TAG und Ko-FAS werden mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWI) durch »Mobilität und Verkehrstechnologien« bei der TÜV Rheinland Consulting GmbH unter dem Förderkennzeichen 19S9011E gefördert.