New approach to test GNSS receiver robustness and performance with realistic emulation of real word scenarios

Fraunhofer Gesellschaft Demonstrated Over-the-Air (OTA) Communication Test System Based on IZT Solutions

/ 5.11.2015

Ilmenau/Erlangen – November, 2015 – The Fraunhofer Gesellschaft, Europe’s largest organization for application-oriented research, presented an Over-The- Air (OTA) wave field synthesis system for test of GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System) receivers at its Fraunhofer IIS Facility for Over the Air Research and Testing (FORTE) in Ilmenau. The innovative OTA test system is mainly based on hardware solutions from IZT GmbH. The demonstrated setup to test GNSS receivers represents a new approach that in contrast to conventionally conducted and open-field tests, realistically emulates real world scenarios under controllable and repeatable conditions. This enables the realistic comparison of receivers and algorithms especially for multi/beamforming antenna receivers. The OTA test system is cost-effective, flexible and scalable. In this way arbitrary sizes of test objects can be tested due to the freely scalable number of channel emulator outputs.

Real World GNSS Scenario for Emulation.
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS
Example for the emulation of 2 GNSS satellites at FORTE.
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

The newest generations of mobile communication systems employ multiple antennas for transmission and reception, like LTE, LTE-A, WIMAX, and Wireless LAN. Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) OTA test systems are typically deployed for certification, performance testing and product evaluation of broadband wireless devices. The related devices have to be tested in their related environments. In contrast to mobile phones, GNSS receivers are extremely susceptible to all types of interferences. Hence the goal was to develop a new testing method for interference robustness of GNSS receivers.

The OTA test approach

The OTA test laboratory comprises a satellite signal emulator (Spirent) used as signal source, a OTA channel emulator used for wave-field synthesis which is able to emulate any electromagnetic environment in an anechoic chamber, and several OTA illumination antennas. The OTA channel emulator from IZT GmbH supports up to 12 inputs and arbitrary number of phase coherent outputs in the frequency range of 1 to 6 GHz, and provides the output signals to the OTA illumination antennas. Note that the final version of the system based on the IZT components at Fraunhofer IIS will have 12 x 32 channels.

The wave field at the GNSS receiver is generated as a coherent superposition of predefined, discrete plane wave components with specific directions, amplitudes and phases that are radiated by the OTA illumination antennas. In this way, arbitrary complex multi-path propagation channels and interference environments can be emulated. Consequently, the interaction between the device antennas and the radio environment
is taken into account, which is not the case with conventional (conducted) tests.

The unique test environment developed at FORTE together with IZT GmbH excels in its great flexibility regarding possible applications in communications technology. The new OTA emulation approach enables realistic radio channel emulation taking into consideration multipath propagation, multi-frequency, and multi-user scenarios. The OTA system supports emulation of complex channel impulse responses of nearly unlimited complexity. Besides GNSS equipment the test system can be applied for LTE and Cognitive Radio (CR), sensor networks (including energy networks and smart metering) or Car-to-X (i.e. car-to-car and car-to-infrastructure) communications.

The outlined Testsystem at FORTE is especially of interest for customers in the mobile communications, vehicular and military sector as it reduces development costs as well as the possibility to test again jamming and spoofing of security relevant devices/infrastructure.

Fraunhofer IIS demonstriert neues Testsystem für die Erprobung intelligenter Satellitennavigationsempfänger

/ 13.11.2015

Ilmenau/Erlangen, 13. November 2015: Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS hat an der Forschungs- und Testanlage FORTE (Facility for Over the Air Research and Testing) des Fraunhofer IIS in Ilmenau ein auf Wellenfeldsynthese basierendes OTA-System (Over-the-Air, also via Luftschnittstelle der Antenne statt via Kabel) für die Erprobung von GNSS-Empfängern (Global Navigation Satellite System) vorgestellt. Das System baut hauptsächlich auf Hardware-Lösungen der IZT GmbH auf. Anders als bei konventionellen Verfahren und Freifeldversuchen werden hier unter kontrollier- und reproduzierbaren Bedingungen realitätsnahe Szenarien emuliert. So können GNSS-Empfänger und Algorithmen insbesondere für Multiantennen- /Beamforming-Empfänger realistisch verglichen werden. Das OTA-System ist wirtschaftlich, flexibel und skalierbar. Das System ist durch seine Modularität beliebig erweiterbar, so dass eine auch größere Testobjekte untersucht werden können.

Real World GNSS Scenario for Emulation.
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS
Example for the emulation of 2 GNSS satellites at FORTE.
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Die neuen Generationen von Mobilkommunikationssystemen, wie LTE, LTE-A, WIMAX und WLAN, verwenden mehrere Antennen zur Datenübertragung. Zur Zertifizierung, Leistungsermittlung und Produktprüfung von breitbandfähigen Mobilgeräten werden daher üblicherweise OTA-Testsysteme für MIMO-Geräte (Multiple Input Multiple Output) eingesetzt. Diese Mobilgeräte müssen in ihrer jeweiligen Einsatzumgebung erprobt werden. Diese MIMO-OTA-Testverfahren aus dem Bereich des Mobilfunkes werden hier auf den GNSS-Bereich übertragen. Zusätzlich zu den Ausbreitungsbedingungen müssen im GNSS-Umfeld auftretenden Störer berücksichtigt werden. Daher bestand das Ziel darin, eine neue Prüfmethode für die Störresistenz von GNSS-Empfängern unter realistischen Bedingungen zu entwickeln.

Das OTA-Prüfverfahren

Das OTA-Testlabor verfügt über einen Satellitenemulator von Spirent, einen Multikanal- OTA-Emulator für die Wellenfeldsynthese, der in einer reflexionsarmen Messkabine jede beliebige elektromagnetische Umgebung mit Hilfe mehrerer OTAEmulationsantennen emulieren kann. Der OTA-Kanalemulator der IZT GmbH unterstützt bis zu zwölf Eingänge und eine beliebige Anzahl an phasenkohärente Ausgängen, im Frequenzbereich von 1 bis 6 GHz, die mit den OTAEmulationsantennen verbunden sind. Die Endversion des Systems des Fraunhofer IIS auf Basis von IZT-Komponenten wird über 12 x 32 Kanäle verfügen.

Das Wellenfeld an den Antennen des GNSS-Empfängers wird als kohärente Überlagerung mehrerer ebener Wellen (Nachbildung der realistischen Mehrwegeausbreitung) emuliert; dies erfolgt über eine vordefinierte Überlagerung der Satellitensignale an den OTA-Emulationsantennen über Betrag und Phase. So lassen sich beliebige komplexe Mehrwegeausbreitungskanäle und Umgebungen mit verschiedenen Störungen emulieren. Dadurch wird die Wechselwirkung zwischen den Antennen der GNSS-Empfänger und der Funkumgebung berücksichtigt, was bei konventionellen kabelgebundenen Tests nicht der Fall ist.

Die einzigartige Testumgebung wurde zusammen mit der IZT GmbH in der FORTEAnlage entwickelt und zeichnet sich durch eine große Flexibilität aus, die viele Anwendungsmöglichkeiten im Bereich der Kommunikationstechnologie eröffnet. Das neue Verfahren mit OTA-Emulation ermöglicht die realistische Emulation von Funkkanälen unter Berücksichtigung von Mehrwegeausbreitung, Mehrfrequenz- und Mehrnutzerszenarien. Das OTA-System unterstützt die Emulation komplexer Kanalimpulsantworten nahezu unbegrenzter Länge. Das Testsystem eignet sich nicht nur für GNSS-Ausrüstung, sondern auch für LTE- und CR-Netze (Cognitive Radio: kognitive Funksysteme), Sensornetzwerke (darunter Energienetze und Smart Metering) und Car-to-X-Kommunikation (z. B. Car-to-Car- und Car-to-Infrastructure).

Die beschriebene Testumgebung an FORTE ist speziell für Kunden im Mobilfunkumfeld, im Bereich der Automobilindustrie und ihren Zulieferern von Interesse, da es Entwicklungskosten reduzieren kann und den Test der Anfälligkeit gegenüber Störern schon in der Entwicklung berücksichtigt.