AAC Metadata

Overview

Fraunhofer IIS Metadaten Generator
© Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer IIS Metadaten Generator

Audio-specific metadata play a significant role in controlling program loudness, dynamic range and downmixing of the broadcast audio bit stream. With MPEG-4 AAC and HE-AAC now being a popular choice for digital broadcasting services worldwide, the importance of loudness-related metadata as a standardized feature of these codecs becomes even more relevant when the requirements of program loudness normalization are taken into account. One requirement is that the audio of TV commercials have the same loudness than the TV program they accompany. The MPEG AAC formats natively support all required metadata parameters (e.g. for loudness control) included in professional audio codec and broadcast systems. In addition, Fraunhofer IIS offers implementations for transcoding of existing and generation of new metadata.

 

Loudness Normalization

The Dialogue Normalization is used to adjust and achieve a constant long-term average level of the main program components across various program materials, e.g., a feature film interspersed by commercials.

 

Dynamic Range Control

The Dynamic Range Control (DRC) facilitates control of the final dynamic range of the audio and adjusts compression to suit individual listening requirements.

 

Downmixing

The Downmix maps the channels of a multichannel signal to the user`s mono or two-channel stereo speaker configuration.

 

 

Applications

Loudness control regulations, such as the recent CALM Act (Commercial Advertisement Loudness Mitigation), are being put in place to address consumer complaints about disturbing loudness differences between TV programs and commercials. AAC family of audio codecs, including AAC and HE-AAC, offer the ability to carry the original broadcast metadata to meet the requirements of the CALM Act and other legislative/regulatory loudness specifications e.g. EBU R128, D-Book and others.

Metadata allows broadcasters and service providers considerable control over how the original program material is reproduced for the listener. With Fraunhofer IIS Audio Metadata Transcoding Technology, it is possible not only to create new AAC metadata streams, but also to convert existing metadata to the AAC format.

Availability

The AAC Metadata Technology is available for all Fraunhofer HE-AAC en- and decoders. Optionally the AAC Encoder can be supplemented with the Fraunhofer IIS Audio Metadata Transcoding Technology.

If you are interested in licensing software from us please fill out the request form below.

Request licensing information: AAC Metadata

To request a price quote or an evaluation license, please fill in and submit the form.

* Required

Which kind of license are you interested in?
Software platform:
Hardware platform
Title
Name

AAC Metadaten

Überblick

Fraunhofer IIS Metadaten Generator
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer IIS Metadaten Generator

Audio-spezifische Metadaten ermöglichen Betreibern von TV- und Radiostationen, Lautheit (engl. loudness), Dynamik und den Downmix des gesendeten Audiosignals wiedergabeseitig zu kontrollieren. Die Audiocodecs MPEG-4 AAC und HE-AAC, die bei immer mehr Digitalrundfunk-Angeboten weltweit genutzt werden, unterstützen diese Metadaten. Damit können Rundfunkstationen sicherstellen, dass ihr ausgesendetes Signal den internationalen Lautheits-Vorschriften entspricht. Ein Ziel dieser Vorschriften ist es, keine störenden Lautheitsunterschiede zwischen dem Programm und den einzelnen Werbeblöcken, sowie den verschiedenen Programmen zu haben. Zusätzlich zu den Codecs der AAC-Familie mit Metadaten-Unterstützung liefert das Fraunhofer IIS Implementierungen für das Transkodieren von existierenden Metadaten und für die Generierung neuer Metadaten.

 

Lautheitnormalisierung

Die Lautheitnormalisierung (engl.: Dialogue Level) wird verwendet, um ein konstantes Lautstärkelevel aller Programmbestandteile zu erhalten - beispielsweise bei einem Spielfilm und Werbeblöcken.

 

Dynamikregelung (Dynamic Range Control)

Die Dynamic Range Control (DRC) erleichtert die finale Dynamikreduzierung, um individuellen Höransprüchen gerecht werden zu können.

 

Downmixing

Der Downmix bildet die Kanäle des Multikanalsignals passend zu den Mono- oder Stereo- Lautsprecheraufstellungen ab.

Anwendungen

In vielen Ländern gibt es Regelungen gegen zu große Lautstärkeunterschiede zwischen Fernsehprogrammen und Werbeeinblendungen. Während in den USA ein verpflichtendes Gesetz zur gleichbleibenden Lautstärke erlassen wurde (der sogenannte CALM Act), gibt es in Europa eine umfassende Empfehlung der Europäischen Rundfunkunion (EBU R128).

Dank der eingebauten Metadatenunterstützung in allen Audiocodecs der AAC-Familie, haben Fernsehsender und Betreiber die volle Kontrolle über die Lautheitsparameter ihres ausgestrahlten Programms. Mit der Fraunhofer IIS Audio Metadata Transcoding Technologie ist es möglich, nicht nur einen AAC Bitstrom mit Metadaten zu erzeugen, sondern auch existierende Metadaten in ein AAC Format umzuwandeln.

Verfügbarkeit

Die AAC Metadatentechnologie ist für alle Fraunhofer HE-AAC En- und Decoder verfügbar. Optional kann der AAC Encoder mit der Fraunhofer IIS Audio Metadata Transcoding Technologie ergänzt werden.

Bei weiteren Fragen zu unseren Technologien und ihrer Lizenzierung füllen Sie bitte unten stehendes Formular aus.

Lizenzanfrage: AAC Metadaten

Bitte füllen Sie für weitere Fragen zur Technologie und ihrer Lizenzierung das Formular aus und schicken Sie es dann ab.

* Required

Für welche Art der Lizenz interessieren Sie sich?
Software-Plattform
Hardware-Plattform
Anrede
Name