Projects

ASP - Automatic Stereo Production

Automated Stereo Production ASP
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller

In the Automatic Stereo Production collaborative research project – which is subsidized by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy – several project partners are developing a smart embedded 3D stereo camera assistance system for unattended broadcast and POV applications. It is based on a mirrorless side-by-side camera system with integration of newly developed components. The aim is reducing the cost of future 3D stereo recording without any loss of quality.

Contact: Stephan Gick

Spatial-AV - The Future of Movie Production

The goal of this project is to automate 3D production workflows, making it easy to repeatedly use and work with data and information in a flexible manner after it has been captured. The goal is to develop an intelligent, modular, multi-sensory recording and production system for immersive audiovisual media.

Lichtfeld-Aufnahmesystem
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Lichtfeld-Aufnahmesystem und Verarbeitung von Multikameradaten

This helps minimize the cost pressures associated with elaborate productions. Intelligent and networked cameras, camera and microphone arrays and additional sensors for position, direction of movement or depth deliver information that enables the system to automatically correct various recording parameters. Other post-production supplementary data make a wide range of production and playback scenarios feasible. Visualization data and audio data optimized for 2D, 3D, free viewpoint or rumdum videos can be derived from the recording data. The recording and production systems can be used for conventional movie and television playback, as well as for 3D screens, autostereoscopic displays or panorama and dome cinema.

Participating Fraunhofer institutes include IIS, HHI, IDMT and FOKUS.

Contact: Dr. Siegfried Foessel

EDCINE

Within the EU-Project EDCINE (Enhanced Digital Cinema) the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is working with European partners to develop and test a concept for digital film archiving that addresses both long-term archiving of digital data and the access to already archived digital material. (completed in 2010)

Projekte

Automated Stereo Production ASP
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller

ASP - Automatische Stereoproduktion

 

Im Gemeinschaftsprojekt „Automatische Stereo Produktion“, das vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie gefördert wird, entwickeln mehrere Projektpartner ein eingebettetes 3D Stereokamerasystem für bedienungsfreie Broadcast- und Point-of-View-Applikationen. Es basiert auf einem spiegellosen Side-by-Side-Kamerasystem und beinhaltet neu entwickelte Komponenten. Ziel ist es, die Kosten zukünftiger 3D Stereoaufnahmen zu reduzieren, ohne Abstriche in der Bildqualität hinnehmen zu müssen.

Kontakt: Stephan Gick

Spatial-AV - Die Zukunft der Filmproduktion

 

Ziel des Projekts ist es, Arbeitsabläufe in der 3D-Produktion zu automatisieren - Daten und Informationen, einmal aufgenommen, einfach und flexibel mehrfach zu verwenden und zu bearbeiten.

Dies hilft den Kostendruck bei aufwändigen Produktionen zu minimieren. Intelligente und vernetzte Kameras, Kamera– und Mikrofonarrays sowie zusätzliche Sensoren für Position, Bewegungsrichtung oder Tiefe sollen Informationen liefern, damit die Systeme selbstständig Aufnahmeparameter korrigieren. Zusätzliche Hilfsdaten für die Postproduktion machen viele unterschiedliche Produktions- und Wiedergabeszenarien nutzbar. Aus den Aufnahmedaten lassen sich Visualisierungs- und Aurealisierungsdaten ableiten, die für 2D, 3D, Free-Viewpoint oder Rumdum-Video optimiert sind. Die Aufnahme- und Produktionssysteme können dabei sowohl für klassische Kino- und TV-Wiedergabe wie auch für dreidimensionale Screens, autostereoskopische Displays oder für Panorama- und Kuppelkinos eingesetzt werden

Beteiligte Fraunhofer-Institute sind das IIS, HHI, IDMT und FOKUS.

Kontakt: Dr. Siegfried Foessel

EDCINE


Im EU-Projekt EDCINE (Enhanced Digital Cinema) arbeitete das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS zusammen mit weiteren europäischen Partnern an der Entwicklung und Erprobung eines Konzeptes für ein digitales Filmarchiv, das die beiden Grundprobleme der Langzeitarchivierung digitaler Daten und des Zugriffs auf Archivmaterial adressiert. (abgeschlossen 2010)

Kontakt: Dr. Siegfried Foessel