Technologies for Digital Cinema and Media

more info

Image Analysis

more info

Camera Technology

more info

High Dynamic Range for Moving Pictures

more info

Image and Signal Processing

more info

Light-field and Multi-Camera Acqusition and Processing

more info

Technologies

Digital media technology and innovative image processing and analysis methods are enabling developments that were inconceivable in the recent past. Our experts are technology visionaries and pioneers with a worldwide reputation for creating standards, innovations and products in these fields. That's reason enough to begin showcasing the first systems and solutions based on the next generation of technology.

Camera Technology

With technologies ranging from sensor control to professional, miniaturized 2D, 3D and multiview cameras featuring HD, HFR and HDR, we offer a wide range of systems and components for the movie and television industry, as well as for post-production and security technology applications.

Digital Cinema

Developments and technologies in the area of digital cinema are one focus of our R&D activities. This primarily involves participation in standards such as JPEG 2000 and MPEG, as well as the development and implementation of digital cinema standards in various products and applications. We also develop new post-production tools for creating, playing and encrypting digital cinema packages (DCP). Other developments include the creation and playback of the Interoperable Master Format (IMF), a new exchange format designed for professional post-production applications.

HDR - High Dynamic Range

One of the major challenges of camera technology is ensuring quality images under extremely variable lighting conditions. Researchers in the Computational Imaging group are involved in developing HDR processes for moving picture recordings with the aim of capturing improved image material for real recordings.

Light-field Technology

Light-field technology significantly expands post-production creativity. Intelligent processing algorithms can be applied to calculate diverse recording enhancements, whether it's shifting the point of focus, virtual camera panning, modifying visual depths, creating depth maps or generating matrix or vertigo effects. This provides the opportunity to modify the image material as required in post-production long after it has been recorded.

Image Coding

An important aspect of the research activities in this area is our participation in the development of image codecs such as JPEG 2000, which form the basis for digital cinema standards. The functions and the creative opportunities afforded by these codecs are exploited for the purposes of processing high-resolution image data, thus enabling the movie and television industry to deploy new streamlined workflows in production, post-production and distribution.

Image and Signal Processing

In the area of Image and Signal Processing, we focus on designing high-performance embedded platforms for 3D data analysis, sensor fusion and endoscopic applications. Our hardware solutions can be counted on to trigger impulses in innovation in various market segments such as industrial image processing and security and medical technologies.

Image Analysis

Our processes for object recognition, object analysis and calibration address the needs of a broad range of applications, including market research effectiveness through the SHORE™ software library, streamlined teleconference software enhancements and image optimization solutions designed for movie and television camera systems.

Technologien und Systeme für das digitale Kino

mehr Info

Bildanalyse

mehr Info

Kameratechnik

mehr Info

High Dynamic Range für bewegte Bilder

mehr Info

Bild- und Signalverarbeitung

mehr Info

Neue Wege der Filmproduktion durch Lichtfelddaten

mehr Info

Bildcodierung - JPEG 2000 und Low Complexity

mehr Info

Technologien

Digitale Medientechnik, neuartige Bildverarbeitungs und -analyseverfahren machen Vieles möglich, was vor Jahren noch undenkbar war. Als Vordenker und Wegbereiter für Zukunftstechnologien in diesen Bereichen stehen unsere Experten für weltweit anerkannte Standards, Entwicklungen und Produkte. Anlass für uns, heute schon die nächste Technologiegeneration in ersten Systemen und Lösungen vorzustellen.

Kameratechnik

Von der Sensoransteuerung bis zur Entwicklung professioneller, miniaturisierter Kamerasysteme für 2D, 3D und Multiview, die sich durch HD, HFR, HDR auszeichnen, bieten wir Systeme und Komponenten für den Kino- und TV-Bereich sowie für Anwendungen der Produktionsindustrie und Sicherheitstechnik.

Digtales Kino

Entwicklungen und Technologien für digitales Kinos gehören zu Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkten. Schwerpunkte der Arbeiten sind dabei v.a. die Mitarbeit an Standards wie JPEG2000, MPEG und an den technischen Spezifikationen des digitalen Kinos und deren Umsetzung in Produkte und Anwendungen. Hierzu zählt die Entwicklung neuer Werkzeuge für die Postproduktion zur Erzeugung und für das Abspielen von DCPs (digitalen Kinopaketen) sowie zur Verschlüsselung von DCPs. Mit der Entwicklung der easyDCP-Software hat das Fraunhofer IIS hier eine weltweit anerkannte Softwarelösung im Markt platzieren können. Neue Entwicklungen beinhalten die Erstellen und das Abspielen eines neuen Austauschformats in der professionellen Postproduktion den so genannten IMFs (Interoperable Master Formats).

HDR - High Dynamic Range/Hoher Dynamikbereich

Gute Aufnahmen bei sich stark verändernden Lichtverhältnissen garantieren zu können, zählt mit zu den großen Herausforderungen der Kameratechnik. Mit der Entwicklung geeigneter HDR-Verfahren für Bewegtbildaufnahmen beschäftigen sich die Wissenschaftler in der Gruppe "Computational Imaging", um für Realaufnahmen besseres Bildmaterial aufnehmen zu können.

Lichtfeld

Mit der Lichtfeldtechnik kann die Bandbreite an kreativen Möglichkeiten bei der Aufnahme für die Postproduktion erheblich erweitert werden. Die Verschiebung des Schärfepunktes, virtuelle Kamerafahrten, Veränderung des Tiefeneindrucks, Erstellung von Tiefenkarten und viele Effekte wie z. B. der Matrix- oder Vertigoeffekt können aus einer Aufnahme mit intelligenten Verarbeitungsalgorithmen berechnet werden und bieten die Möglichkeit, das Bildmaterial noch lange nach der Aufnahme nach Wunsch zu verändern.

Bildcodierung

Essentieller Bestandteil der Forschungsarbeiten ist die Mitarbeit und Entwicklung vone Bildcodecs wie z. B. JPEG 2000, die die Basis für Standards im digitalen Kino bilden. Die Funktionalität und Möglichkeiten dieser Codecs werden für die  Verarbeitung von hochauflösenden Bilddaten genutzt und damit neue effiziente Arbeitsabläufe für die Produktion, Postproduktion und Distribution in der Film- und TV-Branche genutzt.

Bild- und Signalverarbeitung

Unsere Forschungsarbeit im Bereich Bild- und Signalverarbeitung umfasst schwerpunktmäßig die Konzipierung von hochleistungsfähigen Embedded-Plattformen zur 3D-Datenanalyse, Sensorfusion und für endoskopische Anwendungen. Unsere Hardwarelösungen generieren zuverlässig Innovationsimpulse in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen, wie z.B in der Industriellen Bildverarbeitung, Sicherheits- und Medizintechnik.

Bildanalyse

Die Erforschung der Werbewirksamkeit in der Marktforschung mittels SHORETM, effiziente Softwareerweiterungen in Telekonferenzsystemen oder auch die Bildoptimierung für Kamerasysteme in Film und Fernsehen – diese und noch viele weitere Anwendungsbeispiele decken wir mit unseren Verfahren zur Objekterkennung, Objektanalyse und Kalibrierung ab.