enerMAT - Integrated Energy Management Systems in Buildings

The five »enerMAT« project partners, all of which are based in Saxony, have undertaken to develop by 2015 a method by which energy management systems can be designed for entire building installations and tailored to purpose. The goal is to use only as much energy in buildings as is actually needed while retaining high comfort levels. Realizing this basic concept means raising the bar when it comes to the degree of automation in buildings.

Solution Approach

Future automated building concepts with minimum energy consumption require a holistic view that incorporates all installed components. Only then can a customized, optimum overall solution be reached that fully exploits the potential energy savings in the building services.

A suitable design methodology is required to help meet the requirements for building energy management systems. In view of this need, the project partners are working on new concepts and software tools for planning and implementing energy-minimizing building control systems and automation solutions. These will make it possible to have virtual building concepts that contain algorithms and operating scenarios for optimized control. At all times, the overall system is monitored and simulated. The control system for the whole building can also be reliably tested before commissioning using such models.

As a research institute with emphasis on design automation, Fraunhofer IIS/EAS is responsible within the project for the methodology of model-based design, modeling methods, and the creation of models for formal verification and optimization as well as code generation. The division is also participating in measurement-based model validation and adaptation.

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

enerMAT is supported by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. The project team is made up of Fraunhofer IIS/EAS and four medium-sized companies from the fields of construction, software, automation technology, and simulation.

enerMAT - Ganzheitliche Energiemanagementsysteme in Gebäuden

Bis 2015 wollen die fünf sächsischen Projektpartner von »enerMAT« ein Verfahren erarbeiten, mit dem Energiemanagementsysteme für sämtliche Gebäudeinstallationen entwickelt werden können, die individuell dem Einsatzzweck angepasst sind. Ziel ist, in Gebäuden nur so viel Energie einzusetzen wie auch wirklich benötigt wird – und das bei gleichzeitig hohem Komfort. Die Realisierung dieses Grundkonzepts stellt völlig neue Ansprüche an den Automatisierungsgrad.

Lösungsansatz

Für zukünftige Konzepte von automatisierten Gebäuden mit minimalem Energieverbrauch ist eine integrierte Betrachtung notwendig, die alle installierten Komponenten einschließt. Nur so kann eine individuelle und optimale Gesamtlösung entstehen, die das Energiesparpotenzial der Gebäudetechnik voll nutzt.

Die Anforderungen an das Energiemanagement von Gebäuden (Building Energy Management Systems) sollen durch eine geeignete Entwurfsmethodik unterstützt werden. Die Projektpartner arbeiten dafür an neuen Konzepten und Softwaretools zur Planung und Umsetzung von energieminimierenden Gebäudesteuerungen und Automatisierungslösungen. Mit ihnen werden virtuelle Gebäudekonzepte möglich, die Algorithmen und Betriebsszenarien für eine optimierte Steuerung beinhalten. Dabei wird immer das Gesamtsystem betrachtet und simuliert. Auch das Steuerungssystem für das gesamte Gebäude kann so anhand von Modellen bereits vor seiner Inbetriebnahme zuverlässig überprüft werden.

Als Forschungseinrichtung mit Schwerpunkt Entwurfsautomatisierung ist das IIS/EAS im Vorhaben zuständig für den modellbasierten Entwurf aus methodischer Sicht, Modellierungsmethode und Modellbildung formaler Verifikation und Optimierung sowie der Code-Generierung. Auch an der messtechnischen Modellvalidation und Adaption ist der Institutsteil beteiligt.

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

enerMAT wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie unterstützt. Das Projektteam besteht aus dem Fraunhofer IIS/EAS sowie vier Mittelständlern aus den Bereichen Bau, Software, Automatisierungstechnik und Simulation.