Smart Metering Gateways

The word »smart« crops up a lot in connection with future energy supply. It indicates a transition away from the old method whereby power is generated and transmitted to the consumer according to demand. The increasing use of renewable and often weather-dependent energy sources requires special components and control methods to ensure that the electricity grid remains stable. At the same time, private and commercial users should not have to suffer usage restrictions or other inconveniences, and there should be no major increase in energy prices as a result. The information and communication technology that has until now been used primarily at higher voltage levels in the transmission and medium-voltage grids will also become widespread in the low-voltage grid and among end consumers.

Since 2010, new buildings have been fitted with smart meters, which allow energy usage data to be shown on a special display in homes. This display encourages consumers to save energy, and the consumption data can be transmitted to the energy provider via a gateway. This makes monthly billing possible and rewards energy-saving behavior.

Under the German Energy Industry Act (Energiewirtschaftsgesetz) §21 c and e, smart metering systems will become binding from 2015, wherever technically feasible, for new buildings, old buildings that undergo extensive renovations, consumers whose demand exceeds 6,000 kWh, combined heat and power plants and other renewable energy generation plants as defined by the German Renewable Energy Act (Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz) which exceed 7 kW, and businesses with protection profile certification from the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI).

According to the BSI protection profile, one of the primary goals for a smart metering gateway is the security of consumption data. Integrity, authenticity, and confidentiality must be ensured when transmitting meter data. Another primary goal is the security of power grids. This is achieved by means of firewalls for protection against cyber attacks and dedicated interfaces for WAN (wide area networks), HAN (home area networks), and LMN (local metering networks).

Through our work in committees and associations, we make a decisive contribution toward the implementation of standards, the specification of web services, and the drawing up of a standardization roadmap for smart cities.

Gateways für Smart Metering

Smart Metering unterstützt eine zeitnahe Abrechnung des Stromverbrauchs durch Abfrage der Messwerte über Kommunikationsschnittstellen im Metering Gateway.

Smart Metering Gateways

Vielfach taucht das Wort »Smart« im Zusammenhang mit der zukünftigen Energieversorgung auf. Es soll zeigen, dass nicht wie bisher der Strom nach Bedarf erzeugt wird und zum Verbraucher fließt. Durch die zunehmende Nutzung von regenerativen, oft auch witterungsabhängigen Energiequellen ist der Einsatz von Komponenten und Regelungsverfahren notwendig, damit die Stabilität des elektrischen Netzes erhalten bleibt. Dabei soll es für den privaten oder kommerziellen Nutzer möglichst keine Komforteinbußen oder Nutzungsbeschränkungen geben und der Energiebezug sich nicht wesentlich verteuern. Die bisher hauptsächlich auf den höheren Spannungsebenen im Übertragungs- und Mittelspannungsnetz eingesetzte Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie wird auch im Niederspannungsnetz und beim Endverbraucher Einzug halten.

Seit 2010 werden Smart Meter in Neubauten montiert und die Energieverbräuche können auf einem Wohnungsdisplay angezeigt werden. Diese Anzeige regt Kunden zum Energiesparen an und die Verbrauchsdaten können über ein Gateway zum Stromversorger übertragen werden. Dadurch ist eine monatliche Abbrechung möglich und ein stromsparendes Verhalten wird belohnt.

Nach EnWG §21c und e werden Smart Metering-Systeme für Neubauten, nach größeren Renovierungen, Verbraucher mit einem Strombedarf von über 6.000 kWh, EEG/KWK-Anlagen über 7 kW und zertifizierte Betriebe nach BSI Schutzprofil ab 2015 verbindlich, soweit es technisch möglich ist.

Die primären Ziele laut dem BSI-Schutzprofil für ein Smart Metering Gateway sind zum einen der sichere Umgang mit den Verbrauchsdaten. Bei der Übertragung der Messwerte müssen die Integrität, Authentizität und Vertraulichkeit sicher gestellt sein. Zum anderen muss für die Sicherheit der Stromnetze gesorgt werden. Dies passiert mit Firewalls zum Schutz gegen Cyber-Attacken und mit dedizierten Schnittstellen für WAN (Wide Area Network), HAN (Home Area Network) und LMN (Local Metering Network).

Durch unsere Mitgliedschaften, Arbeiten in Gremien und Verbänden wirken wir entscheidend bei der Umsetzung von Standards, bei der Spezifikation der Webservices und bei der Erstellung einer Normungsroadmap für Smart Cities mit.