Verilog-AMS Training Course

Content

The course provides an introduction to behavioral modeling with Verilog-AMS. Participants are introduced to the principles of the language and shown basic language constructs for describing analog and mixed analog-digital system components.

The program focuses on the development and use of behavioral models to test specifications as part of top-down design. Exercises related to this content can be factored in on request.

The starting point for the exercises is Verilog-AMS model description. Schematic entry tools are not used. Digital Verilog knowledge is only conveyed to the extent that it is required for the exercises.

Course Objectives

Participants will obtain an overview of the possibilities offered by behavioral modeling using Verilog-AMS. They will be able to understand and apply current Verilog-AMS models. In addition, they will carry out modifications of existing Verilog-AMS models and be able to create simple models for their own tasks.

Key Aspects

  • Teaching basic language constructs for describing analog and mixed analog-digital  systems using Verilog-AMS
  • Modeling approaches for electric/non-electric systems
  • Analysis of existing Verilog-AMS descriptions
  • ·Expansion of existing Verilog-AMS models
  • Guidance on how to create more complex models
  • Sharing experience and insights concerning the use of Verilog-AMS as part of system simulation

Course Participants

The course is aimed at those who want to use Verilog-AMS for system specification. Ideally, participants will have some previous knowledge of analog circuit simulation using SPICE or similar programs, but this is not essential.

Duration

Two days with eight hours of teaching each day, on request at your company’s location or held at our facility in Dresden.

Course Language

German

Kurs zu Verilog-AMS

Inhalt

Im Kurs wird eine Einführung in die Verhaltensmodellierung mit Verilog-AMS gegeben. Die Prinzipien der Sprache und grundlegende Sprachkonstrukte zur Beschreibung analoger und gemischt analog-digitaler Systemkomponenten werden vorgestellt.

Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei die Entwicklung und Nutzung von Verhaltensmodellen für die Überprüfung von Spezifikationen im Rahmen eines Top-Down-Entwurfs. Zu den vorgestellten Inhalten können ggf. nach Absprache Übungen durchgeführt werden.

Ausgangspunkte für die Übungen sind Verilog-AMS-Modellbeschreibungen. Schaltplaneingabe-Werkzeuge werden nicht genutzt. Kenntnisse des digitalen Verilog werden nur soweit vermittelt, wie dies für die Übungen erforderlich ist.

Zielsetzung

Die Teilnehmer sollen einen Überblick über die Möglichkeiten der Verhaltensmodellierung mit Verilog-AMS bekommen. Sie sollen in die Lage versetzt werden, vorhandene Verilog-AMS-Modelle zu verstehen und zu verwenden. Darüber hinaus sollen sie Modifikationen existierender Verilog-AMS-Modelle durchführen und einfache Modelle für eigene Aufgaben erstellen können.

Schwerpunkte

  • Vermittlung grundlegender Sprachkonstrukte zur Beschreibung analoger elektrischer und gemischt analog-digitaler Systeme mit Verilog-AMS
  • Modellierungsansätze für elektrisch-nichtelektrische Systeme
  • Analyse vorhandener Verilog-AMS-Beschreibungen
  • Erweiterung vorhandener Verilog-AMS-Modelle
  • Hinweise zur Erstellung komplexerer Modelle
  • Vermitteln von Erfahrungen mit dem Einsatz von Verilog-AMS im Rahmen der Systemsimulation

Teilnehmer

Der Kurs wendet sich an Teilnehmer, die Verilog-AMS für die Systemspezifikation einsetzen wollen. Vorkenntnisse hinsichtlich der Simulation analoger Schaltungen mit SPICE-ähnlichen Programmen sind wünschenswert, aber nicht Voraussetzung.

Dauer

2 Tage mit je 8 Unterrichtsstunden, auf Wunsch vor Ort oder in unserem Haus in Dresden

Kurssprache

deutsch