Digital Broadcasting

DAB and DRM Technologies for the Entire Broadcast Chain

One-Stop Shop for Radio Broadcasting

Regardless of whether you want to manufacture transmission equipment or design a receiver: Fraunhofer IIS has the technologies you need.

Fraunhofer technologies underpin not only the basic digital radio standard, from audio compression to data services and signal rendering, but also form an integral part of many products that enabled the successful introduction of digital radio.

Many of the radio encoders used by broadcasters and made by different manufacturers are based on Fraunhofer’s ContentServer Technology. These highly compact solutions combine real-time audio encoding with the complete management of all standardized data services, and the production of the final digital broadcast signal.

On the receiving end, Fraunhofer technologies offer radio manufacturers a wide range of options. These extend from software defined radio solutions for DAB and DRM reception, to decoder components for audio and additional services such as Journaline® and EWF (Emergency Warning Functionality), through to complete PC-based radio solutions.

Digital radio offers advantages to radio listeners, manufacturers and broadcasters:

More than just radio

With additional multimedia features, digital radio has become much more than just an acoustic medium. It adds visual experiences and opens up new ways for traffic information services and other services.

More efficiency

Radio stations benefit from efficient program transmission: reduced energy consumption for transmission combined with increased capacity for additional programs cuts down operational costs.

 

With our ready-to-run software, manufacturers can easily enhance their existing radio platforms with DAB and DRM functionality.

More program variety

Thanks to advanced digital processing, significantly more programs than with analog technology can be broadcast over the available frequencies. This creates free space for new stations and new listening experiences.

Excellent sound quality

Digital radio listeners benefit from clear reception and high quality sound – anywhere and anytime.

Digitaler Rundfunk

DAB- und DRM-Technologien für die gesamte Sendekette

Digitalradio-Technologien aus einer Hand

Egal ob Sie einen Rundfunkservice einrichten wollen oder einen Empfänger entwerfen: Das Fraunhofer IIS hat die Technologien, die Sie benötigen.

Fraunhofer-Technologien stecken nicht nur im grundlegenden Digitalradio-Standard – von der Audiokompression über Datendienste bis zur Gestaltung des Sendesignals – sondern auch in vielen Produkten, die eine erfolgreiche Einführung von Digitalradio erst ermöglicht haben.

Auf Sendeseite basieren bereits etliche Rundfunk-Encoder verschiedener Hersteller auf der ContentServer-Technologie von Fraunhofer. Diese sehr kompakten Lösungen verbinden die Audiocodierung in Echtzeit mit dem kompletten Management aller standardisierten Datendienste und der Erstellung des finalen digitalen Rundfunksignals.

Und auch auf der Empfängerseite bieten wir Endgeräteherstellern ein vielfältiges Angebot an Fraunhofer-Technologien. Diese reichen von Software-Defined-Radio-Lösungen für den DAB- und DRM-Empfang über Decoderkomponenten für Audio- und Datendienste wie Journaline® und Emergency Warning Functionality (EWF) bis hin zu vollständig PC-basierten Radiolösungen.

Digitalradio bietet Vorteile für Radiohörer, -hersteller und -sender:

Mehr als nur Radio

Durch zusätzliche Multimediafunktionen ist Digitalradio heute mehr als ein akustisches Medium. Es vermittelt auch visuelle Informationen und eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten für Verkehrsinformationsdienste und weitere Services.

Mehr Effizienz

Radiosender profitieren von effizienter Programmübertragung: Der reduzierte Energieverbrauch bei der Ausstrahlung und größere Kapazitäten für zusätzliche Programme verringern die Betriebskosten.

Und mit unserer einsatzfertigen Software können Hersteller ihre bestehenden Radio-Plattformen problemlos um die DAB- und DRM-Funktionalität erweitern.

Mehr Programmvielfalt

Dank hochentwickelter Technologien für die digitale Verarbeitung können bedeutend mehr Programme als mit analogen Technologien über die verfügbaren Frequenzen ausgestrahlt werden. Das schafft Freiraum für neue Sender und neue Hörerlebnisse.

Exzellente Klangqualität

Digitalradiohörer profitieren immer und überall von glasklarem Empfang und bester Soundqualität.