Trade Fairs

Positioning & Navigation Solutions for Trade Fairs

Visitors to trade fairs often struggle to keep an overview. Whether at open-air sites or in trade fair halls, Fraunhofer IIS’s positioning technologies are on hand to provide guidance accurate to within a few meters.

 

Challenges

Trade fairs present a particularly challenging environment for localization technology. Large, open-plan halls, booth designs that change from one fair to the next and the crowds of people all contribute to a highly dynamic environment for signal processing. What is more, solutions must take into account the fact that visitors will be using many different devices, which can vary radically in their measurement characteristics. This prompted our decision to develop special positioning algorithms for trade fairs.

 

Experience

We have many years of expertise developing localization solutions for trade fairs. Back in 2004 at embedded world, Fraunhofer IIS’s “Indoor navigation trade fair guide” received the “Embedded Award” for particularly innovative software products and services.

Further guidance systems incorporating Fraunhofer IIS localization solutions have been employed at numerous events, including embedded world (2004, 2005), CeBIT (2005), MEDICA (2004), the German Logistics Congress (2004) and the Frankfurter Messe (2008, 2009). Solutions were also developed to locate employees at trade fair booths.

 

Outlook

The trade fair localization algorithm can of course also be applied to similar environments such as airports, train stations and shopping malls – in other words, any similarly “open” environment.

Messen

Lokalisierungslösungen auf Messen

Auf Messen ist es für die Besucher oftmals schwer, den Überblick zu bewahren. Hier helfen die Lokalisierungstechnologie des Fraunhofer IIS sich sowohl in den Messehallen als auch auf dem Freigelände auf wenige Meter genau zu orientieren.

 

Herausforderungen

Das Messeumfeld stellt eine besondere Herausforderung für die Lokalisierung dar. Große, offene Hallen, sich bei jeder Messe ändernde Standbauten sowie die großen Menschenmengen bedeuten für die Signalverarbeitung eine hohe Dynamik. Darüber hinaus sollen unterschiedliche Endgerätetypen der Besucher zum Einsatz kommen, die sich in ihrer Messcharakteristik stark unterscheiden. Daher wurden spezielle Lokalisierungsalgorithmen für Messen entwickelt.

 

Erfahrungen

In der Entwicklung von Lokalisierungslösungen für Messen greifen wir auf langjährige Erfahrung zurück. Bereits auf der embedded world 2004 erhielt der "Messeführer auf Basis von Indoornavigation" des Fraunhofer IIS den "Embedded Award" für besonders innovative Produkte und Dienstleistungen im Bereich Software verliehen.
Weitere Führungssysteme mit Lokalisierungslösungen des Fraunhofer IIS kamen bereits auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen zum Einsatz: embedded world (2004, 2005), CeBIT (2005), MEDICA (2004), Deutscher Logistikkongress (2004), Frankfurter Messe (2008, 2009). Auch zur Lokalisierung von Mitarbeitern auf Messeständen wurden eigene Lösungen entwickelt.

 

Ausblick

Der spezielle Lokalisierungsalgorithmus für das Messeumfeld kann natürlich auch in vergleichbaren Umgebungen wie Flughäfen, Bahnhöfen und Einkaufszentren eingesetzt werden – also überall dort, wo vergleichbar »offene« Umgebungsbedingungen herrschen.