Museums

Positioning & Navigation for Museums

New visitor experiences

With their convenient pocket size and simple operation, multimedia guides are transforming today’s museum experience. They are a way of providing visitors with exactly the extra information they want – and so simply and directly that it’s almost like having your very own guide. The technology is setting new benchmarks in the way we view art, culture, technology and history.

Museums and application developers in Germany and elsewhere are turning to Fraunhofer IIS’s localization technologies, which are accurate to within a few meters and do not require any networked infrastructure. All they need are signals from WLAN or Bluetooth transmitters.

This means no more frustrating searches for the content you want. Mobile devices such as smartphones can tell entirely autonomously which exhibit the visitor is viewing, without the need to exchange data or for a central server. Searching for numbers and handset operation are a thing of the past, leaving visitors free to concentrate fully on experiencing the exhibits.

 

Timely location of assets

It’s a scenario with which every museum is familiar: an item is urgently needed but nowhere to be found. As a result, employees are left to wade through the inventory lists, quiz their colleagues or search through every possible storage place. Implementing a wireless asset tracking system can eliminate the problem of how to locate assets. Such a system offers a variety of functions, including the ability to locate items accurate to the specific room, monitor environmental parameters and store the relevant device data.

Museen

Lokalisierungslösungen in Museen

Neue Erlebnisse für Besucher

Handliches Taschenformat, kinderleichte Bedienung: Multimediaguides geben heute dem Museumsbesuch eine ganz neue Qualität. Sie bieten den Besuchern genau die Zusatzinhalte, die sie sich wünschen – und das so direkt und unkompliziert, als hätten sie ihren ganz persönlichen Guide. Das setzt neue Maßstäbe im Erleben von Kunst, Kultur, Technik und Geschichte.

In Deutschland und International setzen hierfür Museen und Applikationsentwickler auf die Lokalisierungstechnologien des Fraunhofer IIS. Sie sind bis auf wenige Meter genau und benötigen keine vernetzte Infrastruktur, WLAN- oder Bluetooth-Sender ausbringen genügt.

Die lästige Suche nach den passenden Inhalten ist damit passé. Mobile Geräte wie Smartphones erkennen damit ohne Datenkommunikation, ohne zentralen Server völlig autark bei welchen Exponaten der Besucher sich gerade aufhält. Nummernsuchen und Tastenbedienen ist daher nicht mehr nötig, der Besucher kann sich ganz auf die Ausstellung konzentrieren und einlassen.

 

Schnelles Finden von Assets

Eine bekannte Szene aus jedem Museum, ein Objekt wird dringend benötigt, doch es ist unauffindbar. Ergebnis: Mitarbeiter durchforsten Inventarlisten, befragen Kollegen oder durchsuchen mögliche Lagerorte. Dieses Problem bei der Suche nach Assets kann über ein funkbasiertes Asset Tracking System gelöst werden. Dieses kann dann eine Vielzahl von Funktionalitäten bereitstellen, z. B. eine raumgenaue Lokalisierung, eine Abfrage von Umweltparametern oder die Speicherung von relevanten Gerätedaten direkt am Objekt.