Solutions for Sports and Leisure

Sports

The world of professional sports offers many opportunities to use positioning and tracking technologies. The objective in this case is to provide viewers and broadcasters with completely new types of information, which will provide novel viewing experiences and increase viewership. Even disabled athletes can benefit by using technologies such as guidance systems. Delivering this added value requires the ability to exactly locate balls, players, skiers or formula 1 cars. This is where tracking technologies come into play, which can provide that information.

Soccer

© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

REDFIR® calculates physical data and tactical game information

The technology developed by Fraunhofer makes it possible to exactly determine the positions not only of players, but even of their arms and legs. Intelligent software components called event observers then translate the position data into sports information, offering viewers new kinds of insights, pinpointing, for example, which player was the most effective in a given game, who played the longest pass or how closely a downhill skier followed the fastest line. One could go even further and offer viewers real-time 3D animations. Obviously, such a system would also benefit coaches, allowing them to analyze games from a tactical or sports science point of view and providing answers to questions such as “How did our flat-back-four defense acquit itself?” or “Which wing do we score more often from?”

 

Running

Blindtrack
© Photo iStock/Gizmo

Support for sprinters through positioning and sensors

Fraunhofer IIS developed a highly-precise localization technology for visually-impaired runners that relies on angle and running speed measurements. This technology makes it possible to determine the position of the runners in real-time and warns them via signals integrated into a sensor belt if they leave their running lane. That means runners with visual impairments can participate in competitions as well, not to mention that it eliminates the need for them to run with a guide. The speed detection and distance measurement can also be used during training sessions to monitor progress and optimize performance, thus providing added value.

Boxing

Eingebettete drahtlose und miniaturisierte Sensorik im Boxen zur Messung von Druck, Geschwindigkeit uvm.
© Photo AntonioDiaz - Fotolia.com

Embedded wireless sensors

Miniaturized sensor technology from Fraunhofer IIS offers the sport of boxing the opportunity to measure the acceleration curve and velocity of punches. Special algorithms allow trainers to classify and analyze the punches in order to set up targeted training programs for their boxers. Media companies and television audiences can also benefit from the Fraunhofer IIS sensor technology: How many punches landed, what type of punches were thrown and what was their velocity? Real-time visualization of the results helps the audience answer these questions. In Olympic boxing, the technology is used to analyze and improve the training sessions. The embedded sensor technology also has utility in the game and leisure industries, as well as in other types of sports and athletics.

Lokalisierungs-Lösungen für Sport und Freizeit

Sport

Der professionelle Sport bietet eine Reihe von Möglichkeiten, um Lokalisierung einzusetzen. Hierbei geht es darum, den Zuschauern und Medien völlig neuartige Informationen zu liefern. Zuschauer sehen ein Spiel mit völlig anderen Augen, Medien gewinnen zusätzliche Zuschauer. Aber es können auch gehandicapte Sportler sinnvoll unterstützt werden, beispielsweise durch Führungsfunktionalitäten. Grundlage dieses Mehrwertes ist eine Antwort auf die Frage: Wo befindet sich gerade der Ball, der Spieler, der Läufer oder mit welcher Geschwindigkeit schlägt der Boxer? Genau hier setzt die Ortung und Lokalisierung an. Denn sie liefert diese Informationen.

Fußball

RedFIR® Lokalbasierte Laufzeitmesung

RedFIR® errechnet physische und spieltaktische Informationen in Echtzeit

Im speziellen Fall der Fraunhofer Echtzeit RTLS-Technologie sogar hochgenau. Somit ist es nicht nur möglich, den Spieler selbst, sondern auch Arme oder Beine zu erkennen. Intelligente sogenannte „Eventobserver“ übersetzen die Position zu einer Sportinformation. Jetzt ist es möglich, dem Zuschauer neuartige Informationen zu geben: Wer war heute der effektivste Spieler? Wer hat den weitesten Pass geschlagen? Wie war die Ideallinie der Abfahrtsläuferin? Man kann sogar noch weiter gehen, und dem Zuschauer in Echtzeit 3D-Animationen bieten. Natürlich profitieren auch Trainer von so einem System. Sie analysieren ein Spiel hinsichtlich taktisch und sportwissenschaftlicher Belange: Wie hat sich meine Viererkette verhalten? Über welche Seite schieße ich effektiv Tore?

Laufen

Läufer an der Startlinie
© Foto iStock/Gizmo

Läufer-Unterstützung durch Lokalisierung und Sensorik

Mit Hilfe von Winkelschätzung und Laufzeitmessung hat das Fraunhofer IIS eine hochgenaue Ortungstechnologie für blinde Läufer entwickelt. Somit ist es möglich, die Position des Läufers in Echtzeit zu bestimmen und diesen über Signale im Sensorgurt zu warnen, falls dieser die Bahn verlässt. So sind auch blinde Läufer wettbewerbsfähig und benötigen beim Laufen keinen Mitläufer mehr. Die Geschwindigkeitsdetektion und die Messung der gelaufenen Kilometer bieten zusätzlich einen Mehrwert für die Trainingsüberwachung und die Leistungsoptimierung.

Boxen

Sensorik und Lokalisierung im Boxen
© Foto AntonioDiaz - Fotolia.com

Die miniaturisierte Sensortechnik des Fraunhofer IIS bietet im Boxsport eine Echtzeitmessung des Beschleunigungsverlaufs und der Geschwindigkeit von Schlägen. Algorithmen ermöglichen es dann dem Trainer die Faustschläge zu kategorisieren und auszuwerten, um die Box-Kämpfer gezielt trainieren zu können. Auch Medien und Zuschauer profitieren von der Sensortechnik des Fraunhofer IIS: Wie viele Schläge haben die Box-Kämpfer erzielt? Mit welcher Geschwindigkeit wurden die Schläge ausgeführt und um welche Art von Schlag handelt es sich? Mit Hilfe der Echtzeitvisualisierung wird den Zuschauern diese Fragen direkt im Fernsehen beantwortet. Im olympischen Boxen dient die Technologie zur Trainingsauswertung und -verbesserung. Des Weiteren besteht die Möglichkeit, die eingebettete Sensorik auch im Spiel- und Freizeitbereich sowie in anderen Sportbereichen einzusetzen.