RSSI - Received Signal Strength Indication

Fraunhofer IIS's self-contained Positioning Technology for Cities and Buildings

awiloc® Technical Solution

© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Sven Mattes

Fraunhofer IIS’s awiloc® technology enables continuous localization by detecting the characteristic field strength distribution of existing WLAN stations and Bluetooth LE transmitters.

Mobile devices are able to determine their own position using what is known as a fingerprinting technique. This involves taking measurement values at reference points that include all detected WLAN base stations and Bluetooth LE transmitters as well as their corresponding transmission information. This information is limited solely to the signal strengths of the detected WLAN base stations and Bluetooth LE transmitters as measured at the reference point.

 

Positioning through signal strengths patterns

This fingerprint of transmission data is then stored in a database and serves as the basis on which mobile devices can determine their own position. This is achieved by using a localization algorithm developed by Fraunhofer IIS that autonomously compares recorded transmission data with reference data to calculate the current position. This means that the position is known only to the user.

The so-called MAC address serves for a technical distinction of measured signal strengths of wireless LAN stations. The SSID, assigned and possibly disabled by the user, is an uncertain information in terms of positioning. Therefore the positioning through awiloc® technology by Fraunhofer IIS is not hooked on the SSID as well as other information sent by wireless LAN stations, e.g. their encryption status – they are not needed and therefore not stored. A data exchange with the wireless LAN station is not performed. The position of the wireless LAN access point is unimportant and not determined.

 

Positioning in cities and buildings

Our stand-alone wireless LAN positioning in cities considers both commercial wireless LAN hot spots and private wireless LAN access points and works without registration or access to the data network.

A robust positioning algorithm ensures a high degree of immunity to distorting influences such as the addition, removal, or relocation of wireless LAN access points. Thus, positioning accuracy is totally unaffected by the addition of wireless LAN access points and it will be influenced only if the number of wireless LAN access points in a common city surrounding is reduced by more than 50%. While accuracy will be diminished if access points are moved, continuous positioning means that there will be no major errors or dropouts.

The solution developed by Fraunhofer IIS enables continuous positioning even in multi-story buildings or underground facilities. By the use of an environment model it is possible to integrate semantic information and to add functionality such as structural feature identification. Indoor positioning accuracy usually varies between 1 and 5 meters (depending on the type of environment, e.g. office building or production facility). Outdoors, positioning accuracy averages around 10 meters while also varying with the environment: The more densely built up an area, the better the performance of Fraunhofer IIS's wireless LAN positioning technology – a characteristic that makes this solution the ideal complement to GPS.

 

Implementation

awiloc® technology by Fraunhofer IIS for wireless LAN positioning is a purely software-based solution that can be easily integrated into mobile devices. Location Based Services are feasible both as local services on the mobile device and as network-based services.

 

Position Transfer Interfaces

For the position transfer the following socket-based interfaces are available:

  • Position information applications
    can request the position on the mobile device
  • Location information applications
    can request the logical position (e. g. room number) on the mobile device
  • Virtual GPS
    furnishes a virtual gps adapter

RSSI - Received Signal Strength Indication

Die autarke Lokalisierungstechnologie für Städte und Gebäude

awiloc® Technische Lösung

© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Sven Mattes

Die awiloc®-Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Lokalisierung durch die Erkennung der charakteristischen Feldstärkenverteilung bei vorhandenen WLAN-Stationen und Bluetooth LE Sendern.

Die Selbstlokalisierung von mobilen Endgeräten basiert auf einem so genannten Fingerprinting-Verfahren. Hierzu werden an Referenzpunkten Messwerte aufgenommen, welche alle empfangenen WLAN-Basisstationen und Bluetooth LE Sender sowie die dazugehörigen Empfangsinformationen enthalten. Die Empfangsinformationen beinhalten dabei lediglich die gemessenen Signalstärken der vorhandenen WLAN-Basisstationen und der Bluetooth LE Sendern an dem Referenzpunkt.

Dieser »Abdruck« der Empfangsinformationen wird in einer Datenbank hinterlegt und dient auf dem mobilen Endgerät als Basis für die eigene Positionsbestimmung. Der Lokalisierungsalgorithmus des Fraunhofer IIS berechnet daraus autark auf dem Endgerät die aktuelle Position, indem gemessene Empfangsinformationen mit den Referenzinformationen abgeglichen werden. Damit ist die Position nur dem Nutzer bekannt.

 

WLAN-Lokalisierung durch Signalstärkenmuster

Zur technischen Unterscheidung der gemessenen Signalstärken der WLAN-Stationen dient die so genannte MAC-Adresse. Ein Datenaustausch mit der WLAN-Station wird nicht durchgeführt. Die Position der WLAN-Sender ist unwichtig und wird nicht ermittelt. Die vom Benutzer vergebene SSID ist bei WLAN-Stationen abschaltbar. Die SSID ist daher – ebenso wie andere ausgesendete Informationen der WLAN-Station, z.B. deren Verschlüsselungsstatus - für die Lokalisierung mit der awiloc®-Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS nicht notwendig und wird daher weder ermittelt noch gespeichert.

 

Lokalisierung in Städten und Gebäuden

Die autarke WLAN-Lokalisierung in Städten berücksichtigt sowohl kommerzielle Hot-Spots als auch private WLAN-Sender und arbeitet ohne Anmeldung und Zugriff ins Datennetz.

Eine hohe Sicherheit gegen äußere Störeinflusse wie wegfallende, hinzukommende oder positionsveränderte WLAN-Sender wird durch einen robusten Ortungsalgorithmus gewährleistet. Daher beeinflusst das Verschwinden von WLAN-Sendern in einer üblichen Stadtumgebung erst dann die Genauigkeit, wenn mehr als 50 % wegfallen. Das Hinzukommen von WLAN-Sendern ist unerheblich für die Positionsgenauigkeit. Eine Veränderung der Position von WLAN-Sendern reduziert die Genauigkeit, führt aber durch die kontinuierliche Lokalisierung zu keinen größeren Abweichungen oder Sprüngen.

Die Lösung von Fraunhofer ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Lokalisierung auch in mehrstöckigen Gebäuden oder unterirdischen Einrichtungen. Über ein Umgebungsmodell können logische Informationen integriert und auch Funktionen wie eine Bereichserkennung realisiert werden. Dadurch ist es möglich, einzelne Etagen, Räume oder Raumpositionen zu identifizieren. In Gebäuden werden mittlere Genauigkeiten zwischen 1 - 5 Meter erreicht (abhängig vom Umfeld, ob Bürogebäude oder Produktionshalle). Im Außenbereich werden durchschnittliche Werte von 10 Metern erreicht. Auch hier wird die Genauigkeit durch das Umfeld beeinflusst. Je strukturierter, also enger die Bebauung wird, desto genauer wird die WLAN-Lokalisierung des Fraunhofer IIS. Sie stellt daher eine ideale Ergänzung zu GPS dar.

 

Die Realisierung

Die awiloc®-Technologie des Fraunhofer IIS zur autarken WLAN-Lokalisierung ist eine reine Software-Lösung, die leicht in mobile Endgeräte integriert werden kann. Location Based Services sind dabei sowohl als lokale Dienste auf dem Endgerät als auch als netzseitige Dienste realisierbar.

 

Schnittstellen zur Positionsübergabe

Für die Positionsübergabe stehen folgende socket-basierte Schnittstellen zur Verfügung:

  • PositionInformation
    erlaubt Applikationen die Abfrage der Position auf dem mobilen Endgerät
  • LocationInformation
    erlaubt Applikationen die Abfrage der logischen Position (z.B. Raumnummer) auf dem mobilen Endgerät
  • VirtualGPS
    stellt einen virtuellen GPS-Adapter zur Verfügung