Optical tracking - CNN

Optical Tracking

At a glance

CNNLok provides a camera-based, infrastructure-free location of mobile objects.

At CNNLok, mobile computers with cameras use a special deep learning architecture to localize themselves in a learned environment. This can be simple Android smartphones to embedded computers with multiple cameras are used. By continuously re-exploring the environment and using an application-specific motion model, reliable positions are calculated.

The technology

CNNLok can also be used when the environment changes, such as when the loading of high racks changes in the logistics sector. Localization in areas where infrastructure cannot be deployed is also something that can be learned. In contrast to standard radio-based or optical technologies, no sensor infrastructure is required for self-positioning; nor do any optical markers have to be installed in the environment, as other self-localizing systems often require. Static elements in the existing environment are all that is needed to calculate positions. As a result, CNNLok is self-sufficient and can be used very flexibly in a wide variety of application fields. As the technical feasibility of this idea has now been confirmed, a team from Fraunhofer IIS is working on a practical solution for CNNLok. Although there are some hurdles still to be overcome, development of the self-learning technology is progressing rapidly.

© iStock

How it works

The mobile processing unit uses a so-called convolutional neural network to calculate the current position based on a camera image. First of all, data is automatically captured from thousands of camera images and the corresponding positions. Using this data, an existing network is further trained for the purpose of adapting it to the target environment. The finished network is used on the target platforms to determine the positions of new images. To prevent the system from degenerating over time, updated information is continuously collected on a central processing unit for further training of the network and distribution to the mobile processors.

 

System components of CNNLok

The mobile processing unit is typically either a simple smartphone or an ARM- or Intel-based single-board computer with a standard camera. Thanks to the high flexibility of the platform, many application scenarios are possible that cannot be accomplished by standard, infrastructure-based solutions. Adapted motion models and special pre-processing of the collected data allow new data to populate an existing positioning system. Because continuously learning more about the environment is a very computing-intensive task, the system needs to be connected up to other hardware via a network or docking station or similar means. Depending on the dynamics of the area, a central processor with powerful standard deep learning hardware – such as graphics cards or special vector processors – may be additionally required. This takes over the duties of the mobile processing units at appropriate times – for example, when they need to be charged. 

Added value for industry

By virtue of its autonomous self-positioning, CNNLok offers major potential for the optimization of workflows in logistics, even in dynamic environments. Downstream analytical applications could use the localization to achieve efficiencies such as increased throughput of goods.

Added value for indoor localization

For various indoor applications that are unsuitable for infrastructure and are situated in a dynamic environment, indoor localization could serve as the basis for developing specific positioning solutions. For example, it allows the creation of navigation services in the retail sector that can be implemented on a purely local basis on a smartphone. 

Your partner from the research sector

Various further fields of application are conceivable for CNNLok. The positioning device’s autonomy, the fact that it needs no positioning infrastructure, and its tolerance of dynamic changes together open up a wealth of new possibilities. 

We would be glad to further develope CNNLok with you and adapt the technology precisely to your wishes and requirements

Optical Tracking - CNNLok

Optical Tracking - CNNLok

Auf einen Blick

CNNLok bietet eine kamerabasierte, infrastrukturlose Ortung von mobilen Objekten.

Mobile Rechner mit Kamera nutzen dazu bei CNNLok eine spezielle Deep Learning Architektur, um sich selbst in einer gelernten Umgebung zu lokalisieren. Dazu können einfache Android-Smartphones bis hin zu eingebetteten Rechnern mit mehreren Kameras genutzt werden. Durch kontinuierliches neues Erkunden der Umgebung und einem anwendungsspezifischen Bewegungsmodell werden so zuverlässige Positionen berechnet.

Die Technologie

Der Einsatz von CNNLok ist auch möglich, wenn die Umgebung sich verändert, beispielsweise wenn sich im Logistikbereich die Beladung von Hochregalen ändert. Auch die Ortung in Arealen, in denen Infrastruktur nicht angebracht werden kann, lässt sich erlernen. Im Gegensatz zu klassischen funkbasierten oder optischen Technologien ist für die Selbstortung keine Sensorinfrastruktur nötig. Auch müssen keine optischen Marker in der Umgebung angebracht werden, die andere selbstlokalisierende Systeme häufig benötigen. Allein die statischen Elemente in der vorhandenen Umgebung reichen aus, um Positionen zu berechnen. Dadurch ist CNNLok autark und sehr flexibel in verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen einsetzbar.

Nachdem die technische Machbarkeit dieser Idee nun bestätigt wurde, arbeitet ein Team des Fraunhofer IIS an einer praktischen Lösung für CNNLok. Einige Hürden gilt es dabei noch zu lösen, doch die Entwicklung der selbstlernenden Technologie schreitet zügig voran.

© iStock
© Fotolia

Funktionsweise

Die mobile Recheneinheit nutzt ein neuronales Netz (Convolutional Neural Network), um anhand eines Kamerabildes die aktuelle Position zu errechnen. Initial wird automatisiert eine Datenaufnahme von tausenden Kamerabildern und zugehöriger Position aufgezeichnet. Ein bestehendes Netz wird anhand dieser Daten weiter trainiert, um es an die Zielumgebung anzupassen. Das fertige Netz wird auf den Zielplattformen genutzt, um die Positionen neuer Bilder zu bestimmen. Um die Degenerierung des Systems über die Zeit zu verhindern, werden kontinuierlich aktualisierte Informationen auf einer zentralen Recheneinheit gesammelt, das Netzwerk weiter trainiert und an die mobilen Rechner verteilt.

Systemkomponenten von CNNLok

Die mobile Recheneinheit ist typischerweise entweder ein einfaches Smartphone oder ein ARM- oder Intel-basierter Einplatinenrechner mit einer Standardkamera. Durch die hohe Flexibilität der Plattform sind viele Anwendungsszenarien möglich, die durch klassische, infrastrukturbasierte Lösungen nicht abgedeckt werden können. Angepasste Bewegungsmodelle und spezielle Vorverarbeitung der gesammelten Daten ermöglichen das Einpflegen neuer Daten in das bestehende Ortungssystem. Das kontinuierliche Weitererlernen der Umgebung ist eine sehr rechenintensive Aufgabe für das System, weshalb eine Kopplung, zum Beispiel per Netzwerk oder Dockingstation erforderlich ist. Je nach Dynamik des Areals ist zusätzlich ein zentraler Rechner mit starker Standard Deep Learning Hardware, wie Grafikkarten oder speziellen Vektorprozessoren, nötig. Er übernimmt die Aufgaben der mobilen Recheneinheiten, wenn diese beispielsweise geladen werden müssen. 

Anwendungen und Angebot

Mehrwert für Industrie

CNNLok bietet durch die autarke Eigenortung großes Potential bei der Optimierung von Abläufen in der Logistik, selbst bei dynamischen Umgebungen. Nachgelagerte Analyseanwendungen könnten die Lokalisierung nutzen, um beispielsweise den Warendurchsatz zu erhöhen.

Mehrwert für Indoor Lokalisierung

Für verschiedene Indoor-Anwendungen, die ohne Infrastruktur auskommen sollen und in einem dynamischen Umfeld angesiedelt sind, könnten sich mit Indoor Lokalisierung spezifische Lokalisierungslösungen entwickeln lassen. Beispielsweise können Navigationsdienste im Retail-Bereich ermöglicht werden, die rein lokal auf dem Smartphone ausgeführt werden können. 

Ihr Partner aus der Forschung

Für CNNLok wären etliche weitere Einsatzgebiete denkbar. Durch die Autarkie des ortenden Endgerätes, den Verzicht auf Ortungsinfrastruktur und die Toleranz von dynamischen Veränderungen eröffnen sich neue Möglichkeiten.

Gerne entwickeln wir CNNLok mit Ihnen weiter und passen die Technologie genau auf Ihre Wünsche und Anforderungen an.