Fusion

Sensorfusion

At a glance

 

Sensor fusion means using algorithms to combine data from one or several tracking systems with the purpose of achieving continuous and accurate state estimation. Sensing technologies based on time of flight, received signal strength indication, angle of arrival or inertial measurements all have fundamentally different characteristics, which complement each other in terms of range, precision and sampling rate. When these diverse technologies are all incorporated into one application and integrated on a single platform, sensor fusion ensures that their respective strengths are exploited and their weaknesses compensated for.

Technical Description

Provided that the sensors used are orthogonally arranged, sensor fusion can increase the accuracy of state estimates. For instance, GPS data can be fused with data from inertial measurement units. While a GPS system provides absolute position data, it captures relative motion less precisely. This latter task can be performed by integrated IMUs. Combining GPS position data with high-resolution motion data from IMUs thus improves the overall quality of the system.

Another purpose of sensor fusion is to enable seamless transitions between tracking systems. If several systems are used simultaneously so that their cells overlap, sensor fusion involves estimating values for some of the cells, depending on which and how many sensors are available. The accuracy of these estimates is then a function of the quality of the sensors used and of how far they overlap.

Sensor fusion is useful wherever several tracking systems and sensors are used. Safety-critical applications such as monitoring of large infrastructures or emergency responders particularly stand to benefit from the integration of several parameters.

Offer

Fraunhofer IIS's Nuremberg laboratories are constantly developing and enhancing tracking technologies. The solutions created range from inertial sensing to angle-of-arrival, time-of-flight and satellite navigation technology. More than ten different tracking technologies can be adapted, evolved and combined to produce custom prototypes and systems for the benefit of our partners.

Drawing on our experience of integrating various technologies, we are able to provide you with the ideal solution.

Fraunhofer - Your partner in research and development

 

 

Development of localization systems

Test measurements

Independent technology selection

Consulting

Customized application

Localization Testing Center

 

Projects

Fusion

Sensorfusion

Auf einen Blick

Sensorfusion kombiniert algorithmisch die Ergebnisse einzelner oder mehrerer dynamischer Lokalisierungssysteme und erstellt somit eine lückenlose sowie präzise Zustandsschätzung. Sensortechnologien wie Laufzeit-, Feldstärke- und Winkelmessung oder Inertialsensorik besitzen prinzipiell komplementäre Eigenschaften in Bezug auf Reichweite, Präzision oder Abtastgeschwindigkeit. Werden diese verschiedenen Technologien allerdings in einer Anwendung kombiniert und in eine Plattform integriert, so können durch Sensorfusion die Stärken der Technologien vereint und die jeweiligen Schwächen neutralisiert werden.

Technische Beschreibung

Sensorfusion am Fraunhofer IIS
© Fraunhofer IIS/Paul Pulkert

Sensorfusion am Fraunhofer IIS

Die Genauigkeit der Zustandsschätzung kann durch die Verwendung orthogonaler Sensoren verbessert werden. So kombiniert Sensorfusion beispielsweise GPS-Daten mit Daten von Inertialsensoren. Das GPS-System liefert absolute Positionsdaten, zeigt aber nur eine geringe Auflösung von Relativbewegungen. Die zusätzlich integrierte Inertialsensorik übernimmt diese Aufgabe. So führen die absoluten GPS-Positionsdaten zusammen mit den hochaufgelösten relativen Bewegungsdaten der Inertialsensorik zu einer Qualitätsverbesserung des Gesamtsystems.

Ein weiteres Ziel der Sensorfusion ist die nahtlose Lokalisierung zwischen verschiedenen Ortungssystemen. Wenn sich durch den Einsatz mehrerer Systeme Zellen überlappen, müssen je nach Verfügbarkeit der Sensoren in den einzelnen Zellen Werte geschätzt werden. Die Genauigkeit der Schätzung ist in diesem Fall abhängig von der Güte der einzelnen Sensoren und vom Grad der Überlappung.

Die Sensorfusion findet überall dort Gebrauch, wo mehrere Ortungssysteme und Sensoren zum Einsatz kommen. Besonders bei sicherheitskritischen Anwendungen, wie bei der Überwachung von großen Infrastrukturen oder Sicherheitskräften, ist die Fusion mehrerer Größen sinnvoll.

Angebot

In den Fraunhofer Laboren in Nürnberg entstehen neue Lokalisierungstechnologien, welche kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt werden. Die Lösungen reichen von Inertialsensorik, Winkelmessung und Laufzeitmessung bis hin zur Satellitennavigation. Über zehn verschiedene Lokalisierungstechnologien können für unsere Partner zu maßgeschneiderten Prototypen und Systemen angepasst, weiterentwickelt und kombiniert werden. Aufbauend auf diesen Erfahrungen in der Fusion der verschiedenen Technologien können wir auch Ihnen eine optimale Lösung anbieten.

Weitere Informationen

 

Projekte

 

Fraunhofer - Ihr FuE-Partner

 

  • Entwicklung von Lokalisierungsystemen
  • Testmessungen
  • Unabhängige Technologieauswahl
  • Beratung
  • Kundenspezifische Anwendungen
  • Testzentrum für Lokalisierung