Secure communication in the Internet of Things

Identify vulnerabilities and take action

Cyber Security for IoT-applications

Why Cyber Security in the Internet of Things?

Cybercrime is booming! € 500 billion is the estimated annual cybercrime damage worldwide.

The importance of IT and cyber security is steadily increasing with the digitization of all areas of life, work and business. Due to the use of the internet for more and more processes and tasks in administration and companies, but also in the private sector, we depend to a high degree on functioning information technology and secure information infrastructures. Ensuring security on the WWW and protecting critical information infrastructures have become existential issues of the 21st century, requiring a high level of engagement from all stakeholders. The networks are growing together worldwide so that cyberattacks in other countries can also have an impact on IT security in Germany.

Security in the Internet of Things

The Internet of Things is merging the real with the digital world. As a result, the previous, reliable barrier between these worlds disappears more and more, so that cyberattacks can have real effects in everyday or professional life. Due to the frameworks of constrained resources in cyber-physical systems on the Internet of Things or in sensor networks, traditional security mechanisms and techniques, such as firewalls, intrusion detection systems or anti-virus software, cannot be used.

Protective measures for wireless devices

Because of their capabilities, and especially their connectivity to computer networks or the Internet, wireless devices are potentially exposed to cyber and hacker attacks. The frameworks imposed by the limited resources typically have a direct impact on the IT security of these systems. Proven and partially standardized approaches and procedures can often not be applied and the guarantee of the protection goals must be adapted to the specific circumstances.

The topic "embedded systems, mobile security and Internet of Things" therefore covers the entire development process from design through to testing and certification of components.

The topic "embedded systems, mobile security and Internet of Things" therefore covers the entire development process from design through to testing and certification of components.

Cyber security learning lab of the Fraunhofer Academy

The Cyber Security learning lab of the Fraunhofer Academy is a collaboration between Fraunhofer and selected universities of applied sciences. Specialists and executives from industry and public administration receive a compact qualification in high-quality laboratories with latest IT infrastructure. They investigate real threat scenarios, learn their significance and consequences, and study suitable solution concepts in their practical application and efficiency. Through the establishment of the cyber security learning laboratory and the networking of the further training offer of various partner consortia, users and decision-makers are addressed.

Modules are offered in the following topics:

– »Industrial Production / Industry 4.0«

– »Critical Infrastructure / Application Energy and Water Infrastructures«

– »High Security and Emergency Response«

– »Internet Security and IT Forensics«

– »Software Quality / Product Qualification«

– »Embedded Systems, Mobile Security and Internet of Things«

 

Embedded Systems, Mobile Security and Internet of Things

The subject area "Embedded Systems, Mobile Security and Internet of Things" therefore covers the entire development process from design to testing and certification of components. Emphasis will be placed on security and privacy requirements in the design process, security techniques with specific hardware support, security measures for hardware and software implementation of security features of embedded systems, and secure interaction of components in complex scenarios.

Our research topics

  • Secure networking of systems
  • Application-oriented security concepts
  • Security Usability - tailor-made security
  • Key Exchange and Management: Energy efficient and resource efficient
  • Secure authentication and identification in the Internet of Things

Our offer

We deal with integrated security of networked and distributed systems in the IoT. For this purpose, we are researching secure narrowband communication channels, especially for industrial processes.

  • Technology consulting and development in cyber security
  • Reliable security concepts along the information paths
  • Securing the complete system: From the sensor to the cloud

IT security of wireless communication systems

The challenge: Vulnerabilities in modern communication systems
   

Meanwhile almost every area of daily life needs modern communication systems. Reliable communication systems are essential for a functioning economy and our closely networked society. The Internet of Things (IoT) estimates that by 2020 approximately 50 billion devices will be integrated into our everyday lives. Especially wireless communication systems are in demand because they are easy to install and available on mobile devices. Thus, e.g. production data can be intercepted and processes can be disturbed or even manipulated. 

The solution: Building a sense of security for protective countermeasures

Fraunhofer Academy

The Fraunhofer Academy is the further education institution of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and is addressed to specialists and executives interested in further education interested in technology-driven companies.

Learning Lab Cyber Security

The cyber security learning lab is a collaboration between Fraunhofer and selected universities of applied sciences. Specialists and executives receive a compact qualification in high-quality laboratories with latest IT infrastructure.

Press Release

Necessary protective measures for the IoT, however, can not simply be taken from classic IT security, but must be adapted to wireless communication.

Seminar: IT security of wireless communication systems

Sichere Kommunikation im Internet der Dinge

Sicherheitslücken identifizieren und Maßnahmen einleiten

Cyber-Sicherheit für IoT-Anwendungen

Warum Cyber-Security im Internet of Things?

Cyberkriminalität boomt! 500 Millarden € ist der geschätzte jährliche Schaden durch Cyberkriminalität weltweit.

Die Bedeutung von IT- und Cyber-Sicherheit nimmt stetig durch die Digitalisierung sämtliche Lebens-, Arbeits- und Geschäftsbereiche zu. Durch die Internetnutzung bei immer mehr Prozessen und Aufgaben in Verwaltung und Unternehmen, aber auch im Privatbereich sind wir in hohem Maße von funktionierender Informationstechnik und sicheren Informationsinfrastrukturen abhängig. Die Gewährleistung von Sicherheit im WWW und der Schutz der kritischen Informationsinfrastrukturen sind zu existenziellen Fragen des 21. Jahrhunderts geworden und erfordern ein hohes Engagement von allen Beteiligten. Weltweit wachsen die Netze zusammen, so dass Cyberangriffe in anderen Ländern auch Auswirkungen auf die IT-Sicherheit in Deutschland mit sich bringen können.

Sicherheit im Internet of Things

Im Internet der Dinge kommt es zu einer Verschmelzung der realen mit der digitalen Welt. Dadurch verschwindet der bisherige, verlässliche Schutzwall zwischen diesen Welten immer mehr, so dass Cyberangriffe reale Auswirkungen im Alltags- oder Berufsleben haben können. Aufgrund der Rahmenbedingung eingeschränkter Ressourcen in cyberphysischen Systemen im Internet of Things oder in Sensornetzwerken lassen sich herkömmliche Sicherheitsmechanismen und -techniken, wie beispielsweise Firewalls, Intrusion Detection Systems oder auch AntiViren Software, nicht anwenden.

Schutzmaßnahmen für drahtlose Geräte

Aufgrund ihrer Funktionen, besonders aber auch durch ihre Anbindung an Computernetzwerke oder das Internet sind drahtlose Geräte potenziell Cyber- und Hacker-Angriffen ausgesetzt. Die durch die beschränkten Ressourcen vorgegebenen Rahmenbedingungen haben in der Regel direkte Auswirkungen auf die IT-Sicherheit dieser Systeme. Erprobte und teilweise standardisierte Vorgehensweisen und Verfahren lassen sich häufig nicht anwenden und die Gewährleistung der Schutzziele muss an die speziellen Gegebenheiten angepasst werden.

Das Themenfeld »Embedded Systems, Mobile Security und Internet of Things« umfasst deshalb den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess dem Design bis zum Test und der Zertifizierung von Komponenten.

Das Themenfeld »Embedded Systems, Mobile Security und Internet of Things« umfasst deshalb den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess dem Design bis zum Test und der Zertifizierung von Komponenten.

Lernlabor Cybersicherheit der Fraunhofer Academy

Das Lernlabor Cybersicherheit der Fraunhofer Academy ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Fraunhofer und ausgewählten Fachhochschulen. Fach- und Führungskräfte aus Industrie und öffentlicher Verwaltung erhalten eine kompakte Qualifizierung in hochwertigen Laboren mit aktueller IT-Infrastruktur. Sie stellen dort reale Bedrohungsszenarien nach, lernen deren Bedeutung und Konsequenzen zu erkennen und studieren geeignete Lösungskonzepte praxisnah in ihrem Einsatz und ihrem Wirkungsgrad. Durch den Aufbau des Lernlabors Cybersicherheit und der Vernetzung des Weiterbildungsangebots verschiedener Partnerkonsortien werden Anwender und Entscheider adressiert.

Es werden Module in den nachfolgenden Themenfeldern angeboten:

– »Industrielle Produktion / Industrie 4.0«

– »Kritische Infrastrukturen / Anwendungsfall Energie­ und Wasserinfrastrukturen«

– »Hochsicherheit und Emergency Response«

– »Internetsicherheit und IT-Forensik«

– »Softwarequalität / Produktzertifizierung«

– »Embedded Systems, Mobile Security und Internet of Things«

 

Embedded Systems, Mobile Security und Internet of Things

Das Themenfeld »Embedded Systems, Mobile Security und Internet of Things« umfasst deshalb den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess dem Design bis zum Test und der Zertifizierung von Komponenten. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei bei Security- und Privacy-Anforderungen im Design-Prozess, Sicherheitstechniken mit spezifischer Hardware-Unterstützung, Sicherheitsmaßnahmen für Hardware und Software-Implementierung von Sicherheitsfunktionen eingebetteter Systeme und das sichere Zusammenwirken von Komponenten in komplexen Szenarien.

Unsere Forschungsthemen

  • Sichere Vernetzung von Systemen
  • Anwendungsorientierte Sicherheitskonzepte
  • Security Usability – Sicherheit nach Maß
  • Schlüsselaustausch und -management: Energieeffizient und ressourcenschonend
  • Sichere Authentifizierung und Identifikation im Internet der Dinge

Unser Angebot

Wir beschäftigen uns mit ganzheitlicher Sicherheit vernetzter und verteilter Systeme im IoT. Hierfür erforschen wir sichere schmalbandige Kommunikationskanäle besonders für industrielle Prozesse.

  • Technologieberatung und -entwicklung im Bereich Cyber-Sicherheit
  • Zuverlässige Sicherheitskonzepte entlang der Informationswege
  • Absicherung des kompletten Systems: Vom Sensor bis in die Cloud

IT-Sicherheit drahtloser Kommunikationssysteme

Die Herausforderung: Sicherheitslücken in  modernen Kommunikationssystemen  

Mittlerweile benötigt fast jeder Bereich des täglichen Lebens moderne Kommunikationssysteme. Für eine funktionierende Wirtschaft und unsere eng vernetzte Gesellschaft sind zuverlässige Kommunikationssysteme essentiell. Im Internet of Things (IoT) werden bis 2020 schätzungsweise 50 Milliarden Endgeräte in unserem Alltag intergiert sein. Besonders drahtlose Kommunikationssysteme sind hier gefragt, weil sie leicht zu installieren und mobil verfügbar sind. So können z. B. Produktionsdaten abgehört, Prozesse gestört oder diese sogar manipuliert werden.

Die Lösung: Aufbau eines Sicherheitsbewusstseins für schützende Gegenmaßnahmen

Fraunhofer Academy

Die Fraunhofer Academy ist die Weiterbildungseinrichtung der Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft und richtet sich an weiterbildungsinteressierte Fach- und Führungskräfte technologiegetriebener Unternehmen.

Lernlabor Cbyersicherheit

Das Lernlabor Cybersicherheit ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen Fraunhofer und ausgewählten Fachhochschulen. Fach-­ und Führungskräfte erhalten eine kompakte Qualifizierung in hochwertigen Laboren mit aktueller IT-Infrastruktur.

Pressemitteilung

Notwendige Schutzmaßnahmen für das IoT können allerdings nicht einfach aus der klassischen IT-Sicherheit übernommen, sondern müssen an die drahtlose Kommunikation angepasst werden.

Seminar: IT-Sicherheit drahtloser Kommunikationssysteme