Assistance for Runners with Blindtrack

Blindtrack – tracking and positioning in sports

At a glance

Receivers for Positioning with Blindtrack
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Receivers for Positioning with Blindtrack

One of today’s key social issues is inclusion of disabled people, a concept that has been put into practice to some degree in kindergartens and schools. In keeping with this is the fact that public interest in the Paralympic Games has been greatly increasing.

Against this backdrop, there is a demand for technical aids that enable visually impaired runners to train for, and participate in, sports events without experiencing any barriers.

This is where the Blindtrack system comes in. It will help blind or partially sighted people become more flexible and independent in going about their leisure and health-related activities. In this way, it will contribute to their quality of life.

In this context, the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is developing a tracking and positioning system that will use a belt worn by the visually impaired runner to provide tactile and acoustic warning signals and directions whenever the athlete is about to leave a previously defined lane.

Technology

Blind or partially sighted runners will be tracked using Fraunhofer IIS’s BlackFIR® wireless tracking technology. Several tracking methods are being combined to make it possible to determine not only a runner’s position, but also their current lane, speed and movement characteristics.

By analyzing imminent situations, it will be easy to prevent unintentional lane changes as well as collisions with other runners.

In the background, the system will perform calculations to determine which lane is ideal for the runner. The information will be transmitted to the athlete via Wi-Fi, with a vibrating belt producing warning signals as required and indicating when and how to change lane.

For training monitoring purposes, the system will log specific data that help optimize the athlete’s performance.

Uniquely, Blindtrack will enable blind runners to stay in a predefined lane without the help of an accompanying runner. The project brings various benefits to clients and users

Benefits for Clients and Users:

Ability for visually impaired long-distance runners to run unaccompanied

Elimination of the need to adjust to accompanying runner’s fitness level

Speed measurement

Training monitoring

Performance optimization based on measurement of speed and distance traveled

Ability to compete with sighted athletes

Avoidance of inadvertent lane changes and collisions with other runners

 

Flyer

Blindtrack - Tracking and Positioning in Sports

Offer

Fraunhofer IIS provides integration of a range of enabling technologies for real-time tracking and positioning in sports. We are also available to test tracking and positioning systems and implement additional event detection functionality. The purpose of the Blindtrack project is to further develop the BlackFIR® technology for use in sports while translating it into products for the benefit of industrial partners.

More information

 

Products

Läuferunterstützung mit Blindtrack

Blindtrack – Ortung im Sport

Auf einen Blick

Empfängereinheit zur Ortung mit Blindtrack
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Empfängereinheit zur Ortung mit Blindtrack

Die Forderung nach sozialer Inklusion von Behinderten ist ein wichtiges gesellschaftliches Thema, welches z. B. in Kindergärten und Schulen schon teilweise umgesetzt wird. Auch die paralympischen Spiele gewinnen in diesem Zusammenhang stark an Interesse der Bevölkerung.

In diesem Kontext besteht die Nachfrage nach einer technischen Assistenz, damit sehbehinderte Läufer sich an einem Lauftraining oder einem Sportereignis barrierefrei beteiligen können.

Diese Aufgabe übernimmt das Blindtrack-System und erlaubt dadurch den Sehbehinderten mehr Flexibilität und Selbstständigkeit in der Gestaltung ihrer Freizeit und Gesundheitsförderung - es bietet dem Mensch mehr Lebensqualität.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS entwickelt in diesem Rahmen ein Ortungssystem, das über einen Sensorgurt, den der Läufer trägt, taktil und auditiv Warnsignale und Anweisungen vermittelt, wenn der Läufer die vordefinierte Laufbahn verlässt.

Technologie

Die Ortung der blinden Läufer erfolgt auf der Basis der vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Funkortungstechnologie BlackFIR®. Mit der gezielten Kombination verschiedener Ortungsmethoden werden zusätzlich zu der momentanen Position auch die Bewegungsparameter, die Geschwindigkeit und die Laufbahn extrahiert.

Durch Evaluierung der vorausgesagten Situation kann eine Kollision mit anderen Läufern beziehungsweise das ungewollte Verlassen der Laufbahn vermieden werden.

Im Hintergrund wird die optimale Laufbahn für den sehbehinderten Teilnehmer berechnet, welche nun über WLAN zum blinden Läufer gesendet wird. Dieser wird mit Hilfe von Warnsignalen im Sensorgurt, welchen er trägt, informiert, welche Laufbahnänderungen er vornehmen sollte.

Zur Trainingsüberwachung werden bestimmte Informationen vom System protokolliert, um so eine Leistungsoptimierung des Sportlers vorzunehmen.

Anwendung

Blindtrack eröffnet blinden Sportlern erstmals die Möglichkeit, ohne Assistenz eines Mitläufers eine definierte Bahn einzuhalten

Nutzen für Kunden und Anwender:

Ausdauerlauf für Sehbehinderte Sportler ohne Mitläufer

Keine konditionelle Anpassung an Mitläufer nötig

Geschwindigkeitsdetektion

Trainingsüberwachung

Leistungsoptimierung anhand gelaufener Geschwindigkeiten und Kilometer

Konkurrenzfähigkeit gegen Sportler mit Sehvermögen

Vermeidung von Kollision mit anderen Läufern sowie Abkommen von der Laufbahn

 

Flyer

Blind Track – Ortung im Sport

Angebot

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet die Integration verschiedener Basistechnologien für Echtzeitlokalisierung in Sportanwendungen. Außerdem kann die Ereigniserkennung im Sport-Bereich implementiert werden und Tests von Ortungssystemen durchgeführt werden. Ziel des Projektes Blindtrack ist die Weiterentwicklung der Technologie BlackFIR® für die Anwendung im Sport und gleichzeitiger Nutzung in Produkten der Blindtrack-Partner.