RSSI - Received Signal Strength Indication

Fraunhofer IIS's self-contained Positioning Technology for Cities and Buildings

awiloc® Fairs

Visitors to trade fairs often struggle to keep an overview. In the projects run by Fraunhofer IIS, visitors can put together their own personalized list of exhibitors and be guided directly to the booths they selected.

Wireless LAN positioning in a trade show environment poses particular challenges. Vast, open halls, huge crowds and booths set up differently for each event mean that the signal processing algorithm needs to cope with highly variable signal strength levels. Moreover, the software must be usable on a variety of mobile devices with considerably different measurement characteristics.

Four to eight wireless LAN access points, owned by the show organizer, are installed in each hall. To include all relevant variables, several calculation methods were combined, taking the specific environment into account. A special algorithm was developed that focuses on the relative strengths of the signals received from individual wireless LAN access points at any one time rather than on absolute levels, determining e.g. whether a stronger signal is being received from station 1 or station 2. This reduces the influence of the measurement characteristics of mobile devices on positioning accuracy.

 

Results

We have long experience with the development of trade show guides. During embedded world 2004 the "Trade Show Guide" of the Fraunhofer IIS got the "Embedded Award" for innovative products and services.

 

Future Work

While the positioning algorithm was developed for trade show settings, it can obviously be used in any similarly open environment such as an airport or railway station.

 

Fairs

RSSI - Received Signal Strength Indication

Die autarke Lokalisierungstechnologie für Städte und Gebäude

awiloc® Messen

Herausforderungen

Das Messeumfeld stellt eine besondere Herausforderung für die WLAN-Lokalisierung dar. Große, offene Hallen, sich bei jeder Messe ändernde Standbauten sowie die großen Menschenmengen bedeuten für die Signalverarbeitung eine hohe Dynamik der WLAN-Messwerte. Darüber hinaus soll die Software auf einer Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Endgerätetypen zum Einsatz kommen, die sich in ihrer Messcharakteristik stark unterscheiden.

Um diesen Einflussgrößen gerecht zu werden, wurden mehrere Berechnungsmethodiken umgebungsspezifisch vereint und ein spezieller Algorithmus entwickelt. Er legt weniger Gewicht auf die Einbeziehung von absoluten Pegeln, sondern zielt mehr auf die Verwendung relativer Eigenschaften der Pegel der einzelnen WLAN-Stationen einer gesamten Messung (Beispiel: WLAN-Station 1 wurde stärker gemessen als WLAN-Station 2). Damit sinkt u. a. die Auswirkung unterschiedlicher Charakteristiken auf die Positionsgenauigkeit.

Erfahrungen

In der Entwicklung von Messeführern greifen wir auf langjährige Erfahrung zurück. Bereits auf der embedded world 2004 erhielt der "Messeführer auf Basis von Indoornavigation" des Fraunhofer IIS, Erlangen, den "Embedded Award" für besonders innovative Produkte und Dienstleistungen im Bereich Software verliehen.

Ausblick

Der spezielle Lokalisierungsalgorithmus für das Messeumfeld kann natürlich auch in vergleichbaren Umgebungen wie Flughäfen oder Bahnhöfen eingesetzt werden – also überall dort, wo vergleichbar »offene« Umgebungsbedingungen herrschen.

 

Messen