Ultra Reliable Communication via Network Coded Cooperation NCC

Whether Industry 4.0, smart flow of goods or networked mobility: Digitization requires a lot of communication in networked systems, especially wirelessly networked, embedded, electronic systems - wherever mobility, flexibility or retrofitting in an existing environment are requirements.

At the application level, the requirements for the level of detail in digitization and for data quality continue to grow. Data-driven approaches such as learning systems or AI are also dependent on huge amounts of data. As a result, more and more data is generated that, in wireless systems, has to be transmitted over a shared radio resource.

Talk to our experts about the possibilities of improving your radio system through coding processes.

 

Graph that shows the minimization of packet losses with network coded cooperation
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl

With many mobile participants / radio sensors or high requirements in terms of latency or reliability, problems quickly arise in transmitting all data with sufficient data quality due to the limited radio, energy and processing resources.

Today's communication networks benefit from powerful error correction procedures. We have been using channel coding methods such as Reed-Solomon-Codes or Turbo-Codes for many years.

Network Coded Cooperation, as a network-based coding method, has the potential to reduce the need for communication in the wireless network and, at the same time  increase robustness. There is also the possibility that the individual radio node manages with a lower transmission power or that antenna diversity can be dispensed with, because this can be compensated for through the cooperation.

 

 

 

 

 

Use of Network Coded Cooperation

Network Coded Cooperation is already used at Fraunhofer IIS for some technologies:

Ultra reliable Industrial Network
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl
Drahtlose Echtzeitkommunikation bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit.

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Wireless real-time communication with maximum reliability

In industrial automation systems, some of the sensors and actuators as well as other automation components are typically located on moving subsystems. Tools on robot arms, slide tracks as well as rotary and coordinate tables are examples of such sub-systems, for whose control a connection with very short cycle times in the single-digit millisecond range to the higher-level control is necessary. The cable drag chains, rotary feedthroughs and sliding contacts used today for this purpose have numerous disadvantages, such as susceptibility to wear, high weight, limited expandability or restrictions on mobility.

To solve this problem, Fraunhofer IIS is developing the radio technology "Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network" (UWIN), which can be used as a wireless extension or as a replacement for wired field buses. Compared to today's wireless technologies, this enables real-time signal transmission with extremely short latency times and maximum reliability.

 

Learn more about UWIN

 

WSN – Wireless Sensor Networks

Meshed radio networks

The collection of distributed sensor values ​​in large-area installations is a common application for which meshed radio networks can be used. Established standards for wireless meshed radio networks (IEEE802.11s, Bluetooth® mesh) are based on a simple packet forwarding strategy, which is characterized by the fact that radio nodes forward data packets that are not addressed to them to neighboring radio nodes. Flooding effects can lead to problems with data throughput. Network Coded Cooperation offers the chance to increase reliability, data throughput and thus scalability.

 

Funktionsweise Wireless Sensor Networks
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl
Wireless Sensor Networks

Icon zu Network Coded Cooperation vor einem elektronischen Netzwerk.
© natrot - stock.adobe.com
Icon Network Coded Cooperation

Verbesserung von Funksystemen durch Kodierung

Ultra Reliable Communication durch Network Coded Cooperation NCC

Ob Industrie 4.0, smarte Warenströme oder vernetzte Mobilität: Digitalisierung braucht viel Kommuni­kation in vernetzten Systemen, insbesondere drahtlos vernetzte, eingebettete, elektronische Systeme - überall dort wo Mobilität, Flexibilität oder Nachrüstung in ein bestehendes Umfeld Anforderungen sind.
Auf Anwendungsebene wachsen dabei die Wünsche nach Detailgrad der Digitalisierung und nach Datenqualität immer weiter an. Auch datengetriebene Ansätze wie lernende Systeme oder KI sind auf riesige Datenmengen angewiesen. Als Folge entstehen immer mehr Daten, die bei drahtlosen Systemen über eine gemeinsame Funkressource übertragen werden müssen.

Sprechen Sie mit unseren Experten über die Möglichkeiten ihr Funksystem durch Kodierverfahren zu verbessern.

Balkendiagramm über Paketverluste bei Funksystemen.
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl
Resultierende Paketverlustraten unter Einsatz unterschiedlicher Fehlersicherungsmechanismen.

Bei vielen mobilen Teilnehmern/Funksensoren oder hohen Anforderungen hinsichtlich Latenz oder Zuverlässigkeit entstehen aufgrund der begrenzten Funk-, Energie- und Verarbeitungsressource schnell Probleme alle Daten mit ausreichender Datenqualität zu übertragen.

Heutige Kommunikationsnetze profitieren von leistungsfähigen Fehlerkorrekturverfahren. Hier setzen wir bereits seit vielen Jahren Verfahren zur Kanalkodierung wie Reed-Solomon-Codes oder Turbo-Codes ein.

Network Coded Cooperation besitzt als Netz-basiertes Kodierverfahren das Potenzial den Kommunikationsbedarf im Funknetzwerk zu reduzieren und gleich­zeitig die Robustheit zu steigern. Dabei besteht auch die Möglichkeit, dass der einzelne Funkknoten mit einer geringeren Sendeleistung auskommt oder dass auf Antennendiversität verzichtet werden kann, denn über die Kooperation kann dies kompensiert werden.

Einsatz von Network Coded Cooperation

Network Coded Cooperation kommt bei Fraunhofer IIS bereits bei einigen Technologien zum Einsatz:

Ultra reliable Industrial Network
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl
Drahtlose Echtzeitkommunikation bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit.

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Drahtlose Echtzeitkommunikation bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit

In Anlagen der Industrieautomatisierung befindet sich typischerweise ein Teil der Sensoren und Aktuatoren sowie andere Automatisierungskomponenten auf beweglichen Subsystemen. Werkzeuge an Roboterarmen, Schlittenbahnen sowie Dreh- und Koordinatentische sind Beispiele solcher Subsysteme, für deren Regelung eine Anbindung mit sehr kurzen Zykluszeiten im einstelligen Millisekunden-Bereich an die übergeordnete Steuerung notwendig ist. Die heutzutage dafür verwendeten Kabelschleppketten, Drehdurchführungen und Schleifkontakte bringen zahlreiche Nachteile mit sich, wie etwa Verschleißanfälligkeit, hohes Gewicht, beschränkte Erweiterungsfähigkeit oder Restriktionen der Bewegungsfähigkeit.

Zur Lösung dieser Problematik entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS die Funktechnologie »Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network« (UWIN), die als drahtlose Erweiterung oder als Ersatz von drahtgebundenen Feldbussen eingesetzt werden kann. Im Vergleich zu heutigen Funktechnologien wird so eine echtzeitfähige Signalübertragung mit extrem kurzen Latenzzeiten bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit ermöglicht.

Erfahren Sie mehr über UWIN

WSN – Wireless Sensor Networks

Vermaschte Funknetze

Das Einsammeln von verteilten Sensorwerten in großflächigen Installationen ist eine gängige Anwendung für die vermaschte Funknetze eingesetzt werden können. Etablierte Standards für drahtlose vermaschte Funknetze (IEEE802.11s, Bluetooth® mesh) basieren auf einer einfachen Paketweiterleitungs-Strategie, die dadurch gekennzeichnet ist, dass Funkknoten Datenpakete, die nicht an sie adressiert sind, an benachbarte Funkknoten weiterleiten. Dabei können Flooding-Effekte zu Problemen mit dem Datendurchsatz führen. Network Coded Cooperation bietet hier die Chance die Zuverlässigkeit, den Datendurchsatz und damit die Skalierbarkeit zu erhöhen.

Funktionsweise Wireless Sensor Networks
© Fraunhofer IIS/Pachl
Wireless Sensor Networks