Endorama

With the development of so-called stitching technologies, panoramic images with high spatial resolution are possible by way of post-processing continually captured image sequences.

more info

Enhanced Endoscopy Vision

Background

Limited vision constrains any endoscopic procedure for gastroenterologists and surgeons alike. In order to visualize the surrounding context during surgery, the camera-equipped endoscope has to be moved continuously and therewith, moved away from the site of operation. The captured scene becomes visible only temporarily and any correlations between situs and anatomical periphery are associated by the surgeon.

Documentation is based on individual image frames with impaired vision or whole video sequences, which are cumbersome to transmit and archive.

Our Solution: Endorama

With the development of so-called stitching technologies, panoramic images with high spatial resolution are possible by way of post-processing continually captured image sequences. These technologies allow showing multiple fields of view of the camera simultaneously. Due to the high computational effort of conventional methods, these pictures generally cannot be stitched together “online“ during surgery, but are available only at a later point in time. We developed the “Endo-stitch system“ to circumvent this limitation and to be able to capture and use panoramic pictures in real time during the endoscopic procedure.

The calculation of the panoramic images with “Endorama“ is based on a sequence of image operators, which are applied to any new image of the connected camera. After distortion has been corrected in the endoscopic image, the image features are used to spatially align the image sequence. This way the scene captured by the endoscope is gradually established as panoramic image at a data rate of 8 to 10 frames per second. The latest image is constantly projected onto the panoramic image, always providing the endoscopist with real-time perspective in the anatomical context.

Benefits

Panoramic pictures with mapped live images provide the anatomical context throughout endoscopic procedures. The anatomical context can be updated through a simple movement of the endoscope at any time, facilitating surgical orientation and visual overview of the operating area.

Using one or more panoramic images improves the documentation and quality assurance of endoscopic interventions. They provide a quick overview, allow simple archiving and easy transmission.

Note

“Endorama“ has not yet been certified as a medical product. Fraunhofer Institute IIS presents this functional prototype with the aim of engaging partners for further development as well as for production and marketing.

Within a technical evaluation the "Endorama" system has successfully been applied to patients in the clinic of urology in Mannheim in July 2016.

Literature

  • Bergen, T; Schneider, A; Münzenmayer, C; Knödgen, F; Feussner, H; Wittenberg, T; Winter, C: Echtzeit-Stitching endoskopischer Bilder für eine erweiterte Sicht in chirurgischen Eingriffen. In: Endoskopie Heute, 24(1):60-61, 2011.
  • Bergen, T; Ruthotto, S; Rupp, S; Winter, C; Münzenmayer, C: Endoscopic Egomotion Computation. In: Proc’s SPIE Medical Imaging 2010: Computer Aided Diagnosis, Feb. 13-18, 2010, Dawant, BM; Haynor, DR (Eds.), Vol. 7623.

Further Information

Brochure

Medical Image Processing

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, product sheet, flyer or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

Endorama

Durch die Entwicklung sogenannter Stitching-Technologien können mittels Nachbearbeitung kontinuierlich aufgenommener Bildsequenzen räumlich hoch aufgelöste Panoramabilder erstellt werden. Diese erlauben es, mehr als ein einzelnes Sichtfeld der Kamera gleichzeitig darzustellen.

mehr Info

Erweiterte Sicht für die Endoskopie

Hintergrund

Ein eingeschränktes Sichtfeld behindert vom Gastroenterologen bis zum Chirurgen jeden endoskopisch tätigen Mediziner. Um den Kontext eines Eingriffs zu visualisieren, muss daher das Endoskop mit der angeschlossenen Kamera regelmäßig bewegt und damit von der Stelle des Eingriffs entfernt werden. Allerdings wird die damit erfasste Szene nur temporär sichtbar und Zusammenhänge zwischen Situs und der anatomischen Peripherie stellt der Arzt gedanklich her.

Zur Dokumentation stehen nur Einzelbilder mit einem eingeschränkten Sichtfeld oder ganze Videosequenzen zur Verfügung, welche unhandlich in der Weitergabe und Archivierung sind.

Unsere Lösung: Endorama

Durch die Entwicklung sog. Stitching-Technologien können mittels Nachbearbeitung kontinuierlich aufgenommener Bildsequenzen räumlich hoch aufgelöste Panoramabilder erstellt werden. Diese erlauben es, mehr als ein einzelnes Sichtfeld der Kamera gleichzeitig darzustellen. Durch den hohen Rechenbedarf herkömmlicher Verfahren können diese Bilder meist nicht »online« während eines Eingriffs erstellt werden, sondern stehen erst zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zur Verfügung. Um diese Limitation zu umgehen und Panoramabilder in Echtzeit und damit während eines endoskopischen Eingriffs zu erstellen und auch zu nutzen wurde das »Endorama«-System entwickelt.

Die Berechnung der Panoramabilder mit »Endorama« basiert auf einer Sequenz von Bildoperatoren, die auf jedes aufgezeichnete Bild der angeschlossenen Kamera unmittelbar angewandt werden. Nach Entzerrung des endoskopischen Bildes werden Bildmerkmale benutzt, um die Bildfolge in einen gemeinsamen räumlichen Bezug zu stellen. Sukzessive wird so ein Panoramabild der endoskopisch erfassten Szene mit einer flüssigen Datenrate aufgebaut. Das jüngste Bild wird immer auf das Panoramabild projiziert, so dass der Anwender immer ein Livebild im anatomischen Kontext zur Verfügung hat.

Nutzen

Durch die Panoramabilder mit zentral eingeblendetem Livebild steht immer ein anatomischer Kontext während endoskopischer Eingriffe zur Verfügung. Dieser kann jederzeit durch einfache Endoskopbewegungen aktualisiert und erweitert werden. Dies erleichtert Orientierung und Überblick im Operationsfeld.

Außerdem wird die Dokumentation und Qualitätssicherung von Eingriffen durch ein oder mehrere Panoramabilder verbessert. Sie sind schnell zu überblicken, einfach zu archivieren und leicht weiterzugeben.

Hinweis

»Endorama« ist derzeit noch nicht als Medizinprodukt zugelassen. Das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS präsentiert »Endorama« mit dem Ziel, Partner für weitere Entwicklung, Produktion und Vermarktung zu gewinnen.

Literatur

  • Bergen, T; Schneider, A; Münzenmayer, C; Knödgen, F; Feussner, H; Wittenberg, T; Winter, C: Echtzeit-Stitching endoskopischer Bilder für eine erweiterte Sicht in chirurgischen Eingriffen. In: Endoskopie Heute, 24(1):60-61, 2011.
  • Bergen, T; Ruthotto, S; Rupp, S; Winter, C; Münzenmayer, C: Endoscopic Egomotion Computation. In: Proc’s SPIE Medical Imaging 2010: Computer Aided Diagnosis, Feb. 13-18, 2010, Dawant, BM; Haynor, DR (Eds.), Vol. 7623.

Weitere Informationen

 

Zertifikat

Zertifiziert nach ISO 13485

Broschüre

Medizinische Bildverarbeitung