POCT1-A/POCT1-A2

Interoperability Standards

Standards for Point-of-care Equipment

Advances in miniaturization, particularly in microfluidics, have enabled a new class of diagnostic equipment. “Point-of-care“ diagnostics allow a broad spectrum of diagnostic tests to be carried out at the patient´s bedside. Examinations that once required equipment located in centralized laboratories can now be conducted in a myriad of locations: at the hospital bedside, in primary- and secondary-care facilities or even at home. “Point-of-care“ diagnostic equipment provides faster examination results and can contribute to lower costs. In theory, diagnostic tests can be run regardless of the location.

However, a representative of the responsible institution must control and ensure that any governmental and institute-based quality and procedural guidelines and regulations are adhered to. It´s therefore imperative that “Point-of-care“ equipment providers incorporate mechanisms that make it possible to integrate their products into existing institute-wide systems for controlling quality and managing diagnostic information. The need for integration forms the starting point for standardization in this area.

For the descriptions that follow, “Point-of-care tests“ refers to all examinations carried out at the location where the patient is being cared for. This can involve a wide variety of locations ranging from the hospital bedside and physician´s office to any private or public environment in which the examinations are conducted automatically or carried out or initiated by the patient. “Point-of-care“ connectivity standards should have utility in all of these situations to the extent they are technically feasible.

Our Technology

Schnittstelle NCDS Standard
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Fig. 1

© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Fig. 2

As illustrated in figure 1, the NCCLS POCT1-A/POCT1-A2 standard defines two interfaces: a “device interface“ for transmitting information between devices and so-called “observation reviewers“ (“Point-of-care“ data managers) and an “observation reporting interface“ (EDI) that serves as a message exchange between an observation reviewer and an observation recipient, usually a laboratory information system (LIS) or a clinical data repository (CDR). Brief extensible markup language (XML) messages are exchanged via the device interface.

Figure 2 depicts part of a so-called “observation message“ describing a hemoglobin measurement. The system encodes numerical values, value ranges and measurement units and sends them to an observation reviewer as attributes of an “observation“. The EDI (depicted on the left in fig. 1) defines messages in the Health Level 7 (HL7) format in order to send the validated information to the clinical information system.

Manufacturer Benefits

POCT1-A/POCT1-A2 offers clear benefits to medical equipment manufacturers:

  • Accelerated specification and development
  • Streamlined development of distributed applications (i. e. for data management systems)
  • Lower-cost product maintenance and care (life cycle management)
  • Lower-cost development and installation (fewer equipment-specific components required)
  • Less complex installations: easier troubleshooting and technical support

User Benefits

  • Cost-effective equipment connectivity, such as to data management or lab information systems
  • Re-usable network infrastructure and hardware (i. e. access points) if supplier change required
  • Faster implementation and installation (less need for expensive specialists)
  • Simpler and faster problem resolution (easier component swapping)
  • Purchase decision no longer oriented toward connectivity requirements and instead can focus on product functionality and innovation

Our Services

Fraunhofer Institute IIS offers a wide range of customer-specific services that help manufacturers of medical equipment and information systems develop and enhance connectivity and interoperability mechanisms for their products. We have modules compatible with the CEN/IEEE/ISO “VITAL“ and NCCLS POCT1-A standards, which can be acquired on a license basis. Our services include engineering and system integration, application development for standard platforms and embedded systems and also services and tools for conformity and interoperability testing. All of these services are backed by our extensive experience in the field of software and chip development.

Further Information

Brochure

Medical Communication and Biosignal Processing

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, product sheet, flyer or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

POCT1-A/POCT1-A2

Interoperabilitäts-Standards

Standard für Point-of-Care-Geräte

Fortschritte der Miniaturisierung, insbesondere die Mikrofluidik, haben eine neue Klasse diagnostischer Geräte ermöglicht. »Point-of-Care«-Diagnostik ermöglicht ein breites Spektrum diagnostischer Tests direkt am Bett des Patienten. Untersuchungen, deren Durchführung in der Vergangenheit Geräten in zentralisierten Laboren vorbehalten war, stehen nun in vielfältigen Umgebungen zur Verfügung: am Krankenhausbett, während des Aufenthalts von Patienten in Primär- und Sekundärpflegeeinrichtungen und sogar in der häuslichen Umgebung. »Point-of-Care«-Diagnostikgeräte machen Untersuchungsergebnisse schneller verfügbar und können zur Kostenersparnis beitragen.

Grundsätzlich hängt der Ablauf diagnostischer Tests nicht vom Ort ihrer Durchführung ab: Ein von der durchführenden Institution Beauftragter muss die Einhaltung gesetzlicher und institutionsbezogener Qualitäts- und Durchführungsbestimmungen kontrollieren und sicherstellen. Darum ist es für die Anbieter von diagnostischen »Point-of-Care«-Geräten zwingend erforderlich, Mechanismen zur Einbindung ihrer Produkte in existierende institutionsweite Systeme zur Qualitätskontrolle und zum Management diagnostischer Informationen einzubinden. Diese Notwendigkeit zur Integration bildete den Ausgangspunkt der Standardisierung in diesem Bereich.

Für die folgenden Erläuterungen sollen unter »Point-of-Care«-Tests alle am Ort der Pflege des Patienten durchgeführten Untersuchungen verstanden werden. Dies kann im Einzelfall viele unterschiedliche Umgebungen umfassen einschließlich des Krankenhausbetts, der Arztpraxis und aller Varianten der in der häuslichen oder öffentlichen Umgebung des Patienten automatisiert oder von ihm selbst durchgeführten oder initiierten Untersuchungen. Standards für »Point-of-Care«-Konnektivität sollten in möglichst allen erwähnten Situationen anwendbar sein.

Unsere Technologie

Schnittstelle NCDS Standard
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Abb. 1

© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Abb. 2

Wie in Abbildung 1 gezeigt, definiert der NCCLS-Standard POCT1-A/POCT1-A2 zwei Schnittstellen: Ein »Device Interface« ist für die Informationsübertragung zwischen Geräten und sogenannten »Observation Reviewers« (»Point-of-Care«-Daten-Manager) zuständig, ein »Observation Reporting Interface« (EDI) dient dem Nachrichtenaustausch zwischen einem »Observation Reviewer« und einem »Observation Recipient«, typischerweise einem Labor-Informationssystem (LIS) oder einem »Clinical Data Repository« (CDR). Über das »Device Interface« werden kurze XML(»Extensible Markup Language«)-Nachrichten ausgetauscht.

Abbildung 2 zeigt einen Ausschnitt aus einer sogenannten »Observation Message«, die eine Hämoglobin-Messung beschreibt. Zahlenwerte, Wertebereiche und Einheiten werden als Attribute einer »Observation« kodiert, welche an einen »Observation Reviewer" versandt wird. Das »Observation Reporting Interface« (links auf Abb. 1) definiert Nachrichten im HL7(»Health Level 7«)-Format, um die validierte Information an des Klinik-Informationssystem zu senden.

Nutzen für den Hersteller

POCT1-A/POCT1-A2 bietet klare Vorteile für die Hersteller medizinischer Geräte:

  • schnellere Spezifikation und Entwicklung
  • leichtere Entwicklung verteilter Anwendungen (z. B. für »Data Management«-Systeme)
  • kostengünstigere Produktwartung und -pflege (»Life Cycle Management«)
  • kostengünstigere Entwicklung und Installation (weniger gerätespezifische Komponenten erforderlich)
  • geringere Komplexität von Installationen: leichtere Fehlersuche und technische Unterstützung

Nutzen für den Anwender

  • preiswerterer Anschluss von Geräten (z. B. an Daten-Manager oder LIS)
  • wiederverwendbare Verbindungsinfrastruktur und Hardware (z. B. Access Points) bei Lieferantenwechsel
  • schnellere Implementierung und Installation (weniger Einsatz teurer Spezialisten)
  • einfachere und schnellere Fehlerbeseitigung (einfacherer Austausch von Komponenten)
  • Kaufentscheidungen müssen sich nicht mehr am Anschlussaufwand orientieren, Produktfunktionalität und -innovation werden ausschlaggebend

Was wir bieten

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet eine breite Vielfalt kundenbezogener Leistungen für Hersteller medizinsicher Geräte und Informationssysteme, um Konnektivität und Interoperabilität herzustellen und weiterzuentwickeln.

Entsprechende standardbasierte Bausteine stehen beispielsweise sowohl für CEN/IEEE/ISO »VITAL« als auch NCCLS POCT1-A auf Lizenzbasis zur Verfügung. Wir bieten Dienstleitungen in den Bereichen Engineering und Systemintegration, Anwendungsentwicklung sowohl auf Standardplattformen als auch für »Eingebettete Systeme« sowie Leistungen und Werkzeuge für Konformitäts- und Interoperabilitäts-Untersuchungen. Dabei können wir auf unsere umfangreiche Erfahrung auf vielen Gebieten der Software- und Chipentwicklung zurückgreifen.

Weitere Informationen

Broschüre

Medizinische Kommunikation und Biosignalverarbeitung

Download

Hier finden Sie alle Dokumente wie Application Notes, Produktblätter, Broschüren und Flyer sowie Videos zum Download.