Vocal Fold Oscillations

In cooperation with Richard Wolf GmbH (Knittlingen) as well as the department for Phoniatry and Pedaudiology of the university hospital Erlangen, the Fraunhofer IIS developed a camera system which is now marketed by Richard Wolf GmbH.

more info

Capturing Movements in the Larynx and the Oscillations of the Vocal Folds with High Speed Cameras

Vocal Folds

Sitmmlippenanalyse Glottis
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Vocal Vold Oscillations, Glottis

During normal speaking, human vocal folds oscillate at 120 Hz (men), and 250 Hz (women). Since the visual perception system is not able to differentiate image sequences with more than 25 pictures per second, the need for a method able to record fast motions in the larynx and slow down them in play back for clinical examination of vocal fold oscillations exists.

For this purpose, a clinical usable highspeed camera system for the examination of vocal fold oscillations is being developed at Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, in cooperation with Richard Wolf GmbH (Knittlingen) and the department for phoniatrics and pedaudiology of the clinic of university Erlangen-Nuremberg. This system consists of a digital highspeed camera and a diagnosis software for knowledge based semiautomatic analysis of vocal fold oscillations.

Camera System for the Analysis of Vocal Fold Oscillations

Stimmlippenanalyse, Einzelbild
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Vocal Vold Oscillations, Single Image

The highspeed recording system consist of a camera head, a control system and an interface to a computer for combined control, archive and interpretation. The CMOS image sensor in the camera head has a spatial resolution of 256 x 256 pixel. The temporal resolution amount to 4000 images per second. The maximum duration of recording amount to two seconds in this system. A detachable 90° Magnifiying Laryngoscope from the company Wolf is adapted at the head of the camera for endoscopic views.

Interpretation

Stimmlippenanalyse, Kymo
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Vocal Fold Oscillations, Cymo

Beside pure inspecting of recorded and archived vocal fold oscillations in slow motion, two aspects are in the foreground for interpretation: The visualization and examination of the motion with digital kymograms, and the automatic analysis of motion and frequency of vocal fold oscillations. Both methods enable a reduction of recording data of about 90 percent. For digital kymograms image lines with identical parameters (x, y, a) are extracted in all single images of a sequence and combined to a strip image.

On a kymogram all motions of both vocal folds are catchable in one view. Especially divergences of symmetrie and periodicity of the oscillation are easy to recognize and usable for diagnosis of functional voice disorders. Beside to the visualization of vocal fold oscillations is the extraction of parameters of oscillations. With a semiautomatic method for motion analysis first of all motiongraphs (trajectories) are calculated. These trajectories are used to compute significant and objective parameters like the phoniatric base frequency, the phonation onset, the amplitude and the periodic time, for each vocal fold.

Further information

Brochure

Medical Image Processing

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, product sheet, flyer or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

Stimmlippen-Analyse

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Richard Wolf GmbH (Knittlingen) sowie der Abteilung für Phoniatrie und Pädaudiologie des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen hat das Fraunhofer IIS ein Kamerasystem entwickelt, das nun von der Firma Richard Wolf vertrieben wird.

mehr Info

Aufzeichnung von Bewegungsabläufen im Kehlkopf und Schwingungen der Stimmlippen mit Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras

Stimmlippen

Sitmmlippenanalyse Glottis
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Sitmmlippenanalyse, Glottis

Die Stimmlippen des Menschen schwingen im Normalfall des Sprechens mit einer Grundfrequenz von etwa 120 Hz bei Männern und 250 Hz bei Frauen. Da das visuelle Wahrnehmungssystem des Menschen nur Bildfolgen mit einer Bildrate von bis zu 25 Einzelbildern pro Sekunde differenzieren kann, bedarf es zur klinischen Untersuchung von Stimmlippenschwingungen einer Methode, mit der die schnellen Bewegungsabläufe im Kehlkopf entsprechend hochfrequent aufgenommen und verlangsamt wiedergegeben werden können.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Richard Wolf GmbH (Knittlingen) sowie der Abteilung für Phoniatrie und Pädaudiologie des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen hat das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ein Kamerasystem entwickelt, das nun von der Firma Richard Wolf vertrieben wird.

Kamerasystem

Stimmlippenanalyse, Einzelbild
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Stimmlippenanalyse, Einzelbild

Das Hochgeschwindigkeitsaufnahmesystem besteht aus einem Kamerakopf, einer Kamerasteuerung sowie einer Schnittstelle zu einem kombinierten Steuerungs-, Archivierungs- und Auswertungsrechner. Der CMOS-Bildsensor im Kamerakopf besitzt eine räumliche Auflösung von 256 x 256 Bildpunkten. Die maximale zeitliche Auflösung (Aufnahmebildrate) liegt bei 4000 Bildern pro Sekunde. Die maximale Aufnahmedauer beträgt in diesem System zwei Sekunden. An den Kamerakopf ist ein abnehmbares 90°-Lupenlaryngoskop der Firma Richard Wolf für die endoskopische Betrachtung des Kehlkopfes adaptiert.

Auswertung

Stimmlippenanalyse, Kymo
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Neben dem reinen Betrachten der archivierten Stimmlippenschwingungen im langsamen Wiedergabemodus stehen bei der Auswertung zwei Aspekte im Vordergrund: Die Visualisierung und Begutachtung der Bewegung mittels sogenannter digitaler Kymogramme, und die automatische Bewegungs- und Frequenzanalyse der Stimmlippenschwingungen. Beide Verfahren ermöglichen eine Datenreduktion der Aufnahme um circa 90 Prozent. Bei der digitalen Kymographie werden aus allen Einzelbildern einer Bildfolge Bildzeilen mit identischen Parametern (x, y, a) ausgetastet und um 90° rotiert zu einem Streifenbild zusammengesetzt.

Auf einem Kymogramm sind die Bewegungen der Stimmlippen mit einem einzigen Blick zu erfassen. Insbesondere Abweichungen von Symmetrie und Periodizität der Schwingung lassen sich leicht erkennen und für die Diagnose von funktionellen Stimmstörungen verwenden. Neben der Visualisierung steht die Parameterextraktion der Schwingungen. Mittels eines halbautomatischen Verfahrens zur Bewegungsanalyse lassen sich aus den aufgenommenen Bildsequenzen zunächst Bewegungskurven (Trajektorien) berechnen. Daraus werden wiederum aussagekräftige und objektive Parameter wie die phonatorische Grundfrequenz, die Einschwingzeit, Amplituden, Periodenlängen für beide Stimmlippen getrennt berechnet.

Weitere Informationen

Broschüre

Medizinische Bildverarbeitung

Download

Hier finden Sie alle Dokumente wie Application Notes, Produktblätter, Broschüren und Flyer sowie Videos zum Download.