Sensor Systems

Fraunhofer IIS conducts research in the field of Sensor Systems with a focus on complete solutions based on smart integrated sensor systems such as 3D magnetic field sensors for robust applications, image and color sensors, and wireless sensor networks for communication in harsh environments. These sensor systems serve as the basis for novel information, communication and measurement systems which in turn can be utilized in positioning and navigation systems and power optimization. We are also familiar with the techniques of energy harvesting.

Sensor Systems - At a Glance

Profile

Intelligent sensors are key elements of modern, autonomous systems.

Services

 

Applications

We develop customized solutions for various applications.

Technologies

Workshops

Download

Here you can find our brochures, flyers as well as publications and videos.

News

Press and Media

Here you can find latest press releases relating to »Sensor Systems«.

 

Satellite-based exploration of the Earth’s magnetosphere

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, the Space Research Institute (Institut für Weltraumforschung, IWF) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences (Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften, ÖAW) and the Full Service Foundry division of ams AG enable highly accurate measurements of the Earth’s magnetosphere from space. For the first time a new kind of integrated circuit is used.

 

Innovative 3D camera for large-area magnetic field measurements

"HallinSight" is the name of an innovative 3D magnetic field camera developed by researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS. Equipped with an array of 3D sensors, the camera can measure magnetic fields in all three dimensions at extremely high speeds. The camera's high resolution makes it suitable for quality assurance applications and laboratory testing.

 

Fraunhofer IIS and RoodMicrotec team up for complete ASIC solutions

RoodMicrotec and Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS have agreed to expand their existing cooperation. The aim is to offer their customers complete solutions throughout the whole supply chain, from ASIC design to volume production.

 

Line camera makes magnetic field lines visible in 3D and real time

A new high-resolution magnetic line camera measures magnetic fields in real time. Field lines in magnetic systems such as generators or motors, which are invisible to the human eye, can be made visible using this camera. It is especially suitable for industrial applications, for example in quality assurance during the manufacture of magnets.  

 

Integrated, low-cost color sensor for controlling LED lighting

Researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen, Germany have developed a color sensor with an integrated on-chip filter for controlling color and brightness fluctuations that can occur with LEDs. Nano-structured metal layers for spectral filtering, combined with an underlying layer of photodiodes, can be utilized in a feedback loop to control colors, thus enabling defined color perception. The low-cost CMOS (complementary metal oxide semiconductor) process used to manufacture the color and multispectral sensors promises broad utility.

Exhibitions and Events

 

embedded world 2017

Discover our latest developments at the international trade fair for embedded systems, from March 14 to 16, 2017 in Nürnberg. In hall 4A, booth 4-460, we will present current solutions in the fields of integrated magnetic field and optical sensors, ASIC and IP design as well as high speed data transmission.

 

Image Sensors 2017

We will present recent developments in imaging technology for various applications at Image Sensors trade fair 2017, March 14 to 16, in London.

 

Sensor + Test 2017

Join us at SENSOR+TEST, the leading trade fair for measuring, testing and monitoring tasks, from May 30 to June 1, 2017 in Nuremberg.

Contact

Klaus-Dieter Taschka

Contact Press / Media

Klaus-Dieter Taschka

Contact Sensor Systems

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen, Germany

Phone +49 9131 776-4475

Fax +49 9131 776-4499

Sensorsysteme

Im Forschungsfeld Sensorsysteme entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS komplette Lösungen im Bereich der intelligenten integrierten Sensorsysteme wie z. B. 3D-Magnetfeldsensorik für robuste Anwendungen, Bild- und Farbsensorik sowie deren Vernetzung auch in schwierigen Funkumgebungen. Diese Sensorsysteme bilden die Basis für neuartige Informations-, Kommunikations- und Messsysteme sowie darauf aufbauende Lokalisierungssysteme und leistungsoptimierte Systeme. Beim Energy Harvesting nutzen wir Energie aus der Umwelt wie Licht, Bewegung oder Wärme, um damit kleine elektronische Geräte zu versorgen.

Sensorsysteme – Auf einen Blick

Profil

Intelligente Sensoren sind Schlüsselelemente moderner, autonom arbeitender Systeme.

Leistungen

 

Anwendungen

Für zahlreiche Einsatzmöglichkeiten entwickeln wir maßgeschneiderte Lösungen.

Technologien

Seminare

Download

Hier finden Sie die Broschüren und Flyer sowie Publikationen und Videos aus dem Forschungsfeld »Sensorsysteme«.

Aktuelles

Presse und Medien

Alle Presseinformationen zu »Sensorsystemen« finden Sie im Pressebereich des Fraunhofer IIS.

 

Gemeinsame Forschung von Energy Harvesting bis Hochfrequenztechnik

Würth Elektronik eiSos und das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS haben einen Kooperationsvertrag über die Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Wireless Power, Magnetfeldmessung, Energy Harvesting und HF-Kommunikationstechnik unterzeichnet.

 

Satellitengestützte Erforschung der Erdmagnetosphäre

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, das Institut für Weltraumforschung (IWF) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW) und der Geschäftsbereich Full Service Foundry der ams AG ermöglichen die präzise dreidimensionale Vermessung des Erdmagnetfelds, bei der erstmals ein neuartiger IC zum Einsatz kommt.
 

Neuartige 3D-Kamera zur großflächigen Vermessung von Magnetfeldern

»HallinSight« ist der Name einer neuartigen 3D-Magnetfeldkamera, die von Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS entwickelt worden ist. Die Kamera ist mit 3D-Sensoren flächig bestückt und kann damit Magnetfelder dreidimensional mit hoher Geschwindigkeit messen. Mit ihrer hohen Messauflösung ist die Kamera für die Qualitätssicherung ebenso wie für Laboruntersuchungen geeignet.
 

Optisches Messsystem mit eingebautem Schutz der Privatsphäre

Ein intelligentes Bildverarbeitungssystem für die Automatisierung detektiert und unterscheidet selbständig mithilfe von optischen Sensoren Menschen von Gegenständen. Kern der Lösung ist ein Sensorsystem mit integrierter Informationsverarbeitung. Da keine realen Bilddaten ausgegeben werden, ist die Privatsphäre lokalisierter Personen optimal geschützt.
 

Mit weniger Aufwand zu flexiblerer Bauwerks- überwachung

Bei einer kontinuierlichen Bauwerksüberwachung werden automatisch Daten erfasst. Ihre Übertragung wird allerdings bei schwierigen Umgebungsbedingungen oft aufwändig und die Inbetriebnahme komplex. Deshalb hat das Fraunhofer IIS/EAS eine leistungsstarke Lösung für die Vernetzung der Messmodule entwickelt. Sie vereint die Vorteile einer Kommunikation per Funk mit der per Kabel und ermöglicht eine Selbstkonfiguration.

 

Zeilenkamera macht Magnetfeldlinien in Echtzeit und 3D sichtbar

Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler haben eine hochauflösende magnetische Zeilenkamera entwickelt, um Magnetfelder vektoriell in Echtzeit zu messen. Damit lassen sich die für das menschliche Auge unsichtbaren Feldlinien von magnetischen Systemen – etwa bei Generatoren oder Motoren – sichtbar machen. Die Kamera eignet sich vor allem für industrielle Anwendungen, zum Beispiel zur Qualitätssicherung in der Magnetfertigung.  

 

Integrierter und preiswerter Farbsensor zur Regelung von LED-Leuchten

Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IIS in Erlangen haben einen Farbsensor mit integrierten on-chip-Filtern entwickelt, der Schwankungen in Farbe und Helligkeit von LEDs steuert. Metallische Nanostrukturen zur spektralen Filterung und darunter liegende Photodioden können für eine Farbregelung genutzt werden, die eine definierte Farbempfindung ermöglichen. Durch die kostengünstige Herstellung des Farb- und Multispektralsensors im CMOS (Complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor)-Halbleiter-Prozess verspricht diese Lösung zudem einen breiten Einsatz.

Messen und Veranstaltungen

 

embedded world 2017

Auf der internationalen Fachmesse in Nürnberg präsentieren wir vom 14. bis 16. März 2017 aktuelle Entwicklungen im Bereich integrierte Sensorik, ASIC- und IP-Design ebenso wie Lösungen zur High-Speed-Datenübertragung. Besuchen Sie uns in Halle 4, Stand 4-460.  

 

Image Sensors 2017

Aktuelle Entwicklungen im Bereich Bildsensorik präsentieren wir auf der Image Sensors vom 14. bis 16. März 2017 in London.

 

Sensor + Test 2017

Besuchen Sie uns auf der SENSOR+TEST, der führenden Messe für Sensorik, Mess- und Prüftechnik, vom 30. Mai bis 1. Juni 2017 in Nürnberg.

Kontakt

Klaus-Dieter Taschka

Contact Press / Media

Klaus-Dieter Taschka

Kontakt Sensorsysteme

Fraunhofer IIS
Am Wolfsmantel 33
91058 Erlangen

Telefon +49 9131 776-4475

Fax +49 9131 776-4499