Research

Current research Projects in the Field of Sensor Systems

Acti3D

There are many technical approaches that support people in their domestic environment. An important trend is the automatic adjustment of domestic technology to certain situations or to specific behaviors of the users. The research results in the "Acti3D" project should above all lead to a control of lighting, but also to other technical domestic systems. It essentially provides quick and efficient three-dimensional detection and analysis of movements of persons using a vision system-on-chip.
 

EnLight

Light-emitting diodes consume significantly less energy than incandescent bulbs. If their energy efficiency can be improved still further, they will become the future of lighting systems. The goal of the EnLight partners is to reduce the power consumption of modern LEDs by 40 percent. Unconventional innovations should be employed to tap their full potential.
 

fast realtime

Distributed sensor actuator systems today often do not yet meet the requirements of real-time communication. Their long query times make them currently unattractive for certain fields of application. In order to change this in the future, the research partners in the "fast realtime" project are researching options to optimize this latency.

RAdCoM

To continuously monitor the condition of bridges and other structures, experts must be able to evaluate all manner of different sensor data. Installing these sensors is often very time-consuming because in many cases they need to be connected by wires running over long distances. The RAdCoM project was set up to develop a new system based on wireless radio communication that is specifically adapted to the challenging environments of railway transportation.
 

OCTCHIP

The Fraunhofer IIS is partner of a European research project, in which engineers and scientists are developing a low-cost and miniaturized chip-technology for improved medical diagnosis, e.g. in ophthalmology. The photonic-integrated technology developed in this project may become an enabler to bring Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) to broader use in medical care. The Fraunhofer IIS leads the CMOS based readout electronic integration.

 

MICROMOLE

The detection of chemical substances at trace amounts can be a difficult task that requires typically laboratory equipment and skilled technical support. In this European research project, we develop with partners a miniature automated laboratory system for autonomous operation in harsh conditions. This system is projected to detect specific chemical substances at concentration levels in the range of the micro-mole per liter in the waste water.

The Fraunhofer IIS focuses on the design of a readout ASIC for chemical sensors and the development of energy harvesters for the sewage environment. The implementation of bias and readout electronics for chemical sensors with a low-power integrated-circuit technology is the key to the success of the project.

 

Theranostic Implants

The Fraunhofer lead project “Theranostic Implants” focuses on the development of “intelligent” implants with diagnostic and therapeutic functions. In the subproject on the neuromuscular demonstrator, a myoelectric prosthetic hand controller, Fraunhofer IIS is developing the electronics for controlling the implant.

Forschung

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte im Forschungsfeld Sensorsysteme:

Acti3D

Um Menschen in ihrem häuslichen Umfeld zu unterstützen, gibt es viele technische Ansätze. Ein wichtiger Trend ist dabei die selbständige Anpassung der Haustechnik an bestimmte Situationen oder spezifisches Verhalten der Nutzer. Die Forschungsergebnisse im Projekt "Acti3D" sollen dabei vor allem zu einer Steuerung der Beleuchtung, aber auch anderer haustechnischer Systeme führen. Grundlage ist die schnelle und effiziente dreidimensionale Erkennung und Analyse von Bewegungen von Personen mithilfe eines Vision-Systems-on-Chip.
 

EnLight

Leuchtdioden sind deutlich stromsparender als Glühlampen. Wird ihre Energieeffizienz noch weiter gesteigert, sind sie die Zukunft der Beleuchtungssysteme. Das Ziel der EnLight-Partner ist es, den Stromverbrauch heutiger LEDs um 40 Prozent zu verringern. Dafür soll ihr volles Potential durch unkonventionelle Innovationen voll ausgeschöpft werden.
 

Fast realtime

Verteilte Sensor-Aktor-Systeme erfüllen heute oftmals noch nicht die Anforderungen an eine Echtzeit-Kommunikation. Ihre langen Abfragezeiten machen sie für bestimmte Anwendungsfelder derzeit noch unattraktiv. Um das zukünftig zu ändern, untersuchen die Forschungspartner im Projekt »fast realtime« Möglichkeiten, um diese Latenz zu optimieren.

RAdCoM

Den Zustand von Brücken und anderen Bauwerken kontinuierlich zu überwachen, erfordert die Auswertung verschiedenster Sensordaten. Die Installation dieser Sensoren ist dabei häufig sehr zeitaufwändig, da sie oft über lange Strecken verkabelt werden müssen. Im Projekt RAdCoM wird deshalb ein neues System auf der Basis von drahtloser Funkkommunikation entwickelt, das speziell auf die schwierigen Umgebungsbedingungen des Schienenverkehrs angepasst ist.
 

OCTCHIP

In diesem europäischen Forschungsprojekt wird eine preiswerte und miniaturisierte Chip-Technologie für die verbesserte medizinische Diagnostik, z.B. in der Augenheilkunde, entwickelt. Diese neue photonisch-elektrisch-integrierte Technologie könnte einen breiteren Einsatz der optischen Kohärenztomografie (Optical Coherence Tomography: OCT) in der medizinischen Versorgung ermöglichen. Das Fraunhofer IIS ist für die Entwicklung der Auswerteelektronik auf CMOS-Technologie verantwortlich.

 

MICROMOLE

Der Nachweis von Spuren chemischer Substanzen ist eine komplexe Anforderung, die eine spezifische Laboreinrichtung und kompetente technologische Unterstützung erfordert. In diesem europäischen Forschungsprojekt entwickeln wir mit Forschungspartnern ein miniaturisiertes Laborautomationssystem für den autonomen Einsatz in rauen Umgebungen. Mit diesem System können geringste Mengen bestimmter chemischer Substanzen im Bereich von einigen Mikro-Mol pro Liter im Abwasser erkannt werden.

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat hierfür einen Auswerte-ASIC für chemische Sensoren sowie Energy Harvester im Abwasserbereich entwickelt. Die Implementierung der Ansteuer- und Auswerteelektronik für chemische Sensoren mit einem integrierten Low-Power IC trägt wesentlich zum Erfolg dieses Projekts bei.

 

Theranostische Implantate

Im Fraunhofer Leitprojekt „Theranostische Implantate“ werden „intelligente“ Implantate mit diagnostischen und therapeutischen Funktionen entwickelt. Im Teilprojekt des neuro-muskulären Demonstrators, einer myo-elektrischen Handprothesensteuerung, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS die Elektronik zur Steuerung des Implantats.