Projects

Acti3D

The automatic adjustment of home lighting to the needs of residents or the existing environmental conditions contributes significantly to an increase in comfort. Another effect is a significant savings in energy, since unneeded devices are automatically switched off. In addition, safety is increased, especially for people with cognitive impairments, when they have the lighting they need for any situation. An intelligent sensor system independent of the prevailing modes of lighting plays a prominent role in achieving these goals. For example, this system must detect and correctly assign the location, direction and type of existing motion so that an adaptive controller can function.

The solution

As part of Acti3D, Fraunhofer IIS/EAS develops algorithms for an optical sensor system that are particularly robust and can reliably extract and evaluate specific image features. Thus, a detection, localization and analysis of movements is possible without the output of real image data. The technical basis for this is a freely programmable system-on-chip developed by the institute. The algorithms implemented on this system record so-called important points and derived image features, independent of the ambient lighting. In a subsequent analysis, movements will be classified and assigned to the foreground or background. This way, people can be distinguished from technical devices.

This approach will be expanded by a stereo multi-sensor arrangement in order to achieve a low power 3D motion detection. With this, motions can be localized even more precisely in rooms and, for example, also be distinguished from each other if they obscure each other. Efficient procedures for data analysis must be developed in order to allow such a 3D reconstruction of the recorded data.

BMBF

The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research as part of the program "Twenty20 - Partnership for Innovation."

Projekte

Acti3D

Die automatische Anpassung der Heimbeleuchtung auf die Bedürfnisse der Bewohner bzw. die vorhandenen Umgebungsbedingungen trägt wesentlich zu einer Komfortsteigerung bei. Ein weiterer Effekt ist eine deutliche Energieeinsparung, da nicht benötigte Geräte selbständig abgeschaltet werden. Zudem erhöht sich die Sicherheit vor allem für Menschen mit kognitiven Beeinträchtigungen, wenn sie für jede Situation die für sie notwendige Ausleuchtung vorfinden. Beim Erreichen dieser Ziele spielt eine intelligente und von den vorherrschenden Lichtverhältnissen unabhängige Sensorik eine herausragende Rolle. Sie muss zum Beispiel Ort, Richtung und Art einer vorhandenen Bewegung erkennen und korrekt zuordnen, damit eine adaptive Steuerung funktionieren kann.

Die Lösung

Das Fraunhofer IIS/EAS entwickelt im Rahmen von Acti3D Algorithmen für ein optisches Sensorsystem, die besonders robust sind und spezielle Bildmerkmale zuverlässig extrahieren sowie auswerten können. So wird eine Erkennung, Lokalisierung und Analyse von Bewegungen möglich, ohne dass dabei reale Bilddaten ausgegeben werden. Technische Basis hierfür ist ein am Institutsteil entwickeltes, frei programmierbares System-on-Chip. Die darauf implementierten Algorithmen erfassen unabhängig von der Umgebungsbeleuchtung sogenannte wichtige Punkte und davon abgeleitete Bildmerkmale. In einer nachfolgenden Analyse werden Bewegungen klassifiziert und dem Vorder- oder Hintergrund zugeordnet. So können Menschen von technischen Geräten unterschieden werden.
Dieser Ansatz wird durch eine Stereo-Multisensor-Anordnung erweitert, um eine Low-Power 3D-Bewegungserkennung zu erreichen. Mit ihr können Bewegungen noch genauer in Räumen lokalisiert und beispielsweise auch dann voneinander unterschieden werden, wenn sie sich verdecken. Um eine solche 3D-Rekonstruktion der erfassten Daten zu ermöglichen, müssen effiziente Verfahren zur Datenanalyse entwickelt werden.

BMBF

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen des Programmes »Zwanzig20 – Partnerschaft für Innovation« durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.