Projects

EnLight

Project Goals

The purpose of EnLight is to develop unconventional, innovative lighting solutions that optimally combine optical, thermal and electrical aspects in LEDs. Intelligent lighting systems should expand the degree of design freedom while also being flexible and user-oriented.

Approach

EnLight combines new technologies with entrepreneurial potential and the expectations of the users. The project is taking two approaches:

1. Technology:

The goal is to significantly reduce the energy consumption of LED lighting systems for various applications. For this purpose, the partners intend to optimize modules such that they ideally integrate LEDs, heat management systems, operating elements, electronics or other components. In addition, they will investigate cost-effective solutions for new types of lighting units and work on the automation of lighting systems. To accomplish this, the partners will develop sensors that reliably detect the presence of people in rooms, new algorithms, a robust electronic architecture and efficient interfaces.

2. Application concepts:

To ensure the success of the project, user- and manufacturer-friendliness are also being considered. The EnLight application concepts are tailored for specific user groups and commercial sectors. For example, they can be used in conference rooms, hotel rooms or lounges in order to increase comfort or in office rooms in order to make intelligent and efficient use of the lighting energy.

The German partners' work is integrated into the European ENIAC Joint Undertaking program and supported within the national research program „ITC 2020 - Research for Innovation“ of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

Projekte

EnLight

Projektziele

EnLight soll unkonventionelle, innovative Beleuchtungen entwickeln, die optische, thermische und elektrische Aspekte optimal in LEDs vereinen. Intelligente Beleuchtungssysteme sollen die Gestaltungsfreiheit vergrößern und gleichzeitig flexibel und nutzerorientiert aufgebaut sein.

Lösungsansatz

EnLight kombiniert neue Technologien mit unternehmerischem Potential und den Erwartungen der Nutzer. Das Projekt hat zwei Ansätze:

1. Technologie:

Das Ziel ist es, den Energieverbrauch von LED-Beleuchtungssystemen für verschiedene Anwendungen signifikant zu reduzieren. Dafür wollen die Partner Module optimieren, die dann unter anderem LEDs bestmöglich integrieren, Wärmemanagementsysteme beinhalten oder Bedienelemente und Elektronik integrieren. Außerdem untersuchen sie kosteneffektive Lösungen für neuartige Beleuchtungseinheiten und automatisieren Beleuchtungssysteme. Dafür entwickeln die Partner Sensoren, die sicher die Anwesenheit von Personen in Räumen erkennen, neue Algorithmen, eine robuste Elektronikarchitektur und effiziente Schnittstellen.

2. Anwendungskonzepte:

Damit das Projekt erfolgreich ist, werden auch die Nutzer- und Herstellerfreundlichkeit betrachtet. Die EnLight-Anwendungskonzepte sind auf bestimmte Nutzergruppen und Wirtschaftsbereiche zugeschnitten. So können sie zum Beispiel in Konferenzräumen, einem Hotelzimmer oder einer Lounge eingesetzt werden, um den Komfort zu erhöhen oder in Büroräumen, um die Energie für Beleuchtung effizient und intelligent einzusetzen.

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Das Projekt wird im Rahmen einer Bekanntmachung des gemeinsamen Unternehmens ENIAC (ENIAC Annual Work Programm 2010) und auf Grundlage des nationalen Forschungsprogramms „IKT 2020 - Forschung für Innovation“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.