Projects

RAdCoM

In order to avoid safety risks and identify possible sources of danger in good time, railway bridges are equipped with condition monitoring systems. The sensors used in such systems must often be attached at great distances from each other. In order to minimize the tremendous expense of installing the necessary cables, the sensors can communicate wirelessly. However, this technology has not been used to date because  radio communication is often heavily disrupted in the area around the railway, such as by passing locomotives.

Nevertheless, to take advantage of the benefits of wireless communications and avoid the associated difficulties, the RAdCoM project is developing a diagnosis system that utilizes hybrid communication methods. On one hand, this should minimize the costs for cabling. On the other, it should enable a modularly designed monitoring system that can be more easily adapted to structural conditions than previous systems.

Solution approach

The three project partners are working on a functional prototype of a universally applicable system that uses various sensors for monitoring structures, either continuously or at regular intervals. These sensors should transmit their data partially via wire but primarily wirelessly. The diagnosis system must operate very robustly and reliably. For this purpose, it is based on a networking strategy that allows the system to adapt itself to existing conditions, largely independently.

Fraunhofer IIS/EAS is working primarily on the design and implementation of a suitable networking strategy. The institute is also implementing the hybrid data transmission and researching algorithms for self-diagnosis. This involves developing evaluation software that is either distributed among the sensor nodes or situated within a central unit.

RAdCoM is being supported as part of the “KMU innovativ” (Innovative SME) program of the Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

Projekte

RAdCoM

Um Sicherheitsrisiken zu vermeiden und mögliche Gefahrenstellen rechtzeitig zu entdecken, werden Bahnbrücken mit Condition-Monitoring-Systemen ausgestattet. Dabei müssen die eingesetzten Sensoren oft weit entfernt voneinander angebracht werden. Um den enormen Aufwand durch die notwendige Verkabelung zu minimieren, könnten die Sensoren drahtlos kommunizieren. Allerdings wird diese Technologie bislang nicht eingesetzt, da in vielen Fällen die Funkkommunikation im Bahnumfeld zu stark gestört wird, zum Beispiel durch vorbeifahrende Triebfahrzeuge.

Um dennoch die Vorteile der drahtlosen Verbindungen zu nutzen und die vorhandenen Schwierigkeiten zu umgehen, soll im Rahmen von RAdCoM ein Diagnosesystem entwickelt werden, das hybride Kommunikationswege nutzt. So sollen zum einen die Kosten für eine Verkabelung minimiert werden. Andererseits soll damit ein modularer Aufbau des Überwachungssystems möglich sein, das sich besser an bauliche Gegebenheiten anpassen lässt als bisher

Lösungsansatz

Die drei Projektpartner arbeiten an einem Funktionsmuster für ein universell einsetzbares System, in dem verschiedene Sensoren zur permanenten oder turnusmäßigen Bauwerksüberwachung eingesetzt werden. Diese Sensoren sollen ihre Daten zum Teil drahtgebunden, aber vor allem drahtlos übertragen. Das Diagnosesystem muss sehr robust und zuverlässig arbeiten. Dafür basiert es auf einer Vernetzungsstrategie, mit der sich das System weitgehend selbst an vorhandene Bedingungen anpassen kann.

Das Fraunhofer IIS/EAS arbeitet hauptsächlich an dem Entwurf und der Implementierung einer geeigneten Vernetzungsstrategie. Außerdem wird das Institut die hybride Datenübertragung umsetzen und Algorithmen zur Selbstdiagnose erforschen. Auch die Entwicklung einer Bewertungssoftware wird hier vorangetrieben, die entweder auf die Sensorknoten verteilt wird oder in einer Zentraleinheit angesiedelt ist.

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

RAdCoM wird im Rahmen des Programms „KMU innovativ“ durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.