Technologies

Integrated Sensor Systems

 

Integrated Sensor Systems

Fraunhofer IIS possesses extensive sensor systems expertise in the areas of magnetic field, image, current, optical, signal and positioning sensors.

 

Sensor Systems in Automation

Sensors are used in industrial automation in conjunction with condition monitoring systems to obtain information allowing the early detection of wear in components such as motors and bearings. Fraunhofer IIS offers a predictive approach to condition monitoring. Another useful technology for automation solutions is wireless communication, which allows sensors to be integrated in a data network or additional sensors and actuators to be connected to an existing system.

 

Energy Harvesting

If batteries are not enough, sonsors can receive the neccessary energy from our surrounding, e.g. from light, temperature difference or vibrations. The Fraunhofer IIS offers a wide range of Energy Harvesting technologies for energy autarcic, maintenance-free and wireless systems.

 

Object and Status Classification

How can existing localization solutions be improved? Are there ways to improve vehicle traffic safety? Where is my machinery at the moment? To what extent can I document the work flow with respect to quality assurance? Over the course of examining these issues, Fraunhofer IIS developed algorithms that provide answers to these and other questions by classifying various statuses.

 

Wireless Sensor Networks

How well sensor systems perform largely depends on failsafe communication between sensors. Fraunhofer IIS has many years of experience in developing communication solutions that are smart, energy-saving, and also robust.

Technologien

 

Integrierte Sensorsysteme

Das Fraunhofer IIS besitzt ein fundiertes System Know-how zum Thema Sensorik in den Bereichen Magnetfeld, Bild, Strom, Optik, Signal und Position.

 

Sensorsysteme in der Automatisierung

In der Industrieautomatisierung werden Sensoren eingesetzt, um mithilfe von Condition Monitoring Systemen frühzeitig Informationen zum Verschleiß von Bauteilen wie Motoren oder Lagern zu erhalten. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet hierfür einen prädiktiven Ansatz an. Eine andere Technologie zur Unterstützung der Automatisierung sind Funklösungen, mit denen datentechnische Anbindungen realisiert oder bestehende Anlagen mit zusätzlicher Sensorik und Aktorik nachgerüstet werden können.

 

Energy Harvesting

Wenn Batterien nicht ausreichen oder nicht gewünscht sind, können Sensoren oder Sensorsysteme die benötigte Energie auch aus der Umwelt beziehen, wie z. B. aus Licht, Temperaturunterschieden oder Vibrationen. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet eine Vielzahl an Energy Harvesting Technologien für energie-autarke, wartungsfreie und kabellose Systeme.

 

Zustands- und Bewegungsklassifikation

Wie ist es möglich, bestehende Lokalisierungslösungen zu verbessern? Wie kann man die Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr verbessern? Wo befindet sich mein Werkzeug? Was am Arbeitsablauf kann ich zur Qualitätssicherung dokumentieren? Mit all diesen Fragen hat sich das Fraunhofer IIS auseinandergesetzt und Algorithmen entwickelt, die durch die Klassifikation verschiedener Zustände solche und weitere Fragen beantworten können. Das Ziel hierbei ist eine zuverlässigere und genauere Lokalisierung.

 

Drahtlose Sensornetze

Die Leistung von Sensorsystemen ist maßgeblich abhängig von einer ausfallsicheren Kommunikation der Sensoren. Das Fraunhofer IIS beschäftigt sich seit Jahren mit der Entwicklung energiesparender, intelligenter und gleichzeitig robuster Kommunikationslösungen.