Research Area Safety and Security Technologies

Profile

People, grounds and freight need to be protected. Minimizing the risk of injury and protecting logistics facilities against unauthorized access is our goal. The associated security issues are as different and individual as the fields of application from which they arise. We understand that. And that's why we provide individualized consulting and advice if desired. To offer you complete security concepts, the following departments are continuously working on new, innovative solutions.

 

Divisions and Departments

 

Development Center for X-ray Technology

The Development Center for X-ray Technology (EZRT), a joint department of both Fraunhofer IZFP, Saarbrücken, and Fraunhofer IIS, Erlangen, has four focal points of research: X-ray sensorics, computet tomography, image processing and applications.

 

Locating and Communication System

For more than 20 years HF and SatCom Systems, positioning and wireless communication have been core areas of expertise at Fraunhofer IIS.  

Power Efficient Systems

Department is your competent partner for innovative technologies

 

Communication Networks

Within their research and development efforts the Department implements innovative wireless and heterogenic information and communication systems as well as positioning systems.

 

Wireless Distributed Systems

The researchers are active in a number of fields including mobile satellite communications (Satcom On the Move), wireless terrestrial communications (mobile LTE cells, distributed sensor networks) and the deployment of methods such as "compressed sensing" for accelerated signal processing methods used in image recognition or direction estimation applications.

Radio Communication Systems

Our activities focus on the development of terrestrial wireless communication systems for use in telemetry, voice transmission and tactical communications.

 

RF and SatCom Systems

The Department of RF and SatCom Systems carries out research and development work in the areas of antenna technology, RF circuitry, system design and satellite communications.

Ihre Entwicklungspartner

Profil

Unser Ziel ist es, Personen, Gelände und Fracht zu schützen, Verletzungsrisiken zu mindern und Logistik vor fremden Zugriffen zu sichern. Dabei sind die Sicherheitsfragen so unterschiedlich und individuell wie ihre Anwendungsbereiche. Das wissen wir und beraten Sie deswegen auf Wunsch persönlich. Um Ihnen ganzheitliche Sicherheitskonzepte anbieten zu können, forschen folgende Abteilungen an immer neuen, innovativen Lösungen.

 

Beteiligte Abteilungen und Bereiche

 

Entwicklungszentrum Röntgentechnik

Im Entwicklungszentrum für Röntgentechnik (EZRT) werden Schwerpunkte auf Systementwicklung, Röntgensensorik und Simulation, Computertomographie, Bildverarbeitung, CT und Messtechnik, sowie Applikationen und Ausbildung gesetzt.

 

Funkortung und -kommunikation

Auf dem Schwerpunktgebiet der Funkortung beschäftigen wir uns mit Entwurf und Entwicklung neuartiger Ortungs- und Lokalisierungssysteme. Anwendungen können hier von sehr unterschiedlicher Natur sein.

Leistungsoptimierte Systeme

Kunden und Partner aus Industrie und öffentlichen Einrichtungen profitieren vom Wissen und der Erfahrung aus langjähriger Entwicklungsarbeit im Bereich Lokalisierung. Vor allem für kritische Infrastrukturen, aber auch in Bezug auf autonomes Fahren oder BOS-Dienste ist eine täuschungs- und störsichere Lokalisierung essentiell. Die Abteilung Leistungsoptimierte Systeme entwickelt Hardware zum Aufbau robuster GNSS-Empfänger.
 

Kommunikationsnetze

Die Abteilung Kommunikationsnetze realisiert seit 2006 im Rahmen ihrer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten innovative drahtlose und heterogene Informations- und Kommunikationssysteme sowie Lokalisierungssysteme.

 

Drahtlose Verteilsysteme

Im Jahr 2008 gründete das Fraunhofer IIS die Projektgruppe »Drahtlose Verteilsysteme / Digitaler Rundfunk DVT« in Ilmenau, welche eng mit dem gleichnamigen Lehrstuhl an der Technischen Universität Ilmenau kooperiert.

Funkkommunikations-systeme

Der Schwerpunkt unserer Aktivitäten liegt in der Entwicklung terrestrischer Funkkommunikationssysteme für die Anwendungsbereiche Telemetrie, Sprachübertragung und taktischer Funk.

 

HF und SatKom Systeme

Die Abteilung HF und SatKom Systeme forscht und arbeitet in den Bereichen Antennen, HF-Schaltungen Systemdesign und Satellitenkommunikation.