Emotion-sensitive robots for therapy

Robots as physical interaction partners and development tools

Some things that most people do entirely at the unconscious level pose enormous challenges for autistic children: correctly recognizing and interpreting the emotions of the person they are interacting with and responding accordingly.

The joint ERIK project therefore aims to develop a robotic platform that addresses new interaction strategies in treatments for children with impaired socioemotional functioning, such as children with autism. 

Our approach involves:

  • Integrating sensor-based emotion recognition based on facial expressions, speech and physiological signals
  • Using multiple therapeutic interaction approaches to create innovative child-robot interaction
  • Boosting autistic children’s ability to communicate through playful training and positive encouragement (e.g. for successful learning outcomes)

Real-time-capable sensors recognize pulse, facial expressions and speech for increased social interaction in daily life

Direct, real-time feedback from the robot helps children learn to correctly gauge others’ feelings, as well as become aware of their own emotions. The foundation for this is provided by both robust, video-based facial analysis methods and multimodal analysis and evaluation of biosignals by means of optical pulse detection.

Outlook

The planned open framework and interface design of the platform mean that other use cases are conceivable, too, such as group therapies or the treatment of dementia patients.

Opportunities and risks of human-machine interaction

The ERIK project complies with both the European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the ethical, legal and social implications (ELSI) relating to the target group (children) and incorporates these guidelines into its overall work process.

Overview of project partners and BMBF funding

The project is being funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) (funding code 16SV7945K) for a period of three years (08/2018-08/2021). In addition to the Smart Sensing and Electronics and Supply Chain Services divisions of Fraunhofer IIS, Humboldt University of Berlin, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, audEERING GmbH and ASTRUM IT GmbH are participating in the project.

Emotionssensitive Robotik für die Therapie

Der Roboter als physischer Interaktionspartner und Förderinstrument

Was bei den meisten Menschen ganz unbewusst geschieht, stellt autistische Kinder vor eine große Herausforderung: Die Emotionen des Gegenübers richtig erkennen, interpretieren zu können und darauf entsprechend zu reagieren.

Ziel des Verbundprojektes ERIK ist daher die Entwicklung einer Roboterplattform, die neue Interaktionsstrategien in der Therapie von Kindern mit eingeschränkten sozio-emotionalen Fähigkeiten, wie bspw. Kindern mit Autismus, aufgreift.

Unser Lösungsansatz:

  • Integration sensorbasierter Emotionserkennung auf Basis von Mimik, Sprache und physiologischer Signale
  • Schaffung einer neuartigen Kind-Roboter-Interaktion mittels mehrerer therapeutischer Interaktionsansätze
  • Steigerung der Kommunikationsfähigkeit autistischer Kinder durch spielerisches Training und positives Bestärken (z.B bei Lernerfolgen)

Echtzeitfähige Sensorik zur Puls-, Mimik- und Spracherkennung für mehr soziale Interaktion im Alltag

Durch das direkte Echtzeitfeedback des Roboters lernen die Kinder, die Gefühle anderer richtig einzuschätzen und sich auch ihrer eigenen Emotionen bewusst zu werden. Als Grundlage hierfür dienen sowohl robuste, videobasierte Verfahren zur Gesichtsanalyse als auch die multimodale Analyse und Auswertung von Biosignalen mittels optischer Pulserfassung.

Perspektive

Durch das geplante offene Framework und Interfacedesign der Plattform sind auch andere Anwendungsfälle denkbar, wie bspw. Gruppentherapien oder die Behandlung von Demenzkranken.  

Chancen und Risiken der Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion

In dem Projekt ERIK werden sowohl die Richtlinien des europäischen Datenschutzgesetzes (EU-DSGVO) als auch ethisch-soziale Aspekte (ELSI) hinsichtlich der Zielgruppe Kinder berücksichtigt und fließen in den gesamten Arbeitsprozess mit ein.

Übersicht über die Projektpartner und die Förderung durch das BMBF

Das Verbundprojekt wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 16SV7945K gefördert und hat eine Laufzeit von 3 Jahren (08/2018-08/2021). Neben dem Fraunhofer IIS mit seinen Bereichen »Smart Sensing and Electronics« und »Supply Chain Services« sind die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, die Friedrich-Alexander Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, die audEERING GmbH und die ASTRUM IT GmbH als Projektpartner beteiligt.