Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Multimodal driver drowsiness detection with SHORE® Drive

Driver monitoring system ensures safe driving in all situations

SHORE Drive
© Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller

The SHORE© Drive simulator analyzes driver behavior at the wheel in real time and provides information on their emotional state (e.g. stress, fatigue). It works by fusing data from the integrated facial analysis software, physiological signals measured by wearables, and data from the vehicle itself. Using SHORE© Drive can significantly improve safety on the roads. 

Advantages of SHORE® Drive at a glance

GUI SHORE Drive
© Fraunhofer IIS
SHORE Drive Board
© Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller
  • Displays data in real time
  • Offers offline processing
  • Processes data in embedded systems
  • Uses low-power hardware
  • Supports new service concepts (“automotive health”)
  • Adapts automatically to lighting conditions (e.g. IR cameras)

Our driving simulator provides the perfect environment to quickly test new approaches and algorithms for their suitability for use on the road. In the test scenario, users also have access to all data already available from real-life applications. This includes real-time facial analysis, non-contact acquisition of physiological data, evaluation of wearables and use of metainformation from the car (steering behavior, GPS, etc.).

The overall system enables fast and straightforward validation of next-generation driver observation systems.

Evaluation of multimodal sensors in the vehicle interior

SHORE Drive – driver assistance systems
© gutmilos/istock.com
  • Driver drowsiness detection (fatigue, distraction, stress)
  • Occupant analysis (information such as age/gender of all vehicle occupants is recorded; e.g. warning in the event a child is left behind)
  • Well-being (emotional analysis)

At the core of the driver monitoring system is SHORE© analysis software, which uses state-of-the-art machine learning approaches to provide information about the driver and other vehicle occupants. This data (emotional state, age, gender, vital parameters, etc.) is used to assess the driver’s condition and the passengers. To this end, the fusion of multimodal data provides information on characteristics such as fatigue, stress, attention and other physical conditions.

Such systems serve, first and foremost, as a safety device on the road. Today, as autonomous driving (partially autonomous driving) evolves, it is especially important to ensure that the driver intervenes at the right time if required. This, in turn, requires the system to be able to accurately assess the condition and availability of the driver at all times. A further benefit is the automatic and adaptive control of convenience features in cars and trucks, which can thus be customized to suit the needs of the driver.

Thanks to its user-specific programming and convenience features, SHORE© Drive delivers an improved driving experience and increased safety when driving! We look forward to your call or email.

 

Face Detection Software SHORE®: Fast, Reliable and Real-time Capable

Multimodale Fahrerzustandserkennung mit SHORE® Drive

Driver Monitoring System für sicheres Fahren in allen Lagen

Fahrsimulator SHORE Drive
© Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller

Der Fahrsimulator SHORE© Drive analysiert in Echtzeit das Fahrverhalten des Fahrers und liefert Rückschlüsse auf dessen emotionalen Zustand (bspw. Stress, Müdigkeit). Dies erfolgt durch die Fusionierung der Daten aus der integrierten Gesichtsanalyse-Software, der Messung physiologischer Signale mithilfe von Wearables und der Daten aus dem Fahrzeug selbst. Durch den Einsatz von SHORE© Drive kann die Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr signifikant verbessert werden. 

Vorteile SHORE® Drive im Überblick

GUI Fahrsimulator SHORE Drive
© Fraunhofer IIS
SHORE Drive Board
© Fraunhofer IIS/Bianca Möller
  • Visualisierung der Daten in Echtzeit
  • Offline-Processing
  • Verarbeitung auf Embedded Systemen
  • Verwendung von Low power Hardware
  • Unterstützung neuer Servicekonzepte (»Automotive Health«)
  • Automatische Anpassung an Lichtverhältnisse (u.a. IR-Kameras)

Unser Fahrsimulator bietet eine optimale Umgebung, um neue Ansätze und Algorithmen schnell auf ihre Praxistauglichkeit zu testen. Dazu ist es möglich schon im Testszenario auf sämtliche Daten zuzugreifen, wie sie auch im Realeinsatz vorliegen. Dies umfasst sowohl die Echtzeit-Gesichtsanalyse, berührungslose Erfassung physiologischer Daten, Auswertung von Wearables und Nutzung von Metainformationen des PKWs (Lenkverhalten, GPS u.v.m.).

Das Gesamtsystem ermöglicht eine schnelle und unkomplizierte Validierung von Fahrerbeobachtungssystemen der nächsten Generation.

Auswertung multimodaler Sensorik im Fahrzeuginnenraum

SHORE Drive – Fahrerassistenzsysteme
© gutmilos/istock.com
  • Fahrerzustandserkennung (Müdigkeit, Ablenkung, Stress)
  • Insassenanalyse (Erfassung von Informationen wie Alter/Geschlecht aller Personen im Fahrzeug; z.B. Warnung bei vergessenem Kind)
  • Well-being (Emotionsanalyse)

Kern des Driver Monitoring Systems ist die Analysesoftware SHORE©, welche mithilfe von state-of-the-art Ansätzen des Maschinellen Lernens Informationen über Fahrer und weitere Insassen liefert. Diese Daten (Emotion, Alter, Geschlecht, Vitalparameter etc.) werden zur Beurteilung des Fahrerzustands und der Mitfahrer genutzt. Hierzu werden durch die Fusion multimodaler Daten Rückschlüsse auf Merkmale wie Müdigkeit, Stress, Aufmerksamkeit und andere physische Zustände getroffen.
Ein solches System dient vor Allem der Sicherheit im Straßenverkehr, gerade in der Entwicklung des autonomen Fahrens (teilautonomes Fahren) ist es wichtig, das rechtzeitige Eingreifen des Fahrers sicherzustellen. Hierzu muss das System den Zustand und die Verfügbarkeit des Fahrers zu jederzeit akkurat einschätzen können. Ein weiterer Nutzen ist die automatische und adaptive Steuerung von Komfortfunktionen im PKWs/LKWs, die sich so individuell an die Bedürfnisse des Fahrers anpassen.

Nutzen Sie SHORE© Drive für ein verbessertes Fahrgefühl durch nutzerspezifische Programm- und Komfortfunktionen und für mehr Sicherheit beim Fahren!
Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf oder Mail!

 

 

Gesichtserkennungs-Software SHORE®: Schnell, robust und in Echtzeit