Endorama®

The Endorama system provides image panoramas in real time during an endoscopic examination and is displayed live on a screen. The system has recently been applied and tested on patients.

Panorama Cystoscopy to Patients

Endorama® Succesfully Tested on Patients

The “Endorama®“ system of Fraunhofer Institute IIS provides image panoramas in real time and thus allows a complete digital and image-based documentation of an endoscopic examination. In the context of a technical evaluation, the “Endorama®“ system has successfully been applied to patients in the clinic of urology in Mannheim in July 2016.

Clinical Application of Endorama®: Examination of Patients

Easy, Clear Image Documentation of Clinical Findings in the Bladder

An application example for the panorama endoscopy is the endoscopic examination of the bladder by the use of a rigid or flexible cystoscope. During the examination, the “Endorama®“ system fuses the acquired endoscopic images from the bladder to a panoramic image. This panorama is displayed for the physician in real time on a screen. “Endorama®“ thus allows an easy and clear image documentation of the clinical findings in the bladder in relation to relevant structures such as the ostia or the bladder neck.

Advantage of the Endorama® System

Conspicuous structures or areas after surgeries can be labelled interactively and can thus be reliable relocated during a later examination. The fast and straightforward generation of the image panoramas in high quality can thus enhance the documentation of the examination as well as the data exchange with external physicians.

Note

“Endorama®“ has not yet been certified as a medical product. Fraunhofer Institute IIS presents this functional prototype with the aim of engaging partners for further development as well as for production and marketing.

Expert Statement on Cystorama Technology

“I was impressed by the exemplary model design of Cystorama. The stitching technique on the bladder phantom worked smoothly and the interaction was intuitive. After only a few attempts, it was possible to easily generate a complete image of the bladder model with this technology.

I can well imagine the use of the technology in everyday clinical practice and would recommend it to my colleagues. The ’keyhole view problem’ can be solved almost completely by using the stitching technology. The discovery and recovery of suspect areas and structures is notably simplified.“

 

Dr. Philippe-Fabian Müller, Department of Urology, University Hospital Freiburg,

at the project meeting of the 3D sensation project on September 21, 2017, at the Fraunhofer Institute IIS

Publications

More Information

Brochure “Medical Image Processing“

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, brochure or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

Endorama®

Das Endorama-System erstellt während der Untersuchung ein Bildpanorama in Echtzeit. Dieses Panorama wird live auf einem Monitor dargestellt. Mit Erfolg wurde das System erstmals an Patienten eingesetzt.

Panorama-Zystoskopie an Patienten

Endorama® erfolgreich an Patienten getestet

Das »Endorama®«-System des Fraunhofer-Instituts IIS erstellt während der Untersuchung ein Bildpanorama in Echtzeit und ermöglicht so eine vollständige digitale und bildbasierte Dokumentation eines endoskopischen Eingriffs. Das »Endorama®«-System wurde im Juli 2016 mit Erfolg im Rahmen einer technischen Validierung erstmals in der Klinik für Urologie der Universitätsmedizin Mannheim an Patienten ein­gesetzt.

Endorama® im klinischen Einsatz: Panorama-Zystoskopie an Patienten

Einfache, übersichtliche Bilddokumentation von Befunden der Harnblase

Ein Anwendungsbeispiel für die Panorama-Endoskopie ist die endoskopische Untersuchung der Harnblase mit Hilfe eines starren oder flexiblen Zystoskops. Während der Untersuchung fügt das »Endorama®«-System die erfassten endoskopischen Bilder aus der Harnblase zu einem Panoramabild zusammen. Dieses Panorama wird dem Untersucher live auf einem Monitor dargestellt. »Endorama®« ermöglicht so eine einfache und übersichtliche Bilddokumentation von Befunden der Harnblase in Beziehung zu relevanten Strukturen wie den Harnleiterostien oder dem Blasenhals.

Der große Vorteil des »Endorama®«-Systems

Auffällige Strukturen oder operierte Bereiche im Panoramabild werden interaktiv gekennzeichnet und sind bei einer späteren Untersuchung zuverlässig wieder auffindbar. Die einfache Erstellung der Panoramen in hoher Qualität kann die Dokumentation sowie den Austausch mit Patienten und mit weiterbehandelnden Ärzten deutlich verbessern.

Hinweis

»Endorama®« ist derzeit noch nicht als Medizinprodukt zugelassen. Das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS präsentiert »Endorama®« mit dem Ziel, Partner für weitere Entwicklung, Produktion und Vermarktung zu gewinnen.

Experten-Aussage zur Cystorama-Technologie

»Vom exemplarischen Modellaufbau war ich beeindruckt. Die Stitching-Technik am Blasenphantom funktionierte flüssig und die Bedienung war intuitiv. Nach nur sehr wenigen Versuchen war es auch für ungeübte Probanden problemlos möglich, ein vollständiges Abbild des Blasenmodells mit der Technologie zu generieren.

Ich kann mir den Gebrauch der Technik im klinischen Alltag sehr gut vorstellen und würde ihn meinen Kollegen empfehlen. Die ›Schlüsselloch-Problematik‹ lässt sich mit der Stitching-Technologie nahezu vollständig lösen. Das Auf- und Wiederfinden von suspekten Arealen und Strukturen wird deutlich vereinfacht.«

 

Dr. Philippe-Fabian Müller, Klinik für Urologie, Universitätsklinikum Freiburg,

beim Projekttreffen des 3D-Sensation-Projekts am 21.9.2017 im Fraunhofer-Institut IIS

Veröffentlichungen

Weitere Informationen

Broschüre »Medizinische Bildverarbeitung«

Download-Bereich

Hier finden Sie alle Dokumente wie Application Notes, Broschüren und Flyer sowie Videos zum Download.