Services in the Field of Positioning Sensor Technology

Positioning measurements with HallinOne®

© bizoo_n - Fotolia.com

Reliable, robust, precise and cost-effective. The demands on positioning systems are becoming ever more complex. In modern vehicles for example, the input elements for the navigation, climate control and ventilator systems must able to detect the rotation angle, draft or pressure directions at the same time. In a mechanical construction, the corresponding solutions are complex and costly.

The HallinOne® technology developed by Fraunhofer IIS makes it possible to detect a magnetic field using an integrated Hall sensor with nearly 100 percent precision. Combining these magnetic field sensors with an intelligent evaluation algorithm opens up new opportunities for multi-axis position measurements. That means a mechanical six degrees-of-freedom measurement system could be operated with a single sensor chip, such as what would be required in the previously mentioned example.

6D position measurements

© Fraunhofer IIS/Daniel Cichon

Thanks to the unique properties of the HallinOne®  technology, the location and position of a sensor magnet can be detected. It's also possible to determine up to six mechanical target variables with a single integrated circuit. This opens up new opportunities and applications, such as the operation of complex controls or compact power/torque sensors for multiple degrees of freedom. In addition, measurement tasks that up until now require numerous discrete Hall sensors can be replaced with a single IC without design restrictions. 6D position measurements also make it possible to define even more mechanical degrees-of-freedom or to design conventional measurement applications that are insensitive to mechanical tolerances. 6D furthermore yields additional advantages such as contactless position measurements and increased positioning accuracy.

Conventional position measurements

© Fraunhofer IIS

Magnetic field positioning systems rely on a sensing magnet and a magnetic field sensor. The HallinOne® technology enables angle- and gradient-based analyses and thus robust position measurements. Examples include the detection of RPM, linear position and the position of operating elements in passenger vehicles, automation systems or agriculture machines. The measurements are unaffected by temperature fluctuations, dirt or interference fields. This approach is no more costly than conventional methods since the sensors are integrated in an evaluation chip.

By using the algorithm developed by Fraunhofer IIS together with the HallinOne® technology, classic and 6D position measurement systems can be designed that are more robust than conventional systems. Integrated self-monitoring makes this approach suitable for safety-critical applications as well.

Download

 

Brochure

Intelligent 3D Magnetic Field Sensor Technology

 

Brochure

HallinMotion - 6D Position Measurement with HallinOne®

Leistungsangebot Positionssensorik

Positionsmessung mit HallinOne®

© bizoo_n - Fotolia.com

Zuverlässig, robust, genau und zudem preiswert – die Anforderungen an Positionsmesssysteme werden immer komplexer. So müssen beispielsweise Bedienelemente zur Eingabe von Navigation, Klima- und Lüftungseinstellung in modernen Fahrzeugen Drehwinkel,- Zug- oder Druckrichtungen gleichzeitig erkennen können. In einer mechanischen Konstruktion stellen sie aufwendige und kostenintensive Lösungen dar.

Die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte HallinOne®-Technologie ermöglicht es, ein Magnetfeld nahezu punktgenau mit einem integrierten Hall-Sensor zu erfassen. Kombiniert man solche Magnetfeldsensoren mit einem intelligenten Auswertealgorithmus, ergeben sich neue Möglichkeiten der mehrachsigen Positionsmessung. Damit lassen sich in einem Messsystem bis zu 6 mechanisch mögliche Freiheitsgrade mit einem einzigen Sensorchip bestimmen, wie es auch im oben genannten Beispiel benötigt wird.

6D-Positionsmessung

© Fraunhofer IIS/Daniel Cichon

Durch die besonderen Eigenschaften der HallinOne®-Technologie lassen sich sowohl Ort als auch Lage eines Gebermagneten bestimmen. Es ist also möglich, mit nur einem IC bis zu 6 mechanische Zielgrößen zu bestimmen. Dies eröffnet neue Chancen und Anwendungen, wie etwa die Bedienung von komplexen Steuerungen, kompakten Kraft-/Drehmomentsensoren für mehrere Freiheitsgrade. Ebenso ist es möglich, Messaufgaben, die bisher nur mit einer Vielzahl von diskreten Hall-Sensoren gelöst werden konnten, durch einen einzigen IC zu ersetzen - ohne konstruktionsbedingte Einschränkungen. Mit der 6D-Positionsmessung ist es außerdem möglich, weitere mechanische Freiheitsgrade zu bestimmen oder klassische Messaufgaben robust gegenüber mechanischen Toleranzen zu gestalten. Darüber hinaus ergeben sich weitere Vorteile, wie etwa die berührungslose Positionsmessung sowie eine höhere Positionsgenauigkeit.

Klassische Positionsmessung

© Fraunhofer IIS

Bei der magnetfeldbasierten Positionsmessung wird ein System aus einem Gebermagneten und einem Magnetfeldsensor zur Positionsbestimmung genutzt. Die HallinOne®-Technologie ermöglicht Winkel- und gradientenbasierte Auswertungen und somit eine robuste Positionsmessung. Beispiele hierfür sind die Erfassung von Drehzahl, linearer Position und die Stellung von Bedienelementen im PKW, in der Automatisierungstechnik oder in Landmaschinen. Weder Temperaturänderungen noch Schmutz oder Störfelder können das Messergebnis verfälschen. Dieser Ansatz ist nicht teurer als herkömmliche Methoden, da die Sensoren auf dem Auswertechip integriert sind.

Durch die am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte Algorithmik in Verbindung mit der HallinOne®-Technologie kann die klassische sowie die 6D-Positionsmessung robuster gegenüber herkömmlichen Systemen gestaltet werden. Die integrierte Selbstüberwachung ermöglicht auch den Einsatz in sicherheitskritischen Anwendungen.

Download

 

Broschüre

Intelligente 3D-Magnetfeldsensorik

 

Broschüre

HallinMotion - 6D-Positionsmessung mit HallinOne®