Visual surface inspection

© Fraunhofer IIS

Many components from the automotive and mechanical engineering sectors, from aerospace, or from medical engineering have functional inner surfaces that can only be inspected for faults by means of endoscopy. The use of video technology in conjunction with endoscopy as well as suitable illumination makes ergonomic online visualization possible for testing.

The use of digital technology allows a lot more, however: Automated complete surface inspection of drill holes, cavities of components made of metal, plastic, etc. 100-percent, process-integrated series testing with large batches and short cycle times becomes a possibility.

Fraunhofer EZRT has years of know-how, special camera technology, and special illumination. This means that the solution to complex testing jobs such as these can be carried out reliably and precisely. At the core of the new, fully automated drill testing system are a new type of drill probe and a new type of software. This means that, now, even small blind holes can be inspected.

The endoscopy technology, which has been optimized for use with small drill holes in the millimeter range, can be adapted to different tasks and allows full automation of the visual check with improved, objective, and documented evaluation.

System solution PanCam

The PanCam system solution comprises a drill probe and a connected computer for automatic evaluation of the signals received. The computer has process interfaces to allow for automated logging and sorting of the work components tested. The drill probe works in a camera-based manner according to imaging principles. Its main components are:

  • the imaging sensor (video camera)
  • the miniaturized mapping lens (endoscope) to map the inner surface to the sensor, and
  • a suitable, miniaturized illumination device (LED or cold light)

For automated operation, the drill probe is inserted into the drill hole by means of a computer-controlled, motorized linear axis. While the probe is entering or leaving the drill hole, images of the interior surfaces are recorded as short video sequences. The interior surfaces are comprehensively covered using special 360° lenses, allowing them to be recorded in full without the probe having to be turned; linear movement of the drill is all that is required. This allows very quick data capture in just a few seconds. The use of highly sensitive high-speed cameras increases the test speed yet further. In order to obtain optimum picture quality with very different tasks, the video camera, mapping lens, and illumination must be adapted in each case. As the picture quality depends on the diameter of the drill probe (a larger diameter results in higher picture quality), the largest possible probe diameter is also selected depending on the test object. The preferred use of standard components ensures a high degree of system modularity. The platform of the evaluation computer, for example, comprises an industrial PC with the operating system MS Windows®. The evaluation software analyzes the video sequences generated by the camera in the drill probe lightning-fast. Intelligent algorithms "open up" the scanned interior and map it to a flat surface. Various test criteria can thus be analyzed on a component automatically, simultaneously, and while keeping pace with the manufacturing cycle.

Usage example: Drill hole test

  • Test objects: Drill holes 2–50 mm in diameter
  • Surfaces: Metal surfaces, worked
  • Fault types: Cavities, pores (cast), scratches, edge chipping
  • Fault dimension: > 0.1 mm (depending on drill diameter)
  • Test speed: approx. 3 seconds to cover a 100 mm deep drill hole
  • Imaging: Imaging drill probe with high-speed camera (up to 500 pictures per second) and endoscope with panorama lens
  • Computer: Compatible industrial PC (Windows operating system)

Usage example: Testing irregularly shaped, complex cavities

  • Test objects: Cavities with access > 2 mm in diameter
  • Surfaces: Technical surfaces made of metal, plastic, ceramics, etc.
  • Fault types: Surface defects, other anomalies of various types
  • Fault dimension: > 0.1 mm (depending on drill diameter)
  • Test speed: approx. 3 seconds to cover a 100 mm deep drill hole
  • Imaging: Imaging drill probe with high-speed camera (up to 500 pictures per second) and endoscope adapted to problem
  • Computer: Compatible industrial PC (Windows operating system)

  • Test objects: Drill holes and cavities with access > 2 mm in diameter
  • Fault types: Surface defects of various types
  • Fault dimension: > 50 µm (depending on drill diameter)
  • Test speed: Depending on component; approx. 3 seconds to cover a 100 mm deep drill hole
  • Imaging: Imaging drill probe with high-speed camera (up to 500 pictures per second) and mapping lens adapted to problem, e.g. endoscope
  • Computer: Compatible industrial PC (Windows operating system)

Advantages and customer value

  • Series test by means of high test speed and panorama lens used
  • Parallel testing of different criteria and different areas of the surface in a single test
  • Complete automation of the test process
  • Mapping and logging of test results for quality certification
  • High degree of economy due to high cycle rates and short testing times
  • Additional plus: Process monitoring of tools

Optische Oberflächeninspektion

Endoskopie-System des Fraunhofer EZRT
© Fraunhofer IIS
Mithilfe von Endoskopie können wir vollständige automatische Oberflächeninspektionen durchführen.

Viele Werkstücke aus dem Automobil- und Maschinenbau, der Luft- und Raumfahrt oder der Medizintechnik besitzen funktionale, innere Oberflächen, die nur mittels Endoskopie auf Fehler hin untersucht werden können. Die Verwendung von Videotechnik in Verbindung mit Endoskopie sowie geeigneter Beleuchtung macht hierbei zunächst die ergonomische Online-Visualisierung für den Prüfvorgang möglich.

Der Einsatz digitaler Technik erlaubt aber weit mehr: Die vollständige automatische Oberflächeninspektion von Bohrungen, Hohlräumen von Werkstücken aus Metall, Kunststoffen, etc. Eine 100-prozentige, prozessintegrierte Serienprüfung mit hohen Stückzahlen und kurzen Taktzeiten wird so möglich.

Am Fraunhofer EZRT ist langjähriges Know-how, spezielle Kameratechnik und Beleuchtung vorhanden. Damit kann die Lösung solch schwieriger Prüfaufgaben zuverlässig und präzise durchgeführt werden. Die Kernstücke des neuen, vollautomatischen Bohrungsprüfsystems sind eine neuartige Bohrungssonde sowie eine neuartige Software. Damit ist nun auch die Inspektion von kleinen Sack-Bohrungen möglich.

Systemlösung PanCam

Die Systemlösung PanCam besteht aus einer Bohrungssonde und einem damit verbundenen Rechner zur automatischen Auswertung der gewonnenen Signale. Der Rechner verfügt über Prozess-Schnittstellen, so dass eine automatisierte Protokollierung und Sortierung der geprüften Werkstücke erfolgen kann. Die Bohrungssonde arbeitet Kamera-basiert nach bildgebenden Prinzipien. Ihre wesentlichen Komponenten sind dabei:

  • der bildgebende Sensor (Videokamera),
  • die miniaturisierte Abbildungsoptik (Endoskop),  zur Abbildung der inneren Oberflächen auf den Sensor sowie
  • eine geeignete, miniaturisierte Beleuchtungsvorrichtung (LED oder Kaltlicht).

Zur automatisierten Betriebsweise wird die Bohrungssonde mittels einer Rechner-gesteuerten, motorisierten Linearachse in die Bohrung eingeführt. Während der Ein- bzw. Ausfahrt in der Bohrung werden Bilder der inneren Oberflächen in Form kurzer Videosequenzen aufgezeichnet. Die Innenflächen werden dabei mit Hilfe spezieller 360°-Optiken lückenlos rundum erfasst, so dass sie ohne Drehung der Bohrungssonde, einfach durch lineares Befahren der Bohrung, vollständig aufgenommen werden können. Dadurch ist eine sehr schnelle Datenaufnahme in wenigen Sekunden möglich. Durch den Einsatz hochempfindlicher Hochgeschwindigkeitskameras wird die Prüfgeschwindigkeit weiter gesteigert. Um eine optimale Bildqualität bei stark unterschiedlichen Aufgabenstellungen zu erzielen, müssen Videokamera, Abbildungsoptik und Beleuchtung jeweils angepasst werden. Da die Bildqualität abhängig vom Durchmesser der Bohrungssonde (größerer Durchmesser bedeutet höhere Bildqualität) ist, wird je nach Prüfobjekt immer der größtmögliche Sondendurchmesser gewählt. Die vorzugsweise Verwendung von Standardkomponenten sorgt für eine hohe Modularität des Systems. So besteht die Plattform des Auswertungsrechners aus einem Industrie-PC unter dem Betriebssystem MS Windows®. Die Auswerte-Software analysiert die von der Kamera der Bohrungssonde erzeugten Videosequenzen blitzschnell. Intelligente Algorithmen »klappen« den gescannten Innenraum auf und bilden ihn auf eine ebene Fläche ab. Verschiedene Prüfkriterien können somit automatisch, gleichzeitig und schritthaltend mit dem Fertigungstakt an einem Werkstück präzise analysiert werden.

Anwendungsbeispiel: Bohrungsprüfung

  • Prüfobjekte: Bohrungen von 2–50 mm Durchmesser
  • Oberflächen: Metalloberflächen bearbeitete
  • Fehlertypen: Lunker, Poren (Guss), Kratzer, Kantenausbrüche
  • Fehlergröße: > 0,1 mm (abhängig von Bohrungsdurchmesser)
  • Prüfgeschwindigkeit: ca. 3 Sekunden für die Erfassung einer 100 mm tiefen Bohrung
  • Bildgewinnung: Bildgebende Bohrungssonde mit Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera (bis zu 500 Bilder/s) und Endoskop mit Panorama-Optik
  • Rechner: Kompatibler Industrie-PC (Windows-Betriebssystem)

Anwendungsbeispiel: Prüfung unregelmäßig geformter, komplexer Hohlräume

  • Prüfobjekte: Hohlräume mit einem Zugang > 2 mm Durchmesser
  • Oberflächen: Technische Oberflächen aus Metall, Kunststoff, Keramik, etc
  • Fehlertypen: Oberflächendefekte, sonstige Anomalien verschiedener Ausprägung
  • Fehlergröße: > 0,1 mm (abhängig von Bohrungsdurchmesser)
  • Prüfgeschwindigkeit: ca. 3 Sekunden für die Erfassung einer 100 mm tiefen Bohrung
  • Bildgewinnung: Bildgebende Bohrungssonde mit Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera (bis zu 500 Bilder/s) und Problem-angepasstem Endoskop
  • Rechner: Kompatibler Industrie-PC (Windows-Betriebssystem)

  • Prüfobjekte: Bohrungen und Hohlräume mit einem Zugang > 2 mm Durchmesser
  • Fehlertypen: Oberflächendefekte verschiedener Ausprägung
  • Fehlergröße: > 50 µm (abhängig von Bohrungsdurchmesser)
  • Prüfgeschwindigkeit: Werkstück-abhängig, ca. 3 Sekunden für die Erfassung einer 100 mm tiefen Bohrung
  • Bildgewinnung: Bildgebende Bohrungssonde mit Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera (bis zu 500 Bilder/s) und Problemangepasster Abbildungsoptik, z. B. Endoskop
  • Rechner: Kompatibler Industrie-PC (Windows-Betriebssystem)

Vorteile und Nutzen

  • Serienprüfung durch hohe Prüfgeschwindigkeit und verwendete Panoramaoptik
  • Parallele Prüfung von unterschiedlichen Kriterien sowie unterschiedlicher Oberflächenbereiche in einem Prüfvorgang
  • Vollständige Automatisierung des Prüfprozesses
  • Darstellung und Protokollierung von Prüfergebnissen für Qualitätszertifizierung
  • Hohe Wirtschaftlichkeit durch hohe Taktraten und geringe Prüfzeiten
  • Zusätzliches Plus: Prozessüberwachung der Werkzeuge