Fraunhofer IIS MIOTY Summer School

From September 3rd (10.00 a.m.) to 7th (3.00 p.m.)

Internet of Things
© milosdizajn - Fotolia.com

The Internet of Things (IoT) is one of the megatrends of our time. But what exactly can you actually do with it? Find out at our MIOTY Summer School!

MIOTY, the IoT sensor network developed here at the Fraunhofer IIS, sets new standards for wireless data transmission in terms of range, transmission security, battery life and cost efficiency.

True to the spirit of Joseph von Fraunhofer, the researcher, developer and entrepreneur after whom our institute is named, the week will be spent investigating wireless transmission technologies, developing application ideas and implementing them in prototypes.

MIOTY opens the door to a variety of applications. For example, the technology allows monitoring of large-scale technological systems or poorly accessible locations. Uses include transmission of switch states, communication between machines (M2M communication) or wireless remote readings and user control for smart metering applications (Industrial IoT). Fields such as sport or security also rely on transmission of data from a range of sensors. For instance, the Fraunhofer IIS wireless data transmission technology can be used to reliably transmit the vital signs of athletes or emergency personnel such as firefighters or first responders. Sensors to detect humidity, movement, light, temperature or pressure can all be integrated into MIOTY according to the requirements of the application at hand.

The MIOTY Summer School kicks off with an in-depth expert introduction by Professor Koch. This focus of this section is on presenting and exploring wireless transmission technologies.

On the second day, we will begin project work in teams. You will have access to MIOTY transmission platforms based on the Arduino Pro Mini, loaned to you by the institute. This will enable you to explore the topic in greater depth, experiment, and develop application ideas of your own.

Throughout the entire week, Fraunhofer IIS researchers will be on hand to advise and assist the teams.

At the end of the week, the teams will present their results in a plenary session.

It won’t all be hard work: the days will include collective leisure and team-building activities. There will also be an evening function attended by notable figures from the world of science and research.

The Summer School is a great opportunity to meet and network with researchers and other students, and gain a comprehensive insight into the work of a successful and application-oriented research institute. What is more, there is the possibility of a chance to stay on and work in a challenging and exciting position at our institute.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Karoline Glasow

Key details

Fraunhofer Research Campus Waischenfeld, © Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs
© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Fraunhofer Research Campus, Fraunhofer-Platz 1, Waischenfeld, Germany

Location:
Set in the heart of Franconian Switzerland, the Fraunhofer Research Campus in Waischenfeld offers ideal conditions for innovative work. The campus is equipped with state-of-the-art technology, and boasts seminar and laboratory facilities as well as modern single bedrooms.

Fraunhofer-Platz 1, 91344 Waischenfeld

Arrivals on the evening before the event are possible. Please let us know if you would like to arrive early.

 

 

Target group:
Students in the fields of engineering, industrial engineering, and natural sciences at bachelor’s (from the third study semester onwards) or master’s level.

Contribution towards costs:
100 euro
The price includes: materials, accommodation, team activities and full board on site. You will also be allowed to take selected hardware (Arduino Pro Mini, MIOTY Shield, sensors) which we will work with during the Summer School home with you for private use.

A shuttle from Erlangen can be arranged. Please let us know if you would like to take the shuttle.

Applications:
Apply for a place at our MIOTY Summer School using our online application tool.

The deadline for applications is July 22, 2018. We will let you know by July 27, 2018 whether we are able to offer you a place at the MIOTY Summer School. If your application is successful, you will then receive the full registration package with all additional details regarding the Summer School.

Further information on MIOTY is available at www.mioty.de

In Kooperation mit:

Fraunhofer IIS MIOTY Summer School

Termin: 3.09.2018, 10.00 Uhr bis 07.09.2018, 15.00 Uhr

Internet of Things
© milosdizajn - Fotolia.com

Das Internet of Things (IoT) ist einer der Megatrends unserer Zeit. Aber was genau kannst Du  damit eigentlich machen? Finde es bei unserer MIOTY Summer School heraus!

Das von uns am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte IoT-Sensornetzwerk MIOTY setzt neue Maßstäbe im Bereich der drahtlosen Datenübertragung hinsichtlich, Reichweite, Übertragungssicherheit, Batterielebensdauer und Kosteneffizienz.

Ganz im Sinne unseres Namensgebers Joseph von Fraunhofer, der Forscher, Entwickler und Unternehmer war, werden wir in der Woche Funkübertragungstechniken erforschen, Anwendungsideen entwickeln und diese in Prototypen umsetzen.

Die Anwendungsbereiche von MIOTY sind vielfältig. Mit der Technologie kann zum Beispiel die Überwachung von großen technischen Anlagen oder schwer zugänglichen Bereichen sichergestellt werden. So können beispielsweise Schaltzustände übertragen werden, Maschinen miteinander kommunizieren (M2M-Kommunikation) oder eine drahtlose Zählerfernauslese und Verbrauchersteuerung bei Smart Metering-Anwendungen erfolgen (Industrial IoT). Auch im Sport oder im Sicherheitsbereich ist eine Datenübertragung von vielen Sensoren nötig. So können, mit Hilfe der drahtlosen Datenübertragung des Fraunhofer IIS, Vitaldaten von Sportlern oder Einsatzkräften wie Feuerwehr oder Rettungsdienst  zuverlässig übertragen werden. Sensoren zur Erfassung von beispielsweise Feuchtigkeit, Bewegung, Licht, Temperatur oder Druck können anwendungsspezifisch in MIOTY integriert werden.

Am Beginn unserer MIOTY Summer School steht ein intensiver fachlicher Input durch Prof. Dr.-Ing. Koch. Die Vermittlung und das Erforschen der Funkübertragungstechniken stehen hier im Vordergrund.

Am zweiten Tag starten wir mit der Projektarbeit in Teams. Ihr bekommt von uns MIOTY Sendeplattformen auf Basis des Arduino Pro Mini leihweise zur Verfügung gestellt. Mit deren Hilfe könnt ihr tiefer in die Thematik einsteigen, experimentieren und Anwendungsideen entwickeln.

Während der gesamten Woche sind Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IIS vor Ort und stehen den Teams mit Rat und Tat zur Seite.

Am Ende der Woche präsentieren die Teams ihre Ergebnisse dem Plenum.

Die Tage werden durch gemeinsame Freizeit- und teambildende Aktivitäten aufgelockert. Zudem laden wir namhafte Vertreter aus Wissenschaft und Forschung zu einer Abendveranstaltung ein.

Im Rahmen der Summer School kannst Du tolle neue Kontakte zu Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern wie auch Studentinnen und Studenten knüpfen und dich mit Ihnen vernetzen. Du erhältst tiefgehende Einblicke in die Arbeit eines anwendungsorientierten, erfolgreichen Forschungsinstituts. Zudem besteht unter Umständen die Chance einer herausfordernden, spannenden Weiterbeschäftigung an unserem Institut.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Karoline Glasow

Wichtige Eckdaten

Fraunhofer-Forschungscampus, Waischenfeld, © Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs
© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Fraunhofer-Forschungscampus, Fraunhofer-Platz 1, Waischenfeld

Ort:
In Mitten der fränkischen Schweiz ermöglicht uns der Fraunhofer-Forschungscampus in Waischenfeld beste Voraussetzungen für innovatives Arbeiten. Der Campus ist mit neuester Technik ausgestattet und bietet sowohl Seminar- als auch Laborräume sowie modern eingerichtete Einzelzimmer.

Fraunhofer-Platz 1, 91344 Waischenfeld

Die Anreise am Vorabend ist möglich. Bitte informiere uns, wenn Du dies in Anspruch nehmen willst.

 

 

Zielgruppe:
Studierende im Bachelor (ab dem dritten Fachsemester) oder Master im Bereich der Ingenieur-, Wirtschaftsingenieur- und Naturwissenschaften.

Unkostenbeitrag:
100 Euro
Im Preis inklusive: Material, Übernachtung, die Teamaktionen und Vollverpflegung vor Ort. Zudem kannst Du bestimmte ausgewählte Hardware (Arduino Pro Mini, MIOTY Shield, Sensoren), mit der wir während der Summer School arbeiten, auch zur weiteren privaten Nutzung mit nach Hause nehmen.

Ein Shuttle ab Erlangen ist möglich. Bitte informiere uns, wenn Du dieses Angebot wahrnehmen möchtest.

Bewerbung:
Bitte bewirb Dich über unser Online-Bewerbungstool um einen Platz bei unserer MIOTY Summer School.
Wichtig: Bitte geh' im Anschreiben auf folgende Fragen ein:

  • Warum möchtest Du an unserer Summer School teilnehmen?
  • Ein paar Sätze zu Deinem Lebenslauf … beschreibe kurz warum Du Deine bisherigen praktischen Erfahrungen für die Summerschool für relevant hältst.
  • Beschreibe Deine relevanten Hard- & Softwarekenntnisse (z.B. Arduino, MQTT, Webentwicklung, IoT-Plattformen, Linux-Administration ...)
  • Erläutere Deine fachspezifischen Erfahrungen aus privaten Projekten, Praktika, … . Wenn vorhanden, füge auch Links zu Projektbeispielen an.

Bewerbungsschluss ist der 22.07.2018. Wir werden Dich bis zum 27.07.2018 informieren, ob wir Dir einen Platz in der MIOTY Summer School anbieten können. Im Anschluss daran erhältst du von uns die kompletten Anmeldeunterlagen mit allen weiteren Details rund um die Summer School.

Weitere Informationen zu MIOTY findest du unter www.mioty.de

In Kooperation mit: