Image Processing and Medical Engineering

The Department of Image Processing and Medical Engineering is researching in the fields of medical image processing, medical communication and sensor systems and telematics in health care.

more info

Image Processing and Medical Engineering

Medical Image Processing

New solutions for knowledge and computer-based analysis of images improve medical diagnostics and therapy. For early diagnosis of tumors in tissue samples, research and development activities are concentrated on the exploration of automatic image analysis. Procedures for the processing of image sequences, like tumor segmentation and measurements in radiological images, also belong to the field of activities.

Medical Sensor Systems

For the domestic and/or mobile support of patients as well as for monitorings of persons in rescue missions and disaster control we are working on miniaturized, intelligent Medical Sensor Systems for the acquisition of the most important vital parameters (electrocardiogram, SpO2, blood pressure etc.).

Medical Communication and Biosignal Processing

As part of the business field medical technology the Medical Communication and Biosignal Processing group develops and implements standardized medical communication protocols and algorithms for biosignal processing and motion analysis.

METEAN – Medical Technology Test and Application Center

The Medical Technology Test and Application Center which is run by the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, is located in the university hospital of Erlangen (“Universitätsklinikum Erlangen“). In close cooperation with several departments of the hospital and institutes of the university of Erlangen-Nuremberg (“Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg“) we offer the possibility to validate novel solutions under technical and ergonomical aspects and to evaluate the medical and econimical utility.

Fraunhofer Innovation Cluster Personal Health

The work of the Fraunhofer Innovation Cluster Personal Health is driven by the health needs of people in the 21st century. Our vision is disease prevention through telehealth. Together with our partners, we undertake research into new technologies and methods, develop solutions and assess their benefits in clinical trials and through health services research projects. Our research is focusing on the development of miniaturized intelligent sensor systems for a continuous and convenient monitoring of vital parameters.

Medizintechnik und Bildverarbeitung

Die Abteilung Bildverarbeitung und Medizintechnik des Fraunhofer IIS forscht in den Bereichen der medizinischen Bildverarbeitung, der Kommunikations- und Sensorsysteme in der Medizin sowie der Gesundheitstelematik.

mehr Info

Medizintechnik und Bildverarbeitung

Medizinische Bildverarbeitung

Neue Lösungen zur wissensbasierten, rechnergestützten Analyse von Bildern verbessern die medizinische Diagnostik, die rechnergestützte Tumorfrüherkennung und die Therapie-verlaufskontrolle in der Mikroskopie und Endoskopie. Zur Tumorfrüherkennung auf biologischen Proben werden mikroskopisch oder endoskopisch aufgenommene Bilder von Zellen, Gewebe oder Schleimhautoberflächen auf verdächtige Merkmale hin analysiert. Gemeinsam mit Partnern hat das Fraunhofer IIS eine digitale Hochgeschwindigkeitskamera zur Bewegungsanalyse von Stimmlippen entwickelt, das zur Untersuchung von Stimmstörungen eingesetzt wird.

Medizinische Sensorsysteme

Für die ambulante, mobile und häusliche Betreuung von Patienten, für den klinischen Einsatz und für das Monitoring von Personen im Rettungswesen und Katastrophenschutz entwickeln wir Medizinische Sensorsysteme. Wir arbeiten an miniaturisierten, tragbaren Sensoren zur Erfassung der wichtigsten Vitalparameter (EKG, SpO2, Blutdruck, Körperschall etc.). Unsere Abteilung leistete Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet des Body-Area-Netzwerkes (BAN).

Medizinische Kommunikation und Biosignalverarbeitung

Als Teil des Geschäftsfelds Medizintechnik entwickelt und implementiert die Gruppe Medizinische Kommunikation und Biosignalverarbeitung standardisierte medizinische Kommunikationsprotokolle und Algorithmen zur Biosignalverarbeitung und Bewegungsanalyse.

METEAN – Medizintechnisches Test- und Anwendungszentrum

In Räumen des Universitätsklinikums Erlangen betreibt die Abteilung das Medizintechnische Test- und Anwendungszentrum METEAN. In enger Kooperation mit Bereichen des Klinikums und Instituten der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg bieten wir Ihnen die Möglichkeit, neue Entwicklungen, Geräte und Lösungen zu evaluieren.

Fraunhofer-Innovationscluster Personal Health

Ausgangspunkt der Arbeit im Fraunhofer-Innovationscluster »Personal Health« sind die gesundheitlichen Bedürfnisse des Menschen im 21. Jahrhundert. Unsere Vision ist die Prävention von Krankheiten durch medizinische Fernbetreuung. Mit unseren Partnern forschen wir an neuen Technologien und Methoden, entwickeln gemeinsam Lösungen und evaluieren ihren Nutzen in klinischen Studien und Projekten zur Versorgungsforschung. Im Fokus stehen Lösungen zur kontinuierlichen alltagstauglichen und nutzerfreundlichen Überwachung von Vitaldaten.