Wireless Distribution Systems Department

Wireless Distribution Systems

The Wireless Distribution Systems Department in Ilmenau works closely with the same-named chair at the Technical University Ilmenau. The department, which strives to transfer basic research results into application-oriented projects, focuses its research activities on communication device testing, transmission channel modeling and characterization and longwave communication systems.

Areas of focus:

  • Over-the-air testing in a virtual, electromagnetic environment (OTAinVEE)
  • Wave field synthesis (700 MHz – 3 GHz, conducted up to18 GHz)
  • Satellite link emulation (10/14 GHz Ku band, 20/30 GHz Ka band)
  • Emulation of mobile device scenarios (i.e. satellite terminals)

Transmission channel characterization and modeling

  • Land mobile satellite channel
  • Image-based channel modeling and prediction
  • VHF/UHF channel measurements and modeling

Longwave communication

  • Data distribution across wide areas
  • Radio ripple control

There is a wide selection of state-of-the-art equipment at the Ilmenau site highlighted by the Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing (FORTE), including a 50-meter antenna tower and lab facility with motion emulator.

 

FORTE – Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

Publications of the Wireless Distribution Systems Department

New building in Ilmenau

Neubau Ilmenau
© Photo Beeg Lemke Architekten GmbH

The Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft has been expanding its research facilities at the “Am Vogelherd” industrial park in Ilmenau since summer 2016.

The Fraunhofer IIS Wireless Distribution Systems (DVT) Department and the Advanced System Technology (AST) Branch of Fraunhofer IOSB are erecting a joint research facility on the premises. The building, with its open design, will be discreetly integrated into the local surroundings and will serve to attract residents, business guests, tourists and public officials to this part of the city.

The new building will intensify cooperation between the two research institutes, permit joint developments that will open up new markets and make it possible to create a research network with unique services.

The four-story facility, which boasts 3,400-square-meters of office, laboratory and training space, will be home to 212 employees. The 18,000-square-meter property offers room for future expansion. Construction costs are estimated at €25 million, of which 40 percent (€10 million) stems from the EFRE (European Regional Development Fund), 30 percent (€7.5 million) from the government of Thuringia and 30 percent (€7.5 million) from the federal government's basic fund for research institutes.

Logo EFRE-EU

Drahtlose Verteilsysteme

Die Abteilung »Drahtlose Verteilsysteme« in Ilmenau kooperiert eng mit dem gleichnamigen Lehrstuhl an der Technischen Universität Ilmenau. Ziel der Zusammenarbeit ist der Transfer grundlegender wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse in anwendungsorientierte Projekte. Der Thüringer Standort ist auf Forschungstätigkeiten in den Bereichen Test von Kommunikationsgeräten, Modellierung und Charakterisierung von Übertragungskanälen sowie Langwellenkommunikation ausgerichtet.

Forschungsschwerpunkte:

  • Over-the-Air Testing in virtueller, elektromagnetischer Umgebung (OTAinVEE)
  • Wellenfeldsynthese (700 MHz bis 3 GHz, ausgeführt bis 18 GHz)
  • Nachbildung von Satellitenverbindungen (Ku-Band (10/14 GHz), Ka-Band (20/30 Ghz))
  • Nachbildung von Szenarien für mobile Geräte (z. B. Satellitenterminals)

Modellierung und Charakterisierung von Übertragungskanälen

  • Landmobiler Satellitenkanal
  • Bildbasierende Kanalmodellierung und Versorgungsvorhersage
  • Vermessung und Modellierung von VHF/UHF-Übertragungskanälen

Langwellenkommunikation

  • Datenverteilung über große Entfernungen
  • Funkrundsteuerung

Der Standort Ilmenau verfügt über eine hervorragende Ausstattung. Besonders erwähnenswert ist die „Over-the Air Research and Testing“-Anlage FORTE mit einem 50 Meter hohen Antennenturm und Laborgebäude mit Motionemulator.

 

FORTE – Facility for Over-the-Air Research and Testing

Publikationen der Abteilung Drahtlose Verteilsysteme DVT

Neubau am Standort Ilmenau

Neubau Ilmenau
© Foto Beeg Lemke Architekten GmbH

Die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft baut seit dem Sommer 2016 ihren Forschungsstandort Ilmenau im Gewerbegebiet »Am Vogelherd« aus.

Das Fraunhofer IIS mit seiner Abteilung Drahtlose Verteilsysteme DVT sowie das Fraunhofer IOSB und sein Anwendungszentrum Systemtechnik AST errichten ein gemeinsames Institutsgebäude. Entstehen wird ein offen gestaltetes Gebäude, das sich unaufdringlich in die Umgebung einfügt und das Stadtgebiet gegenüber Anwohnern und Gästen aus Wirtschaft, Tourismus und Politik einladend präsentiert.

Der Neubau wird die Zusammenarbeit beider Forschungseinrichtungen intensivieren und gemeinsame Entwicklungen, welche neue Märkte erschließen und im Verbund besondere Alleinstellungsmerkmale ermöglichen, zulassen.

Auf vier Ebenen entstehen insgesamt 3400 Quadratmeter Büro-, Labor-und Schulungsräume, in denen bis zu 212 Mitarbeiter Platz finden. Das Grundstück von insgesamt 18 000 Quadratmetern ermöglicht zudem, das Gebäude bei Bedarf zu erweitern. Die geschätzten Baukosten liegen bei 25 Mio €, von denen 40% (10 Mio €) aus EFRE-Mittel, 30% (7,5 Mio €) vom Freistaat Thüringen und 30 % (7,5 Mio €) aus der Grundfinanzierung des Bundes gedeckt werden.

Logo EFRE-EU