Interference-proof positioning of drones

© naypong - stock.adobe.com

Tamper-proof positioning applications are possible using the European satellite navigation system Galileo and the Public Regulated Service.

The Galileo PRS ensures tamper-proof tracking of drone flights on behalf of emergency services.

The police, fire, and rescue services are gradually beginning to use unmanned drones in their operations. In order to monitor critical infrastructures, mass meetings, or political events, drones can fly along predefined routes, for example, in order to supply aerial imagery and a better overview of the situation. If operations of this kind use only the conventional satellitebased GPS positioning system, the signal is vulnerable to tampering using interfering transmitters known as jammers and spoofers.

In collaboration with Airbus Defence and Space, we have developed the Spoofing Resistant Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (SORUS) concept, which allows government-authorized users of the Galileo Public Regulated Service (PRS) to equip drones with a secure, tamper-proof system. The Galileo PRS is a highly protected, encrypted service for satellite navigation applications. The Public Regulated Service offers high security standards for civilian users to ensure tamper-proof positioning.

Conventional PRS receivers, complete with a security module, are typically too large and consume too much power to be used in drones. In the SORUS concept, the security-relevant PRS processing steps are outsourced to a secure environment. Prior to the planned operation, the sequences required for PRS access are optimized, precalculated, and then uploaded to the drone. The drone therefore only receives the data it needs for its mission, so that it can use the PRS without a security module.

“The SORUS system makes it easier for public institutions to use the Galileo PRS. It can act as a door-opener for applications that would not be feasible using a conventional PRS receiver because of its weight, size, or price,” says Alexander Rügamer, group manager Specialized GNSS Receivers at Fraunhofer IIS.

In November, Alexander Rügamer and Dr. Jan Wendel were awarded the Overall Prize in the European Satellite Navigation Competition 2017. With SORUS, they also won Best Project from Bavaria in the Bavaria Challenge and the PRS Special Prize.

Störsichere Positionierung von Drohnen

© naypong - stock.adobe.com

Mit dem europäischen Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo und dem Dienst »Public Regulated Service« sind Anwendungen mit täuschungssicherer Lokalisierung möglich.

Galileo PRS gewährleistet manipulationsresistente Ortung bei Drohnenflügen von Einsatzkräften.

Bei Einsätzen beginnen Polizei, Feuerwehr und Rettungsdienste nach und nach, unbemannte Drohnen zu verwenden. Zur Überwachung kritischer Infrastrukturen, von Großveranstaltungen oder politischen Ereignissen können Drohnen beispielsweise vorgegebene Wegstrecken abfliegen, Bilder aus der Luft liefern und für einen besseren Überblick über die Situation sorgen. Wird bei solchen Einsätzen nur das herkömmliche satellitenbasierte Positionsbestimmungssystem GPS verwendet, kann das Signal mit Störsendern, sogenannten »Jammern« und »Spoofern«, manipuliert werden.

Mit »SORUS« (Spoofing Resistant Unmanned Aerial Vehicles) haben wir mit Airbus Defence and Space ein Konzept entwickelt, mit dem staatlich autorisierte Nutzer des Galileo Public Regulated Service (PRS) Drohnen mit einem manipulationsresistenten und sicheren System ausstatten können. Galileo PRS ist ein besonders geschützter, verschlüsselter Dienst für Satellitennavigationsanwendungen. Der Public Regulated Service bietet hohe Sicherheitsstandards für zivile Nutzer – für eine täuschungssichere Positionierung.

Für Drohnen sind herkömmliche PRS-Empfänger mit Sicherheitsmodul meist zu groß und haben eine zu hohe Leistungsaufnahme. Im SORUS-Konzept werden die sicherheitsrelevanten PRS-Verarbeitungsschritte in eine sichere Umgebung ausgelagert. Vor dem geplanten Einsatz werden die für den PRS-Zugang notwendigen Sequenzen optimiert, vorberechnet und schließlich auf die Drohne geladen. Die Drohne erhält damit lediglich die für ihre Mission notwendigen Daten, um PRS ohne Sicherheitsmodul nutzen zu können.

»Das SORUS-System macht die Nutzung von Galileo PRS für öffentliche Einrichtungen einfacher. Es kann ein Türöffner für Anwendungen sein, die mit einem konventionellen PRS-Receiver aufgrund des Gewichts, der Größe oder des Preises nicht umsetzbar wären,« so Alexander Rügamer, Leiter der Gruppe Spezialisierte SatNav Empfänger am Fraunhofer IIS.

Für das Konzept wurden Alexander Rügamer und Dr. Jan Wendel im November mit dem Gesamtsieg der European Satellite Navigation Competition 2017 ausgezeichnet. Zusätzlich gewannen sie mit SORUS die Bavaria Challenge als bestes Projekt aus Bayern und den PRS Special Prize.