Crystal-clear phone calls

© Piotr Banczerowski / Fraunhofer

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize recipients: (from left to right) Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs, and Stefan Döhla.

Developers of the EVS codec awarded with the Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize.

There is not much that smartphones can’t do, but one aspect of their performance still leaves a great deal to be desired: voice quality in phone calls. This is set to change with the new Enhanced Voice Services (EVS) standard: instead of sounding muffled and distorted, the voice on the other end of the line will be as clear and natural as in a face-to-face conversation.

EVS is the new communication codec of the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), an international standards body for mobile communications. Fraunhofer IIS played a major role in the development, with a research team of more than 50 experts. The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize was received by Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs, and Stefan Döhla on behalf of the team.

A standard of this sort has to fulfill rigorous specifications. “First of all, the codec must be capable of transmitting highquality speech signals at relatively low data rates, so as not to compromise cost-efficiency,” says Markus Multrus, who coordinated the software development for the codec at Fraunhofer IIS. Furthermore, the codec must be sufficiently robust to withstand transmission errors. Finally, it must also be able to transmit other signals, such as music, with high sound quality.

»The average human ear can hear frequencies of up to 20 kilohertz,« explains Dr. Guillaume Fuchs, in charge of scientific development for the EVS standard. »The codec currently used for most telephone calls on mobile networks in Germany only transmits audio signals up to 3.4 kilohertz – the range between 3.4 and 20 kilohertz is simply cut off. This makes phone calls sound muffled. The new codec allows frequencies of up to 16 or even 20 kilohertz, depending on the bitrate.« As a result, the entire audible frequency spectrum is transmitted.

Before a new codec can be implemented as a standard, it has to pass numerous listening tests involving thousands of test subjects. In these tests, listeners rated EVS as significantly better than previous formats. The new codec has since been approved as a standard by 3GPP, meaning that chip manufacturers can implement it in mobile phone application processors and device manufacturers can integrate it into new products. “EVS is already in commercial use in a number of countries including Germany, Japan, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, South Korea, the UK, and the US,” says Stefan Döhla, who represents Fraunhofer IIS at 3GPP.

Telefonieren mit glasklarem Klang

© Piotr Banczerowski / Fraunhofer

Ausgezeichnet mit dem Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis: Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs und Stefan Döhla (v. l.).

Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis 2017 für die Entwicklung des EVS-Codecs.

Smartphones sind wahre Alleskönner. Eines ist jedoch nach wie vor recht dürftig: die Sprachqualität beim Telefonieren. Der neue Standard Enhanced Voice Services, kurz EVS, wird das künftig ändern: Statt dumpf und verzerrt hört man die Stimme des Telefonpartners so klar und natürlich wie im direkten Gespräch. Angestoßen und entwickelt wurde der Codec vom internationalen Gremium für Mobilfunkstandardisierung »3rd Generation Partnership Project« (3GPP). Daran maßgeblich beteiligt waren wir mit einem Forschungsteam von über 50 Personen.

Stellvertretend für das Team erhielten Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs und Stefan Döhla den Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis. Die Anforderungen an einen solchen Standard sind hoch. »Die Voraussetzung ist, Sprache in guter Qualität zu übertragen – und zwar bei niedrigen Datenraten, sodass die Übertragung wirtschaftlich bleibt«, sagt Markus Multrus, der am Fraunhofer IIS die Software-Entwicklung für den Codec koordiniert hat. Zudem sollte der Codec robust gegen Übertragungsfehler sein.

Und schließlich sollte der Codec auch andere Signale wie etwa Musik in guter Klangqualität übertragen. »Das menschliche Ohr nimmt Frequenzen bis etwa 20 Kilohertz wahr«, erläutert Guillaume Fuchs, der die wissenschaftliche Entwicklung von EVS vorangetrieben hat. »Der Codec, über den in Deutschland momentan die meisten Telefongespräche im Mobilfunknetz laufen, übermittelt nur Tonsignale bis 3,4 Kilohertz – der Bereich zwischen 3,4 und 20 Kilohertz wird schlichtweg abgeschnitten. Daher klingt die Stimme dumpf. Der neue Codec überträgt je nach Bitrate Frequenzen bis 16 beziehungsweise bis 20 Kilohertz«. Damit wird das komplette hörbare Frequenzspektrum übertragen.

Bevor ein neuer Codec jedoch als Standard gesetzt werden kann, muss er in weltweiten Hörtests mit Tausenden Testpersonen bestehen. Dabei beurteilten die Hörerinnen und Hörer EVS signifikant besser als die bisherigen Verfahren. Inzwischen ist der neue Codec in 3GPP standardisiert. Damit können ihn Chiphersteller auf die Mobilfunkchips übertragen und Geräteanbieter in ihre neuen Produkte integrieren. »In vielen Ländern, darunter Deutschland, Japan, Niederlande, Österreich, Polen, Südkorea, UK und die USA, wird EVS bereits kommerziell eingesetzt«, freut sich Stefan Döhla, der das Fraunhofer IIS im 3GPP vertritt.