Putting sound in the driver's seat

© BillionPhotos.com - Fotolia.com

No need to reach for the volume dial with Sonamic Loudness: the technology ensures a constant volume level when switching between radio stations, media sources, or individual audio tracks.

New Sonamic® technology is a major step forward for in-vehicle audio.

With Symphoria®, Fraunhofer has brought 3D sound for your car to series maturity. The new Fraunhofer Sonamic family of technologies comprises intelligent audio processing solutions that take the customer experience of in-car entertainment systems to a whole new level of comfort and quality. The new family is currently made up of three members: Sonamic Enhancement, Sonamic Loudness, and Sonamic TimeScaling.

To ensure optimum sound quality, audio codecs should be used at sufficiently high bitrates. However, in commercial practice, low or very low data rates are often chosen to reduce transmission costs, sometimes resulting in audible artifacts. Using intelligent, blind detection, Sonamic Enhancement can substantially reduce the occurrence of such artifacts. After the signal is analyzed, the necessary repairs and optimization are performed in real time. Among other operations, the semantic algorithms restore high-frequency signal components, remove scratches or roughness, and reconstruct lost spatiality.

The number of in-vehicle media sources has increased significantly in recent years. It is a simple matter to play back audio data from USB sticks, mp3 players, or smartphones in your car. Unfortunately, the volume level from the various audio sources varies considerably, requiring frequent adjustments. This is not just an inconvenience: it is also a safety risk, as the driver’s attention is momentarily disrupted. Sonamic Loudness addresses this problem, ensuring consistent volume when switching between radio stations, media sources, or individual audio tracks. In spite of the automatic volume adjustment, the music’s dynamic range is preserved.

With hybrid radio, listeners on the road can stay tuned in to a particular station even when leaving its broadcast area. This is achieved by switching from a broadcast signal to a web stream by the same station. However, the two sources can be separated by a time offset of up to 20 seconds. When switching from one to the other, these seconds are either lost or played twice. Sonamic TimeScaling synchronizes the two signals in the radio receiver, ensuring a precise, unnoticeable transition, allowing passengers to seamlessly continue listening to a radio broadcast wherever they are.

Vorfahrt für guten Klang

© BillionPhotos.com - Fotolia.com

Mit Sonamic Loudness wird der Griff zum Lautstärkeregler überflüssig, denn die Technologie sorgt für eine gleichbleibende Lautstärke beim Wechsel zwischen Radiosendern, Medienquellen oder einzelnen Audiodateien.

Neue Sonamic®-Technologie erweitert Angebotsspektrum für guten Klang im Fahrzeug deutlich.

Mit Symphoria® hat Fraunhofer 3D-Klang im Auto serienreif gemacht. Die neue Technologie-Familie Fraunhofer Sonamic beinhaltet intelligente Audio-Processing-Technologien, die das Kundenerlebnis von Entertainment-Systemen im Auto auf ein völlig neues Komfort- und Qualitätsniveau heben. Zur neuen Familie zählen derzeit drei Mitglieder: Sonamic Enhancement, Sonamic Loudness und Sonamic TimeScaling.

Um eine sehr gute Audioqualität zu gewährleisten, sollten Audiocodecs mit ausreichend hohen Bitraten betrieben werden. Im kommerziellen Einsatz werden zur Reduzierung der Übertragungskosten immer wieder niedrige bis sehr niedrige Datenraten gewählt, die hörbare Artefakte zur Folge haben können. Sonamic Enhancement kann durch intelligente, blinde Detektion solche Artefakte signifikant reduzieren. Nach einer Analyse des Signals werden die notwendigen Reparaturen und Optimierungen in Echtzeit durchgeführt. Die semantischen Algorithmen stellen unter anderem hochfrequente Signalanteile wieder her, entfernen Kratzen bzw. Rauheit und rekonstruieren verloren gegangene Räumlichkeit.

Die Anzahl der Medienquellen im Fahrzeug ist in den letzten Jahren stark angestiegen. Man kann problemlos Audiodaten von USB-Sticks, mp3-Playern oder Smartphones im Auto abspielen. Leider liefern die einzelnen Audioquellen sehr unterschiedliche Lautstärkepegel, sodass ein häufiges Nachregeln der Lautstärke nötig wird. Das ist nicht nur störend, sondern stellt auch ein Sicherheitsrisiko dar, da die Aufmerksamkeit der Fahrzeugführenden kurzzeitig unterbrochen wird. Sonamic Loudness schafft hier Abhilfe und sorgt für eine gleichbleibende Lautstärke beim Wechsel zwischen Radiosendern, Medienquellen oder einzelnen Audiodateien. Trotz automatischer Lautstärkenanpassung wird darauf geachtet, die Dynamik innerhalb der Musik zu erhalten.

Mit einem Hybridradio kann man im Auto einen Radiosender weiterhin hören, selbst wenn man dessen Sendegebiet verlässt. Die Übertragung wechselt dann vom Rundfunksignal zu einem Internet-Stream des gleichen Senders. Zwischen beiden Quellen können bis zu 20 Sekunden Zeitversatz liegen. Diese Sekunden gehen beim Umschalten entweder verloren oder werden doppelt abgespielt. Mit Sonamic TimeScaling werden die Signale im Radioempfänger aneinander angeglichen und ein präziser, nicht wahrnehmbarer Übergang entsteht. Dadurch können die Insassen dem Radioprogramm über die Empfangsgrenzen hinaus folgen.