The right nose

© iStock.com/PeopleImages/Fraunhofer IIS

At the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen, human sensory experiences are being studied and converted into digital form in partnership with private companies.

Human sensory perception goes digital at the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen.

Over five percent of Germans suffer from impaired senses of smell or taste. These disorders are caused by infectious diseases, among other things, and leave them unable to tell, for example, whether milk that initially looks drinkable has gone sour or bad. An auxiliary device, like a “pair of glasses” for the olfactory organ or tongue, would remedy this situation.

In cooperation with the Fraunhofer Institute for Process Engineering and Packaging IVV and Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), we plan to digitally recreate human senses such as sight and hearing, and especially the senses of taste and smell. With the support of machines, it might therefore be possible to enhance people’s conscious awareness of potential risks and dangers in their environment and enable them to respond more appropriately.

As yet, we do not have an adequate understanding of the human senses, especially in terms of how senses such as smell and hearing interact with one another. Do people react differently to images and videos if they are simultaneously exposed to a specific smell? And what happens if the smell changes? The work carried out at the Campus of the Senses in Erlangen aims to answer questions of this kind.

For companies and start-ups in almost every sector, the campus provides an opportunity to develop new technologies and services. In cooperation with Fraunhofer IIS, companies can generate methods and technologies for collecting and interpreting empirical data on the human senses or responses to sensory stimuli.

In the next five years, there are plans to set up three laboratories, each focusing on a different area of research, along with a coordinating office. Thanks to the broad portfolios of the participating research partners, we can conduct joint interdisciplinary research projects in a wide range of subject areas such as engineering, medicine, chemistry, and neuroscience in order to convert human senses into digital form. The aim is to work with industry to develop interdisciplinary expertise, build knowledge, and promote technology transfer in the field of sensory research and development.

Der richtige Riecher

© iStock.com/PeopleImages/Fraunhofer IIS

Im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen« werden gemeinsam mit Unternehmen menschliche Sinneswahrnehmungen erforscht und digital umgesetzt.

Menschliche Sinneswahrnehmungen werden im »Campus der Sinne Erlangen« digital.

Mehr als 5 Prozent der Deutschen leiden an Geruchs- und Geschmacksstörungen, die unter anderem durch Infektionskrankheiten entstehen. Sie können beispielsweise nicht mehr feststellen, ob Milch, die für das Auge zunächst genießbar erscheint, bereits sauer und verdorben ist. Ein Hilfsgerät, wie eine »Brille« für das Riechorgan oder die Zunge, würde hier Abhilfe schaffen.

Gemeinsam mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Verfahrenstechnik und Verpackung IVV und der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) werden wir die menschlichen Sinne wie Sehen und Hören, aber vor allem auch das Riechen und Schmecken digital erfassen. Maschinelle Systeme können somit Menschen helfen, mögliche Gefahren und Risiken in ihrer Umwelt bewusster wahrzunehmen und besser darauf zu reagieren.

Die menschlichen Sinne sind bisher vor allem hinsichtlich ihrer gegenseitigen Beeinflussung, etwa vom Riechen und Hören, noch nicht ausreichend verstanden. Wie wirken Bilder und Videos, wenn ich einen bestimmten Geruch in der Nase habe? Und was ändert sich, wenn der Geruch wechselt? Solche Fragen sollen durch die Arbeit am »Campus der Sinne Erlangen« beantwortet werden.

Für Unternehmen und Start-ups aus nahezu allen Branchen bietet der Campus eine Chance, neue Technologien und Dienstleistungen zu entwickeln. In Zusammenarbeit mit uns können Firmen Methoden und Technologien zur Erfassung und Interpretation menschlicher Sinne generieren oder Reaktionen auf solche Sinneseindrücke bewerten.

In den kommenden fünf Jahren werden drei Laboratorien mit unterschiedlichen Leistungsschwerpunkten sowie eine koordinierende Geschäftsstelle aufgebaut. Aufgrund des großen Leistungsspektrums der beteiligten Forschungspartner können wir in unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen wie Ingenieurwissenschaften, Medizin, Chemie und Neurowissenschaften über die Fachgrenzen hinaus gemeinsame Forschungen zur digitalen Umsetzung der menschlichen Sinneswahrnehmung betreiben. Ziel ist es, mit der Industrie interdisziplinäre Kompetenzen zu entwickeln, Wissen aufzubauen und einen Technologietransfer im Bereich der digitalisierten Sensorik voranzutreiben.