Wireless industrial buildings

© Fraunhofer IIS

ReICOvAir will enable industry to overcome uncertainties affecting the use of wireless communication in manufacturing processes.

Delivering reliable and wireless communication in industry with a standardized test method.

Because of their mobility, it is diffi cult to connect driverless transport vehicles and rotating parts to a network via cables. To facilitate an efficient production process within the context of Industry 4.0, wireless communication is essential for linking up areas that previously could not be reached using wired solutions.

Industrial companies are already investing in network planning and connectivity, but there is still no standardized procedure for assessing the suitability of a wireless solution for specific application scenarios. A standardized assessment system is required so that development companies and customers can rely on a wireless communication solution to meet all their requirements even in critical use cases. In industrial buildings, for example, different wireless transmission standards or unwanted emissions from machines can cause interference, which can ultimately lead to production downtime in the worstcase scenario.

The ReICOvAir (Reliable Industrial Communication Over the Air) project aims to develop standards, methods, and test instruments that can be used to demonstrate the potential for reliable and wireless communication in an industrial environment. Industrial companies benefit from a standardized selection process for wireless technology that perfectly matches their specific use case. In turn, manufacturers of wireless solutions can design and evaluate their system better according to standardized criteria and can compare competing solutions with their own system.

The use of ReICOvAir solutions allows wireless radio systems for industrial applications to be assessed and selected according to standardized testing criteria at an early stage. This results in greater flexibility in the use of machinery while also reducing the total installation costs, as there is no need to install cables.

In this project, we are conducting research together with partners from Finland and Spain. This collaboration at the European level helps us to take account of country-specific differences in the relevant industries and allows the project to incorporate different ways of thinking. Accordingly, the overall results are less prone to error, and the project’s outcomes are relevant to companies operating worldwide.

Drahtlose Industriehallen

© Fraunhofer IIS

Mit ReICOvAir wird die Industrie in der Lage sein, die Unsicherheiten in der Nutzung drahtloser Kommunikation in Fertigungsprozessen zu überwinden.

Mit standardisiertem Testverfahren zur zuverlässigen und drahtlosen Kommunikation in der Industrie.

Fahrerlose Transportfahrzeuge und rotierende Teile sind aufgrund deren Mobilität nur schwierig mit Kabeln zu vernetzen. Um einen effizienten Produktionsablauf im Hinblick auf Industrie 4.0 zu ermöglichen, ist eine drahtlose Kommunikation der Schlüssel für die Anbindung von Bereichen, die bislang mit drahtgebundenen Lösungen nicht erreicht werden konnten.

Industrieunternehmen investieren bereits in Netzwerkplanung und Konnektivität, doch bislang gibt es kein standardisiertes Vorgehen zur Bewertung, inwiefern sich eine drahtlose Lösung in bestimmten Anwendungsszenarien eignet. Damit sich die Entwicklerfirmen und Kunden auch bei kritischen Anwendungsfällen darauf verlassen können, dass eine drahtlose Kommunikationslösung alle Anforderungen erfüllt, ist ein standardisiertes Bewertungssystem notwendig. In Industriehallen können beispielsweise unterschiedliche drahtlose Übertragungsstandards oder Störaussendungen von Maschinen zu Interferenzen führen, die schlimmstenfalls einen Produktionsausfall verursachen.

Ziel des Projekts »ReICOvAir« (Reliable Industrial Communication Over the Air) ist die Entwicklung von Standards, Methoden und Testinstrumenten, um nachweisen zu können, dass eine zuverlässige und drahtlose Kommunikation im industriellen Umfeld möglich ist. Industrieunternehmen profitieren von einem standardisierten Auswahlprozess für eine drahtlose Technologie, die passgenau für ihren spezifischen Anwendungsfall ist. Hersteller von drahtlosen Lösungen wiederum können ihr System nach standardisierten Kriterien besser konzipieren und beurteilen sowie konkurrierende Lösungen mit dem eigenen System vergleichen.

Durch die Nutzung der ReICOvAir-Lösungen können drahtlose Funksysteme für industrielle Anwendungen frühzeitig nach standardisierten Testkriterien bewertet und ausgewählt werden. Hierdurch wird eine größere Flexibilität beim Einsatz von Maschinen erreicht. Gleichzeitig verringern sich die Gesamtkosten für die Installation, da keine Kabel verlegt werden müssen.

Im Projekt forschen wir mit Partnern aus Finnland und Spanien. Durch die europäische Zusammenarbeit wird auch länderspezifischen Unterschieden in den relevanten Branchen Rechnung getragen und verschiedene Denkweisen können in das Projekt einfließen. Daher sind die Gesamtergebnisse weniger fehleranfällig und die Projektergebnisse relevant für weltweit operierende Unternehmen.