Self-driving model cars

Finals of 2018 NXP Cup for Europe, Middle East and Africa held at Fraunhofer IIS

© Fraunhofer IIS/Giulia Iannicelli
© Fraunhofer IIS/Giulia Iannicelli
Total concentration at EMEA finals of NXP Cup at Fraunhofer IIS.

The NXP Cup is an international competition in which semiconductor manufacturer NXP provides student teams with the latest technology for self-driving cars. This season, more than 110 college and university teams from Europe, the Middle East and Africa (EMEA) registered for the competition. A total of 18 teams from 12 countries qualified for the 2017/2018 EMEA finals at our headquarters in Erlangen.

For four months, the students assembled, programmed and tried out their vehicles, which they then tested and fine-tuned in the one-and-a-half days leading up to the decisive race. In training, the model cars had to go around obstacles and swiftly accelerate and brake on a defined track.

The teams sent their model cars into competition in two different model classes. Covering 160 square meters, the racecourse featured bumps in the road, junctions, hills and further obstacles.

The winner of the competition in the “Alamak” model kit category was the “FasTech” team from the University of Craiova in Romania. In second place was the “Athlos” team from the University of West Attica in Greece. And third place was taken by “ACDT” from the Technical University of Iaşi in Romania.

In the “Model C” model kit category, the “Koala Racer” team from the University of Applied Sciences Landshut took first place. Second was “The K-Team” from Deggendorf Institute of Technology. And third was the “Mac” team from Mundiapolis University in Morocco.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Autonom fahrende Modellautos im Fokus

Endrunde des NXP-Cups für Europa, den Nahen Osten und Afrika 2018 am Fraunhofer IIS

© Fraunhofer IIS/Giulia Iannicelli
© Fraunhofer IIS/Giulia Iannicelli
Voller Einsatz beim EMEA-Finale des NXP-Cups am Fraunhofer IIS.

Der NXP-Cup ist ein internationaler Wettbewerb, bei dem Studierende die neueste Technologie für selbstfahrende Fahrzeuge von dem Halbleiterhersteller NXP erhalten. Mehr als 110 Universitäts- und Hochschulteams aus Europa, dem Nahen Osten und Afrika (EMEA) haben sich in dieser Saison für den Wettbewerb angemeldet. Für das EMEA-Finale 2017/18 in unserem Hauptgebäude in Erlangen haben sich insgesamt 18 Teams aus 12 Ländern qualifiziert.

Vier Monate montierten, programmierten und erprobten die Studenten ihre Fahrzeuge, die sie in eineinhalb Tagen vor dem entscheidenden Rennen testeten und präzise einstellten. Beim Training mussten die Modellautos Hindernisse umfahren und auf einer vorgegebenen Strecke rasch beschleunigen und bremsen.

Die Teams schickten ihre Modellautos in zwei unterschiedlichen Modelklassen ins Rennen. Zum Parcours auf 160 Quadratmetern gehörten Bodenwellen, Kreuzungen, Steigungen und weitere Hindernisse.

Sieger des Wettbewerbs mit dem Modelkit »Alamak« war das Team »FasTech« von der University Craiova aus Rumänien. Den zweiten Platz belegte das Team »Athlos« von der University of West Attica aus Griechenland. Auf Platz drei folgte »ACDT« von der Technical University of Iasi aus Rumänien.

Beim Modelkit »Model C« setzte sich das Team »Koala Racer« von der Hochschule Landshut durch. Zweiter wurde »The K-Team« von der Technischen Hochschule Deggendorf. Das drittplatzierte Team war das Team »Mac« von der University Mundiapolis in Marokko.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube