Participants in the kick-off event for the Joint Lab. At the »Hack-ADA-thon – Inspired by BHS Corrugated«, five teams were given eight hours to work on a real-world problem derived from one of the Joint Lab’s use cases. The resulting data analytics and optimization solutions were fed into subsequent work at the Joint Lab.

»Joint Lab Data Analytics« founded

Collaboration with BHS Corrugated and a hackathon to kick off the Joint Lab

BHS Corrugated Maschinen- und Anlagenbau GmbH and our Center for Applied Research on Supply Chain Services SCS have founded the »Joint Lab Data Analytics«, a pioneering new format for collaboration between research and industry. Scientists and company staff work together in small, agile, interdisciplinary development teams for a fixed period of time in a creativity-enhancing »Work 4.0« environment with a view to solving specific issues facing the company.

BHS Corrugated is a global market leader in the development and production of corrugating rolls, corrugators, and their individual assemblies and has adopted the digital transformation as a key component of its corporate strategy in order to transition toward intelligent products and processes. By doing so, the company hopes to raise its service level, optimize operational processes and related experience-based decision-making, and compensate for the limited supply of qualified data scientists.

This three-year collaboration aims to push forward with the digital transformation of BHS Corrugated and expand the company’s data analytics expertise on a lasting basis. We are providing not only data analytics expertise but also skills and consultancy services in the area of business transformation. Compared with classical cooperation formats, this model allows us to acquire more comprehensive insights into the company and therefore to provide more in-depth scientific support.

On July 12, 2019, the »Hack-ADA-thon – Inspired by BHS Corrugated« was held as the kick-off event for the Joint Lab. Five teams were given eight hours to work on a real-world problem derived from one of the Joint Lab’s use cases. The participants – developers, students, doctoral students, and graduates in the fields of statistics, data science, computer science, mechanical engineering, and mathematics – developed creative solutions rooted in data analytics and optimization. The results were fed into subsequent work at the Joint Lab. At the same time, the Hack-ADA-thon served as a recruitment event, giving participants a chance to learn about job opportunities in data analytics at BHS Corrugated and Fraunhofer IIS.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Teilnehmende des »Hack-ADAthon – Inspired by BHS Corrugated«, dem Kick-off des Joint Labs. Fünf Teams hatten acht Stunden Zeit, eine reale Fragestellung zu bearbeiten, die aus einem Anwendungsfall des Joint Labs abgeleitet war. Die erarbeiteten Data-Analytics- und Optimizations-Lösungen fließen in die weitere Arbeit des Joint Labs ein.

»JOINT LAB DATA ANALYTICS« gegründet

Zusammenarbeit mit BHS Corrugated – Hackathon als Kick-off des Joint Labs

Die BHS Corrugated Maschinen- und Anlagenbau GmbH und unsere Arbeitsgruppe für Supply Chain Services SCS gründeten das »Joint Lab Data Analytics« und initiieren damit ein neues Kooperationsformat zwischen Forschung und Industrie. Dafür arbeiten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie Unternehmensmitarbeitende in kleinen, agilen interdisziplinären Entwicklerteams auf Zeit in inspirationsfördernder Arbeit-4.0-Umgebung an konkreten Frage- stellungen des Unternehmens.

Bei BHS Corrugated, Weltmarktführer in der Entwicklung und Produktion von Riffelwalzen, Wellpappenanlagen und deren Einzelaggregaten, ist die digitale Transformation zu intelligenten Prozessen und Produkten fester Bestandteil der Unternehmensstrategie. Das Unternehmen möchte damit den Servicelevel steigern, operative Prozesse und erfahrungsbasierte Prozess- entscheidungen optimieren und begrenzte Ressourcen an qualifizierten Data Scientists ausgleichen.

Die auf drei Jahre angelegte Kooperation verfolgt das Ziel, die digitale Transformation von BHS Corrugated voranzutreiben und die Data-Analytics-Kompetenzen im Unternehmen nachhaltig auszubauen. Wir bringen neben Data-Analytics-Know-how auch Kompetenzen und Beratungsleistung im Bereich Business Transformation ein. Im Vergleich zu klassischen Kooperationsformaten erhalten wir umfassendere Einblicke in das Unternehmen und können entsprechend tiefer gehend wissenschaftlich unterstützen.

Kick-off des Joint Labs war der »Hack-ADA-thon – Inspired by BHS Corrugated« am 12. Juli 2019. Fünf Teams hatten acht Stunden Zeit, eine reale Fragestellung zu bearbeiten, die aus einem Anwendungsfall des Joint Labs abgeleitet war. Die Teilnehmenden – Entwicklerinnen und Entwickler, Studierende, Promovierende sowie Absolventinnen und Absolventen aus den Bereichen Statistik, Data Science, Informatik, Maschinenbau und Mathematik – erarbeiteten kreative Lösungen auf Basis von Data Analytics und Optimization. Die Ergebnisse fließen in die weitere Arbeit des Joint Labs ein. Zugleich war der Hack-ADA-thon für die Teilnehmenden als Recruiting-Event die Gelegenheit, sich über die Stellenangebote von BHS Corrugated und Fraunhofer IIS im Bereich Data Analytics zu informieren.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube