Swiss team victorious at NXP CUP

Self-driving vehicles turn the Institute into a competitive racing venue

In 2019, the EMEA finals of the NXP Cup were once again hosted by Fraunhofer IIS. The Cup is an international competition staged by semiconductor manufacturer NXP in which students receive cutting-edge technology for self-driving vehicles and then spend four months assembling, programming and testing their cars before pitting them against each other on an undisclosed race track at Fraunhofer IIS. A total of 19 teams from eleven different countries made it into the final round, turning the Institute into a competitive racing venue for two days.

For most of the students, participating in the event was a leisure activity pursued alongside their studies. »The great thing about the NXP Cup is connecting and competing with other people in Europe – it’s fantastic that so many people are here. That’s very important to us, as we’ve been working on this project all year,« said the winning team ARCAR1 from the Haute Ecole ARC Ingénierie in Le Locle, Switzerland.

Second and third places in the race for self-driving intelligent cars went to the teams ARCAR2 (also from Switzerland) and KAW4Wheels, from Cracow, Poland. The two Czech teams, VAXNA from Rožnov pod Radhoštěm and SlowFox MUNI Corp from Brno received awards for the »most innovative« vehicles.

This year’s event included three short race tracks posing new challenges to the teams: obstacle avoidance (steering round a cube in the middle of the track), speed limit (slowing down at certain points), and figure of 8 (completing as many laps of a track in the shape of an 8 as possible in 90 seconds). »This year was not just about speed, but also about precise driving performance,« said Flavio Stiffan of Stiffan Consulting, part of the project management team that helped semiconductor manufacturer NXP organize the EMEA competition. »The greatest challenge was the lighting conditions. The students had to work very hard to calibrate their camera systems.«

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Schweizer siegt beim NXP cup

Selbstfahrende Fahrzeuge verwandelten unser Institut in eine Wettkampfstätte

Wie schon in den Jahren zuvor waren wir auch 2019 wieder Gastgeber des EMEA-Finales des NXP Cup. Beim internationalen Wettbewerb, der vom Halbleiterhersteller NXP veranstaltet wird, erhalten Studierende die neueste Technologie für selbstfahrende Fahrzeuge und montieren, programmieren und proben vier Monate lang, bevor sie ihre Autos auf der ihnen unbekannten Strecke in unserem Institut starten lassen. 19 Teams aus elf verschiedenen Ländern schafften es in die Endrunde und verwandelten das Institut zwei Tage lang in eine Wettkampfstätte.

Für die meisten Studierenden war die Teilnahme eine Freizeit- beschäftigung außerhalb ihres Studiums. »Das Schöne am NXP Cup ist, sich mit anderen Menschen in Europa zu vernetzen, sich mit anderen zu messen – es ist sehr schön, dass so viele Menschen hier sind. Das ist sehr wichtig für uns, weil wir das ganze Jahr über an diesem Projekt gearbeitet haben«, freuten sich die Gewinner, das Team ARCAR1 von der Haute Ecole ARC Ingénierie aus Le Locle in der Schweiz.

Bei dem Rennen für autonom fahrende, intelligente Autos landeten das Team ARCAR2 (ebenfalls Schweiz) sowie das Team KAW4Wheels aus Krakau in Polen auf den Plätzen zwei und drei. Zusätzliche Auszeichnungen erhielten die beiden tschechischen Teams VAXNA aus Rožnov pod Radhoštěm und SlowFox MUNI Corp aus Brno. Ihre Autos wurden als die »innovativsten« prämiert.

Drei kurze Rennstrecken stellten die Teams vor neue Herausforderungen: Hindernisvermeidung (einem mitten auf der Fahrbahn liegenden Quader ausweichen), Zonen- Geschwindigkeitsbeschränkung (an bestimmten Punkten abbremsen) und die Achterrunde (in 90 Sekunden möglichst viele Runden auf einer liegenden Acht zurücklegen). »In diesem Jahr ging es nicht nur um Schnelligkeit, sondern auch um präzises Fahrverhalten«, sagte Flavio Stiffan von Stiffan Consulting, der den Halbleiterhersteller NXP bei der Austragung des EMEA-Wettbewerbs im Projektmanagementteam unterstützte. »Die größte Herausforderung waren die Lichtverhältnisse. Die Stu- denten haben ihre Kamerasysteme mit viel Einsatz kalibriert.«

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube