Robot ballet at the Test and Application Center L.I.N.K. of Fraunhofer IIS in Nuremberg.

»R2D – Road to digital production«

Beacon of digitization in Nuremberg sends strong signals

Beginning in September 2016, our Center for Applied Research on Supply Chain Services SCS and our Positioning and Networks Division worked with Siemens AG, Simplifier AG, and KINEXON Industries GmbH on the digitization of individualized industrial production processes as part of the R2D – Road to Digital Production project. The aim was to develop a cyber-physical production system (CPPS) for production processes with a lot size of 1, allowing processes to be automated for improved cooperation between humans and technology. This was intended to flexibilize and speed up the centralized planning of production and material supply, which was commonplace until now, while ensuring optimum quality assurance. To this end, a product is accompanied throughout the production process by a Smart Production Tag that features communication and positioning capabilities as well as carrying product data and context information. This allows it to act independently in order to recognize, log, and control process steps on the basis of dynamic decision-making.

To ensure successful implementation, it was necessary not only to define the production process clearly and select suitable technologies, but also to develop software that integrated the recorded data into the existing infrastructure. Decentralized control of the CPPS was also supported by a real-time positioning system – for example, to ensure that driverless transport vehicles can be located and can navigate to the next destination independently. The generated data was used for a range of applications, including elements to support networked operations, such as intelligent apps for tablets, smartwatches, and eye tracking.

In February 2019, the end of the project was marked by a three-day event to present the results, including a live presentation of the 1,500-square-meter proof-of-concept demonstrator at our Test and Application Center L.I.N.K. in Nuremberg. Guests from Germany and abroad were impressed by the practical relevance of the implementation, with many saying they either wanted to apply selected technologies at their company divisions or implement the CPPS technology in its entirety within their organization. With this in mind, we are working with Siemens AG, Simplifier AG, and KINEXON Industries GmbH to explore the possibility of followup projects.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Roboter-Ballett im Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K. des Fraunhofer IIS in Nürnberg.

»R2D – Road to digital production«

Nürnberger Leuchtturm der Digitalisierung sendet starke Signale

Seit September 2016 arbeitete unsere Arbeitsgruppe für Supply Chain Services SCS und unser Bereich Lokalisierung und Vernetzung zusammen mit der Siemens AG, der Simplifier AG und der KINEXON Industries GmbH im Projekt »R2D – Road to Digital Production« an der Digitalisierung individualisierter industrieller Produktionsprozesse. Das Ziel: die Entwicklung eines Cyber-Physischen Produktionssystems (CPPS) für Fertigungen mit Losgröße 1. Damit sollen Prozesse so automatisiert werden, dass die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Mensch und Technik verbessert und die bisher übliche zentrale Planung der Fertigung und Materialbereitstellung bei optimaler Qualitätssicherung flexibilisiert und beschleunigt wird. Dafür begleitet ein Smart Pro- duction Tag mit Kommunikations- und Ortungsfunktionalität ein zu fertigendes Produkt durch den gesamten Produktionsprozess. Dieser Tag führt Produktdaten und Kontextinformationen mit und kann so eigenständig Prozessschritte erkennen, protokollieren und mit dynamischen Entscheidungen eigenständig steuern.

Für die erfolgreiche Umsetzung war es erforderlich, vorab nicht nur den Produktionsprozess klar zu definieren und die passenden Technologien auszuwählen, sondern auch Software zu entwickeln, die die aufgenommenen Daten in die vorhandene Infrastruktur integriert.

Die dezentrale Steuerung des CPPS wird dabei von einem Echtzeitlokalisierungssystem unterstützt, das beispielsweise dafür sorgt, dass fahrerlose Transportfahrzeuge lokalisiert werden und sich eigenständig zur nächsten Destination navigieren können. Die generierten Daten wurden u. a. auch für unterstützende Elemente des vernetzten Werkens genutzt, wie intelligente Apps für Tablets, Smartwatches und Eye-Tracking.

Bei der dreitägigen Ergebnispräsentation zum Projektabschluss im Februar 2019 wurde den Teilnehmenden in unserem Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K. in Nürnberg live der 1500 Quadratmeter große Proof-of-Concept-Demonstrator präsentiert. Die nationalen und internationalen Gäste bescheinigten der Umsetzung hohe Praxisrelevanz und gaben in großer Zahl an, entweder ausgewählte Technologien für ihre jeweiligen Unternehmensbereiche oder aber das technologische Gesamtsystem CPPS in ihrer Organisation nutzen zu wollen. Vor diesem Hintergrund sondieren wir, die Siemens AG, die Simplifier AG und KINEXON Industries GmbH mögliche Folgeprojekte.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube