MIOTY

The Wireless IoT Platform

MIOTY- The Wireless IoT Platform

At a glance

Miniaturised Sensor-Units

Wireless data transmission systems are being increasingly deployed in industrial and home automation applications. These robust systems are used to transmit sensor data and control information across network infrastructures. In the age of the Internet of Things (IoT), people and things will be intelligently connected to one another, leading to innovations in business and Industry 4.0.

MIOTY, a miniaturized IoT platform developed by Fraunhofer IIS, sets new standards in the field of wireless data transmission when it comes to cost efficiency, transmission range, transmission security and battery life.

This solution relies on an asymmetrical transmission method that uses scores of simple sensor nodes and a complex receiver.

A single receiver can handle as many as one million simultaneous, robust transmissions. MIOTY boasts a transmission range of up to 40 kilometers and the energy-efficient operation results in a battery life of up to 15 years.

Technical description

MIOTY uses an efficient channel encoding scheme that increases its range by a factor of 10 over standard 868 MHz wireless systems. Because it generates little self-interference, the system can support as many as one million simultaneous transmitters. The transmitters are based on commercially-available chips from manufacturers such as Chipcon and Silabs and feature a compact design and extended battery operation (up to 15 years). The receivers, which are equipped with digital signal processors, have a flexible design that allows them to be adapted to specific customer applications. They can be used with either stationary or mobile applications and can be optimized for both environments. MIOTY is furthermore resistant to interference within its own frequency band, consumes minimal energy and saves battery power.

Technical details:

  • Up to one million sensors
  • Battery life of up to 15 years
  • 40 km transmission range
  • Patented and licensed for use in Europe, USA, China, Brazil, India, South Africa and other countries
  • Transmission method: telegram splitting
  • Data packets: >50 ms
  • Data rate: <10 kBit/s
  • Frequency range: 133-966 MHz

Application

MIOTY can be deployed for a wide range of applications. The technology is suitable for monitoring large technical systems or difficult-to-access areas and can serve as the underlying transmission infrastructure for applications such as switching statuses, machine-to machine (M2M) communication, smart meters (remote meter readings and remote consumer control) and other systems. Even sports and security applications require data transmission involving numerous sensors. Wireless data transmission data sensors from Fraunhofer IIS can be used to send vital signs data from athletes or first responders. In addition, sensors for capturing ambient information such as humidity, motion, light, temperature or pressure can be integrated into the MIOTY platform to support specific applications.

With its broad utility and special technical features, MIOTY serves as the foundation for developing Industry 4.0 and IoT applications at Fraunhofer IIS.

Offer

© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/David Hartfield

Customized Solutions in the field of Wireless Data Transmission

Thanks to our extensive experience in the development of RF circuits and antenna designs, we are able to offer in-depth know-how in the field of wireless transmission. Furthermore, our telemetry platform can be adapted to your requirements. MIOTY is suitable for use with your own network for IoT applications. If you have special requirements such as long transmission ranges, robust and reliable transmission or energy-efficient operation, as your competent partner Fraunhofer IIS is well positioned to help you develop the right telemetry system to address your needs.

Turn your ideas into reality with individual solutions from Fraunhofer IIS.

MIOTY

Die drahtlose IoT-Plattform

MIOTY - Die drahtlose IoT-Plattform

Auf einen Blick

Miniaturisierte Sendeeinheiten

Funksysteme zur drahtlosen Datenübertragung finden vermehrt Einsatz in der Industrie- und Hausautomatisierung. Solche robusten Systeme werden zur Übertragung von Sensordaten und Steuerinformationen in Netzwerkstrukturen verwendet. In Zeiten von Internet of Things (IoT) werden Personen und Dinge intelligent miteinander vernetzt und führen zu Innovationen im Bereich Wirtschaft und Industrie 4.0.

Die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte miniaturisierte IoT-Plattform (MIOTY) setzt neue Maßstäbe im Bereich der drahtlosen Datenübertragung hinsichtlich Kosteneffizienz, Reichweite, Übertragungssicherheit und Batterielebensdauer.

Der Lösungsansatz ist ein asymmetrisches Übertragungsverfahren mit vielen einfachen Sensorknoten und einem komplexen Empfänger.

Die robuste Datenübertragung von rund einer Million Sendern kann mit nur einem Empfänger sichergestellt werden. MIOTY erzielt Reichweiten von bis zu 40 km und zeichnet sich durch seine Energieeffizienz mit Batterielebenszeiten von bis zu 15 Jahren aus.

Hinweis: Mit dem Starten des Videos werden Daten an youtube übertragen.

Technische Beschreibung

Durch die effiziente Kanalcodierung erhöht sich die Reichweite von MIOTY gegenüber Standard-Funksystemen bei 868 MHz um bis zu Faktor 10. Bei einer geringen Eigenstörung erlaubt das System bis zu 1 Mio.  Sender gleichzeitig. Die Sender basieren auf kostengünstigen kommerziellen Funkchips von beispielsweise Chipcon oder Silabs und besitzen eine geringe Baugröße sowie lange Laufzeiten im Batteriebetrieb  (bis zu 15 Jahre). Die Empfänger sind mit digitalen Signalprozessoren ausgestattet und durch ihr flexibles Design auch an spezielle Kundenwünsche anpassbar. Sie können sowohl stationär als auch mobil eingesetzt werden und sind zudem für beide Anwendungen optimierbar. Des Weiteren ist MIOTY störresistent gegenüber Störern im Band, energiearm und batteriesparend.

Technische Details

  • Bis zu 1 Mio. Sensoren
  • Batterielebensdauer von bis zu 15 Jahren
  • Distanz von bis zu 40 km
  • Nutzungspatente unter anderem in Deutschland, Europa, USA, China, Brasilien, Indien, Südafrika
  • Verfahren: Telegramsplitting
  • Datenpakete: >50ms
  • Datenrate: <10 kBit/s
  • Frequenzbereiche: 133 bis 966 MHz

Anwendung

Die Anwendungsbereiche von MIOTY sind vielfältig. Mit der Technologie kann die Überwachung von großen technischen Anlagen oder schwer zugänglichen Bereichen sichergestellt werden. So können beispielsweise Schaltzustände übertragen werden, Maschinen miteinander kommunizieren (M2M-Kommunikation) oder eine drahtlose Zählerfernauslese und Verbrauchersteuerung bei Smart Metering-Anwendungen erfolgen. Auch im Sport oder im Sicherheitsbereich ist eine Datenübertragung von vielen Sensoren nötig. So können, mit Hilfe der drahtlosen Datenübertragung des Fraunhofer IIS, Vitaldaten von Sportlern oder Einsatzkräften wie Feuerwehr oder Rettungsdienst übertragen werden. Sensoren zur Erfassung von beispielsweise Feuchtigkeit, Bewegung, Licht, Temperatur oder Druck können anwendungsspezifisch in MIOTY integriert werden.

MIOTY ist auf Grund seiner breit gefächerten Einsatzmöglichkeiten sowie seiner technischen Besonderheiten die Grundlage für Anwendungsentwicklungen im Bereich Industrie 4.0 und IoT am Fraunhofer IIS.

 

 

Anwendungsbereiche

Industrie & Produktion

Smart City

Automotive

Sicherheit

Sport

Chemiebranche

Anwendung in der Industrie und Produktion

 

Zustandsüberwachung z. B. Schaltzustände

Smart Metering z. B. Zählerfernauslese oder Verbrauchersteuerung

M2M-Kommunikation

Anwendungsspezifische Sensorik

Feuchtigkeit

Bewegung

Licht

Temperatur

Druck

Angebot

Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Hochfrequenzschaltungen und im Antennendesign bieten wir ein tiefgehendes Know-how im Bereich der Funkübertragung. Des Weiteren kann unsere Telemetrieplattform an Ihre Anforderung angepasst und in diese integriert werden. MIOTY kann für ihr eigenes Netzwerk im Bereich IoT verwendet werden. Bei besonderen Anforderungen wie hohe Reichweite, robuste Übertragung oder energieeffiziente Implementierung, ist das Fraunhofer IIS Ihr kompetenter Partner bei der Entwicklung eines Telemetrie-Systems.

Verwirklichen Sie Ihre Vorstellungen durch individuelle Lösungen des Fraunhofer IIS.

Mehr Informationen