Research Areas

Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits

Fraunhofer IIS – Conducting Research in a Variety of Areas

The Fraunhofer brand stands for contract research of the highest international standards. Fraunhofer IIS offers commercial and industrial companies a variety of collaborative options – from R&D services, licensing of technologies and systems, technology integration and the development of components, to project support and advice and conducting market studies. We would be happy to assist you in the following research areas:

Audio & Multimedia

Fraunhofer IIS has been conducting research in the field of Audio & Multimedia for more than 25 years, with a special focus on audio coding and signal processing. The institute is widely known for its significant role in the development of the mp3 and MPEG AAC audio coding standards.

Imaging Systems

Through our research in the field of Imaging Systems, we help to create innovative solutions for professional camera systems, digital cinema, and smart image processing and analysis. Other focal areas of our research include light field technology, contributing to the development of coding techniques and standards, and new postproduction and multiview calibration systems.

Energy Management

Our research activities in the field of Energy Management comprise the design and implementation of information and communication technologies based on networked, embedded systems. We also develop solutions for battery management and energy harvesting.

IC Design and Design Automation

Through our development work in the field of IC Design and Design Automation we have become one of Europe’s leading IC design houses. We work independently on research projects not tied to any specific technology or vendor, and develop design solutions tailored to future industrial requirements.

Communications

Reliable global communication and networking – anytime and anywhere, with the best audio quality possible: that’s what characterizes the technologies used in communications. Our innumerable wireless, performance-oriented and satellite-based transmission systems make us the professional partner our customers are looking for.

Positioning and Navigation

Our expertise has made Fraunhofer IIS one of the world’s leading development institutions for Positioning and Navigation solutions. We bring together specialists in more than ten basic technologies to make positioning solutions more reliable, precise, affordable and robust.

Medical Technology

Our Medical Technology specialists offer solutions in the fields of medical image processing, computer-assisted diagnostics, vital sign sensors, biosignal processing and medical communication. This work is supported by tests and studies to evaluate medical device systems and solutions.

Sensor Systems

Our Sensor Systems experts develop complete solutions in the field of smart integrated sensor systems. These serve as the basis for innovative information, communication and measurement systems.

Security Engineering

Security Engineering at Fraunhofer IIS encompasses all research related to the fields of safety, security and defense.

Supply Chain

The systems supplying people with goods, services and information must be effective, cost-efficient and at the same time sustainable. Our researchers in Supply Chain Services apply a global approach to the development of solutions, covering all stages from market and process analysis to the design and implementation of appropriate technologies and their integration in the customer’s operating environment.

Non-destructive Testing

In the field of Non-destructive Testing, our researchers develop methods and systems that permit us and our customers to carry out tests without destroying the object under test or degrading its functionality.

Social Bookmarks

Forschungsfelder

Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS

Die vielfältigen Forschungsfelder des Fraunhofer IIS

Die Marke Fraunhofer steht für Auftragsforschung auf höchstem internationalen Niveau. Wirtschafts- und Industrieunternehmen bietet das Fraunhofer IIS unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten für eine Zusammenarbeit: Von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsleistungen, der Lizensierung von Technologien und Systemen, der Technologieintegration und Entwicklung von Komponenten über die Beratung von Projektbegleitung bis hin zur Erstellung von Marktstudien. In folgenden Forschungsfeldern sind wir gerne für Sie tätig:

Audio & Multimedia

Im Forschungsfeld Audio & Multimedia des Fraunhofer IIS beschäftigen wir uns seit mehr als 25 Jahren mit Audiosignalverarbeitung und -codierung und sind durch unsere maßgebliche Beteiligung an der Entwicklung der Audiocodierverfahren mp3 und MPEG AAC bekannt geworden.

Bildsysteme

Im Forschungsfeld Bildsysteme setzen wir neue Maßstäbe für professionelle Kamerasysteme, digitales Kino, intelligente Bildverarbeitung und -analyse. Lichtfeldtechnologie, die Mitgestaltung von Kodierverfahren und -standards sowie neue Postproduktionssysteme und Multiviewkalibrierung sind weitere wichtige Kernbereiche.

Energiemanagement

In unserem Forschungsfeld Energiemanagement konzipieren und realisieren wir Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik für das Energiemanagement auf Basis von vernetzten eingebetteten Systemen. Zudem entwickeln wir Lösungen für das Batteriemanagement und Energy Harvesting.

IC-Design und Entwurfsautomatisierung

Durch die Entwicklungen im Forschungsfeld IC-Design und Entwurfsautomatisierung sind wir eine von Europas führenden IC-Design-Einrichtungen. Wir arbeiten technologie- sowie herstellerunabhängig und entwickeln Entwurfslösungen für die zukünftigen Anforderungen der Industrie.

Kommunikation

Globale Kommunikation und Vernetzung – zuverlässig, zu jeder Zeit, an jedem Ort und in bester Audioqualität: Das zeichnet die Technologien im Forschungsfeld Kommunikation aus. Zahlreiche drahtlose, leistungsgebundene und satellitengestützte Übertragungssysteme machen uns zu einem kompetenten Partner für unsere Kunden.

Lokalisierung

Unser Forschungsfeld Lokalisierung macht das Fraunhofer IIS zum weltweit führenden Entwicklungsinstitut für Lokalisierung und bündelt in seinem Bereich mehr als zehn Basistechnologien, um Ortungslösungen zuverlässiger, genauer, günstiger und robuster zu machen.

Medizintechnik

Im Forschungsfeld Medizintechnik bieten wir Lösungen in den Bereichen medizinische Bildverarbeitung, computer-assistierte Diagnoseunterstützung, Vitalsensorik, Biosignalverarbeitung und medizinische Kommunikation. Zudem führen wir begleitende Untersuchungen und Studien zur Evaluierung von medizintechnischen Systemen und Lösungen durch.

Sensorsysteme

Die Wissenschaftler des Forschungsfelds Sensorsysteme entwickeln komplette Lösungen aus dem Bereich der intelligenten integrierten Sensor-Systeme. Diese bilden die Basis für neuartige Informations-, Kommunikations- und Messsysteme.

Sicherheitstechnik

Im Forschungsfeld Sicherheitstechnik bündeln wir die Kompetenzen des Fraunhofer IIS für die Bereiche Safety, Security und Verteidigung.

Versorgungketten

Die Versorgung von Menschen mit Waren, Gütern, Informationen und Dienstleistungen muss effektiv, kosteneffizient und dennoch nachhaltig sein. Darum kümmert sich unser Forschungsfeld Versorgungsketten mit universal ansetzenden Lösungen – von der Markt- und Prozessanalyse über die Entwicklung und Implementierung der richtigen Technologien bis hin zur praktischen Umsetzung im Unternehmen.

Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung

Im Forschungsfeld Zerstörungsfreie Prüfung erforschen und entwickeln wir Methoden und Systeme, die es uns und unseren Kunden erlauben, Prüfaufgaben zu erledigen, ohne das Prüfobjekt in seiner Funktion zu beeinträchtigen oder zu zerstören.

Social Bookmarks