embedded world 2013: special award for maintenancefree, self-powered wireless multi-hop sensor network

/ 27.2.2013

On February 26, 2013, the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS was honored with the embedded world 2013 special award. The combination of two application-oriented technologies allowed the development of a unique, stateof-the-art innovation: a maintenance-free, self-powered wireless multi-hop sensor network. One of the underlying technologies is the s-net® wireless protocol stack, which requires only a tiny amount of energy to initialize and operate a wireless multihop sensor network. The innovation however also relies on highly-efficient Fraunhofer IIS power management circuits for harvesting energy, thus eliminating batteries and thereby the need to charge and replace them. Together, these two developments enable the implementation of large-scale, distributed and maintenance-free sensor networks, paving the way for costeffective Internet of Things applications.

Large-scale capturing, transmitting and processing data becomes an increasingly important aspect for the Internet of Things. For this purpose, multi-hop sensor networks are especially well-suited: By connecting thousands of miniaturized sensor nodes, these networks enable an extremely energy-efficient, scalable and robust data transmission. The sensor nodes allow various objects to interact with their surroundings and the Internet. Minimizing the maintenance and installation effort requires not only the wireless transmission of data, but also a cable- and maintenance-free power concept. This is achieved through energy harvesting technologies that supply the sensor nodes with electrical power by exploiting available ambient sources of energy such as temperature differences or vibrations.

Autonome, eingebettete Systeme für das Internet der Dinge

The Fraunhofer IIS s-net® technology facilitates high-quality data transmission with minimal energy consumptions. The self-organizing network topology can be installed, expanded or scaled-down as required without any configuration effort. In particular, the network recovers automatically from node failures, and the sensor nodes can be installed without any manual planning efforts.

With up to 80 percent efficiency (as opposed to the 30 percent of commercially available components), the thermal generator voltage transformers that were also developed by Fraunhofer IIS achieve maximum power output at a very small temperature difference of only 1 Kelvin. This in turn allows the utilization of smaller and especially low-cost energy transformers.

The combination of these two technologies permits the establishment of large-scale, self-organizing networks where, in contrast to other wireless networks, the routers that forward data are also powered via energy harvesting.

Practical application at the embedded world

Maintenance-free, self-powered wireless multi-hop sensor networks can be deployed wherever the application requires the acquisition and bidirectional transmission of data with a minimal effort for installation, maintenance, or operation. Potential applications include monitoring the structural health of buildings, machines and plants, the automation of complex buildings, and various applications in the fields smart metering and security..

At the embedded world 2013 fair, Fraunhofer IIS demonstrated a wireless window monitoring system, jointly developed with Seuffer GmbH & Co. KG, that transmits the window status (open, closed, propped open) via s-net® sensor network powered by energy harvesting techniques.

Presseinformation

Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS

embedded world 2013: Sonderpreis für wartungsfreies und energieautarkes, drahtloses Multi-Hop-Sensornetz

Das Fraunhofer IIS erhielt auf der embedded world am 26. Februar 2013 den Sonderpreis des embedded AWARD 2013. Die Kombination zweier anwendungsnaher Technologien führte zu einer einzigartigen, zukunftsorientierten Innovation: einem wartungsfreien und energieautarken, drahtlosen Multi-Hop-Sensornetz. Der s-net®-Funkprotokollstack nutzt dabei selbst kleinste Energiemengen zur Initialisierung und zum Betrieb eines drahtlosen Multi-Hop-Sensornetzes. Energy Harvesting mit den hocheffizienten Powermanagement-Schaltungen des Fraunhofer IIS machen Batterien und damit den Wartungsaufwand für das Auswechseln oder Nachladen überflüssig. So lassen sich großflächig verteilte, wartungsfreie, drahtlose Sensornetze und damit wirtschaftliche Anwendungen für das Internet der Dinge realisieren.

Die großflächige Erfassung, Übertragung und Verarbeitung von Daten wird mit dem Internet der Dinge immer wichtiger. Hierfür sind drahtlose Multi-Hop-Sensornetze hervorragend geeignet. Sie ermöglichen eine hochgradig energieeffiziente, großflächige und doch robuste Datenübertragung durch die Kooperation einer Vielzahl miniaturisierter Sensorknoten. Diese Sensorknoten erlauben den verschiedensten Objekten, mit der Umwelt und dem Internet zu interagieren. Um den Wartungs- und Installationsaufwand zu minimieren, ist dabei nicht nur die drahtlose Datenübertragung, sondern auch eine kabellose und wartungsfreie Energieversorgung notwendig. Dies wird durch den Einsatz von Energy-Harvesting-Techniken ermöglicht, die aus vorhandener Umweltenergie wie Temperaturunterschieden oder Vibrationen den elektrischen Energiebedarf der Sensorknoten decken.

 

Autonome, eingebettete Systeme für das Internet der Dinge

Die am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte s-net®-Technologie erreicht dabei mit kleinsten Energiemengen eine hohe Datenübertragungsqualität. Die Netztopologie organisiert sich selbst und kann ohne Konfigurationsaufwand sowohl installiert als auch beliebig erweitert oder verkleinert werden. Damit kann auch der Ausfall einzelner Knoten und die Störung von einzelnen Funkverbindungen ebenfalls wartungsfrei abgefangen werden und das Ausbringen der Sensornetze ohne Vernetzungsplanung erfolgen.

Die ebenfalls am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten Spannungswandler für Thermogenera­toren erzielen mit einem Wirkungsgrad von bis zu 80 Prozent (anstelle von herkömmlichen max. 30 Prozent) ein Maximum an Energie bei sehr geringen Temperaturunterschieden von nur einem Kelvin. Dies wiederum ermöglicht die Nutzung kleiner und damit kostengünstiger Energiewandler.

Durch die Kombination beider Technologien können im Gegensatz zu anderen Funksystemen großflächige, selbstorganisierende Netze aufgebaut werden, bei denen auch die Knoten, welche Daten weiterleiten, über Energy Harvesting mit Energie versorgt werden.

 

Konkretes Anwendungsbeispiel auf der embedded world

Ein wartungsfreies und energieautarkes, drahtloses Multi-Hop-Sensornetz kann überall verwendet werden, wo an Objekten einerseits Daten gewonnen und bidirektional übertragen werden müssen, wo aber andererseits nur geringe Aufwände für Installation, Wartung oder Betrieb aufgebracht werden können. Anwendungsfelder sind die strukturelle Überwachung von Bauwerken, von Maschinen und Anlagen, die Automatisierung von komplexen Gebäuden oder die Bereiche Smart Metering und Sicherheit.

Als Anwendungsbeispiel überträgt auf der embedded world 2013 der kabellose Fensterwächter der Seuffer GmbH & Co. KG den Öffnungszustand eines Fensters über das drahtlose s-net®-Sensornetz mit Energy Harvesting des Fraunhofer IIS.

Social Bookmarks